We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Hidden gem of Venice”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I found this hotel after a lot of research. I had a LOT of expectations and this hotel just surpassed it by far. This was my third visit to Venice and i had lived on Lido already but the whole experience is just brilliant.
The Villa Laguna is a quaint hotel ideally located with the charm of Venice and decent luxury with a unique experience.
Location : The hotel is located on Lido overlooking the waterfront and you can see the whole of venice spread out in the background.It is located right next to the boat station which is very convinient.also it is located close to the small shops and supermarket on Lido. You can catch a bunch of vaperretos ( boat taxi...the public transport of venice) from right outside the hotel and reach venice main island and almost all tourist attractions within 5-10 min ride ( the ride itself is a treat) . It is a bit difficult to get to the hotel if you arrive by flight as you have to change boats , unless you spend a few bucks more for a personal water taxi. If you come by train you can get a boat directly to the stop outside the hotel. It is the best combination of not-too far from Venice but still away from the tourist crowd of Venice and relaxed atmosphere of Lido.

Service : the hotel is a family owned place and the owners invest personal attention into the day to day running of the hotel. This makes the service very good. The Hotel gave my wife and me a very nice room when they learnt we were newly wed. The check in and out was effortless and entire staff very helpful and curteous. They were smiling even when i burnt toast at breakfast and the fumes triggered the smoke alarm ..hehe.

Rooms : The rooms are large and spacious.They have some sea facing rooms which have a wonderful view of venice. The large rooms have a living room and seperate bedroom. The ensuite bathrooms are also very charming with old world decor and antique fittings and sanitaryware. it is sometimes difficult to take a shower but thats somthing you can forgive for a wonderful view even from the bathroom.

Breakfast : The highlight of the hotel...once again is the view from the breakfast room . A large room almost on the waterfront with a view overlooking wonderful venice. The breakfast is hearty and very good quality. The service again , is quite good.

Restaurant : The hotel has a nice restaurant/lounge where you can rest and have a glass of prosecco in the evening looking at the boats go back and forth to the brilliantly lit venice island.

Price : It is value for money but you do have to shell some moolah if you want the best room facing venice. But its still worth it.

Extras : You can do heaps of stuff on Lido. Take a tandem bicycle ride around the island or go to the other end of the island and enjoy the expansive view of the Adriatic sea. Just take a stroll to walk ACROSS the island within 15 min...its just fun.

In conclusion : A brillaint gem in venice for someone who doesnt want the hustle bustle of Venice main-island but still enjoy the VENICE experience. Everything is great ..nothing to fault .

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing Venice island...they are worth it...choose the corner room to also have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shremu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was not only our first time in Italy, but our first night in Italy, so I didn't know what to expect - and the Hotel Villa Laguna exceeded my expectations.
We arrived on a rainy late October evening in total darkness on the Alilaguna ferry from the airport. The hotel was only steps away from the ferry dock and the lobby was bright and welcoming. Just turn right as you exit the ferry terminal and walk for a few minutes along the sidewalk, and you can't miss it.
The front desk staff were all extremely friendly during our 3-night stay and went out of their way to answer our questions and show us maps, etc. One man even made a phone call to San Servolo for me to check opening times and tour information.
When we came downstairs the first morning and walked into the breakfast room I was stunned. There was no one else there and the room was absolutely beautiful. The whole one wall is windows with a breathtaking view of the lagoon and Venice in the distance.
The breakfast itself is very good with a wide selection of beverages and food. There was fresh fruit, cereal, all kinds of breads and pastries, yogurt, ham and cheese, and fresh fruit juices, still and sparkling water, and tea and coffee.
Venice is about a 15-minute boat ride away. It pays to get the ACTV vaporetto pass from the airport. You can get them in various time increments (I think we did 36 hours). The pass is good for all of the ACTV public vaporetti (Venice's public water bus system), which includes the boat from Lido to Venice. We never had to worry about buying individual vaporetto tickets; it was literally hop-on, hop-off the whole three days.
I think we booked the cheapest room. We were on the street side and the room was very small, but that wasn't a problem for me. There was a TV but we didn't use it. There was a fridge which actually had some space for us to put our own drinks in. The bathroom was fine and everything functioned well, and I thought the toiletries provided were really nice. The one problem that I had was that the street was VERY noisy. Usually I don't have any problems with street noise but this was beyond anything I've ever encountered. It sounded like there were trucks going past all night long.
There are many restaurants and cafes (mostly pizzerias) within walking distance from the hotel. They mostly seem to be located on the main street that goes straight out from the ferry terminal, the Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta.
I would most definitely stay at the Villa Laguna again. The service, friendliness, convenience and beauty were top-notch. The only thing I would do different next time is book a seaside room.

Room Tip: Road noise on the streetside rooms is very loud; I would recommend a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilynn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The breakfast in this hotel was a great experience, great view over the laguna and San Marco

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickChatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times and this past summer had another delightful stay.
The views from the hotel of the Venice skyline are stunning. Antonio, the Manager and his capable staff make sure that each guest feels as if this is their"home away from home."
The rooms are tastefully decorated and always clean with l"Occitane toiletries provided so that unpacking ones's own isn't even necessary. The breakfast buffet is more than ample with quality goods. The bar and restaurant offer service with that fabulous lagoon view. Ulike some other hotels what you see in their terrific web site photos is truly what you get.
Grazie tutte !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonvoyage30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I want this hotel all to myself, Having stayed many times the new owners have made it even better now. Great rooms, Super position, Super breakfast, Helpful staff. Love being on the Lido after a days sightseeing very convenient and easy to travel around. Plenty of eating places on the Lido to chill out in the evenings. Dinner on the hotel terrace is also a wonderful experience. So stay away....so theres more room for me!

Room Tip: lagoon view rooms slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank solby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel last May and loved it. The room was spacious (actually two rooms - bedroom plus small living room) clean and overlooked the water. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Restaurant served good meals and it was lovely to have a drink in their garden on our first night to Venice. We would go back again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieLynne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Very close to Lido terminus; all rooms suites, many with lagoon view. Pleasant restaurant with superb view.

Room Tip: Room #1 even has own garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMCA456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
Hotel La Pergola di Venezia
#19 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Address: Via Sandro Gallo 6, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £52 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Hotel Venice
Laguna Hotel Venice
Villa Laguna Venice
Villa Laguna Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing