We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but not for the off-season”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay but not for the off-season”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to relax then the rooms are large and comfortable, although the shower had virtually no pressure in the room we stayed in. It's away from the tourist areas and has a superb view of the city skyline.

There was the usual bread and cheese options for breakfast and oddly (for me) the warm food options for consisted of hot dog style sausages, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs.

The trip on the vaporetto can be pretty tiresome after the novelty wears off and you just want to get back to the hotel. This was especially true due to the rain and high tides during November. I can imagine this would have been a great place to stay during the summer months.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZippityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    170
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
160
275
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ask a for a room with a view on the laguna and you will wake up in your suite, still reasonably priced, seeing San Marco, La Salute Church and the skyline of Venice.

Very comfortable and quiet hotel on the Lido, friendly service and nice breakfast buffet.

it is 50 m from the vaporetto to main city Venice and the trip is a pleasure (10 minutes to the first stop).

Do not forget the Aperol-Spritz around 7 pm in the bar or a nice glass of Prosecco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the laguna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetMike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We took two of our grandchildren this May and visited Italy. We were joining a church group in Venice but went a few days early to have our special time. The B&B lets you have a quiet location with easy access to any of the islands. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to explore Lido but maybe next time.
We had a bad experience while staying at the Villa Laguna only learning of it aftet 4 or so weeks returning home, but they had nothing to do with it. I am hoping, however, they will help us overcome a bad business ethic event we had leaving a very expensive parcel (which they had agreed with the merchant) to be picked up for repair.
(See review: Calzaiuoli Leather Factory, Florence)
I will return to Villa Laguna the next time I visit Venice.

Room Tip: My grandchildren had a suite on the top floor with the slooped roof lines that was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Grammy_72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Fantastic location 15 mins from the centre of Venice without the mayhem. Overlooks San Marco across the lagoon with a lovely terrace and restaurant making the most of the views. Very peaceful despite being 100m from the main Lido vaporetto stop (bonus direct transfers to the airport). Excellent service at the hotel and good food at a reasonable price (for Venice!). Highly recommended

Room Tip: Well worth paying a bit extra for a lagoon side room - unforgettable views day and night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OH123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff is very very friendly and helpful - the view from the breakfast room is beautiful and wonderful to start your day.
The hotel is only 2 stops away from the biennale with the vaporetto.
Rooms and bathroom are spacious and clean.
After a hectic and very touristic stay at Venice it is a very nice place to return to.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a side view - so ask for a view on the side of the breakfast room - that would be fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindboxdotbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our stay was great. The staff were polite and our room was HUGE with a separate living room, bedroom and foyer - like a small apartment! We also had A LOT of closet and drawer space with 2 closets, armoire and 4 dressers. I've never stayed in a room so large and spacious. It was also very clean and the washroom was nicely stocked.
The breakfast room was elegant and quiet with a beautiful view of the lagoon and islands, making a nice start to each day. There was also a nice variety on the buffet with hot and cold items to choose from.
The hotel is just next door to the boat dock, so easy to get to and from the boat each day, plus there's a ferry that runs from the hotel to the airport (and vice versa) which was very convenient. There's even an ATM across the street for more convenience. We really enjoyed the boat rides to and from the Lido island each morning and night which allowed us to see more views of the city. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtraveler0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel In early August and was very impressed, the staff were very helpful and were happy to recommend beaches, restaurants and sites to visit. The room was a good size, with a bedroom and lounge and was ample for 4 girlfriends. The view from our window was spectacular, overlooking the water with great views of Venice. The breakfast was very good, the normal continental with a small hot selection, but what made it special was eating breakfast outside looking over to Venice, such a lovely start to our day. The outside space made this hotel, whether it be sitting outside eating breakfast or enjoying drinks in the evening, it definitely was very special. The view of Venice across the water was beautiful and watching the sun go down in the evening was lovely and definitely not to be missed.

Getting to the hotel from the airport could not have been easier, we took the water bus straight there. It was only around 5 minutes walk from the airport to the water bus, via a covered walkway. When you arrive on Lido Island you are only 2 minutes walk from the hotel. This makes it very easy to get to and from Venice via the water busses but the heat made travelling on the water buses unbearable as there is no air conditioning, we much preferred to walk around once we got over to St Marks Square. All the sites are within walking distance of the square, but if you want to hop on the ferry you can do if you get a day/weekly pass. The last water bus back is around 1am so you can stay in Venice until the early hours without worrying about missing the last bus back.

I would definitely recommend booking the free trip to Murano from the hotel, the speed boat across to the island was fantastic and watching the glass show was really interesting. Just be aware that if you do not buy anything you have to make your own way back, not a problem as the waterbus is within walking distance. From Murano we went on to Burano Island, with all the pretty coloured houses. We could have spent much more time on Burano, we were there for 3 hours and it was not enough. There are some really lovely shops and restaurants and it is a great photo opportunity and a welcome relief from the madness of Venice.

Staying at this hotel gave us the opportunity to spend half our time visiting the sites and the other half relaxing on the beach and wondering around the small island. There is a free beach within walking distance, it was a little busy for our liking, but ok for an hour or two. We got the bus one day to the weekly market, which was fun and from there walked to another much quieter beach, we then got the bus back, which took about 5 minutes. The hotel is in a lovely area, with lots of restaurants and shops and there must be around 20 ice cream shops selling the most wonderful ice cream we have ever tasted. You could also hire bikes near the hotel, but it was far too hot whilst we were there, with temperatures over 38. One thing that did surprise us was the high humidity, which i have never experienced in Europe before. It was more like being in the caribbean, so having the air-conditioning in both the public areas of the hotel and our room was a godsend!

To sum up, this is a good standard hotel, with air-conditioning that works and fabulous views of Venice - you really can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for a lagoon view so you can see Venice from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Property: Villa Laguna
Address: Via Sandro Gallo, 6, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Hotel Venice
Laguna Hotel Venice
Villa Laguna Venice
Villa Laguna Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing