We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with the best view of Venice”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with the best view of Venice”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Booked this hotel as part of a suprise for my other half....and he loved it! The location was fantastic. Hotel was only a 2 minute walk away from the Lido water stop, and the beach 5-10 minutes away. Our double suite was spacious and from our room we could see San Marco skyline. As if this wasn't enough, the outdoor bar was the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset over Venice....magic! Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    169
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
157
273
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Stayed here for 10 days and it was lovely, relaxing and the staff were very polite and helpful. Room was on the side of the hotel by the road but with window closed could hear nothing. Air condition was very effiecient (even had a fight with new husband as I was too cold and he was fine). Staff were helpful with booking taxis and got us a table for dinner even though we hadn't reserved. Breakfast had a good selection of fresh food and fruit. So glad we stayed on the Lido as couldn't have coped with the hustle of Venice constantly. Hotel is really well situated - easy for Venice, beach, shops and restaurants.
Rooms were cleaned every day and towels replaced every second day (can be changed everyday but not needed). Even our cleaner was polite and friendly.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_lass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at Villa Laguna in May 2010. It was very easy to reach from the Marco Polo airport. Follow the covered pathway to Alilaguna (just after the water taxis) and for 26 euros each, the boat will drop you at Lido, less than 200 meters from the hotel. (note: pay in cash for Alilaguna as its parent company is a casino so you you get hit with a cash advance if you pay with credit card). Turn right and you will see the beautiful red building.

We stayed in the suite which was very large and had a kitchen which we didn't need. (it was extra for the kitchen if you used it) It had lovely rustic beams and a good size bathroom. We loved the character of the room. The only downside was that it was right over the vaparetto stop so it was a bit noisy with the boat engines but not enough that we wouldn't stay there again.

The young lady on the desk was extremely cheerful and full of lots of good advice. The breakfast was lovely and the view of Venice and all the boat traffic was very entertaining to watch while eating. It was a very large breakfast and usually we didn't need lunch. Other reviews have mentioned how expensive the restaurant is, they offer a lovely welcome dinner for your first night for only 28 euros which is a real deal and the smoked fish was wonderful.

The vaparetto stop is right there so it is easy to get to Venice, the train station, Murano as the vaparettos come by every few minutes. We got the 72 hour pass so didn't have to worry about getting tickets. The weather wasn't the best while we were there so we didn't go to Lido's beach but would like to come back to see it. There is a nice shopping area only steps away.

Overall, this was our favourite place to stay in Italy and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

This has to be the jewel in the crown. Fantastic location, beautifully decorated with extremely friendly and helpful staff. This was my third trip to Venice, and my first stay on the Lido. We had a suite consisting of a double bedroom, a lounge with a very comfortable sofabed and of course a bathroom. There was a fridge and optional extra kitchenette facilities but we chose not to utilise the kitchenette. Breakfast is included in the price and was plentiful and good quality ( fresh rather than canned fruit and not cheap cereal for example). We used the restuarant for an evening meal for the first night and the food was very good and reasonably priced in comparison to other venues that we also sampled during our stay. Yes there are cheaper venues but the quality is not always comparative! It is conveniently situated right next to the water bus station and so getting into Venice and surrounding islands was easy. The hotel makes the most of its fabulous views of St Marks square directly opposite and is reached in approximately 10 mins. I would most definitely use this hotel again, we hopped on and off the water bus and visited both Venice and its islands having purchased a 3 day ticket which I would also recommend. These can be topped up if your stay is extended. Well done Hotel Villa Laguna.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnuxvom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time! All the way from the rooms to the breakfast, everything seemed to be fantastic. The hotel is in Lido island which is not very far from San Marco Square. The hotel also provides host of other services like a free ride to Murano (Glass Factory) and at a minimal cost you can hire bicycles from the hotel. The Bus (ferry) station is 2 minutes walk from the Hotel so it's very convenient to travel.

The room we stayed in was great with a great view however, please do not use the sofa-bed in the living room unless necessary, since it's not free (20 euros a night).

We had a great experience staying here and would love to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kslives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Got upgraded as soon as we arrived due to no lift working...it meant we got no view from the window but we were heardly in the room.

A full sky tv service if you wanted it, a fridge which was handy (and minibar) and a seperate living area to your bedroom.

Really plush bathtoom, small but great venecian style decor.

Very helpful polite waitress and front desk staff.

Didn't try the restaurant as far to pricy, but the breakfast was well presented and enough.

Location is right next to the water bus stop which is 10 minutes to the beautiful centre of Venice. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I looked at several hotels that would be close enough to Venice without being right in the centre near St Marks and this one ticked all of the boxes. A 12 minute boat ride away from the main shops and museums and on the direct service from the airport.

The hotel is no more than 2 minutes walk from the boat so no worries about lugging suitcases up and down the bridges and cobbles in central Venice. We did notice some noise from the boats during the night but I challenge anyone to beat the view from the breakfast terrace. Bed wasn't the best but by all accounts that's quite typical in Italy.
Staff were very good although they didn't seem to keen on people leaving breakfast too late. They say up till 10.30 but started to clear a bit earlier.
Typical continental breakfast but plenty of choice and quality was fine.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant for reasons other reviewers have mentioned. It's about 3 times more expensive than the wide range of local restaurants on your doorstep.
One supermarket within 5 minutes of the hotel stocked soft drinks and everything you would need for snacks etc at really good prices but was always packed with long queues at most times of the day so sometimes, it's worth paying a bit more not to waste time doing what we can do back in the UK!

Best advice for anyone going to stay on Lido is buy the 48 or 72 hour boat pass and make full use of it. We used to for trips to Murano, up and down the Grand Canal, to and from St Marks and certainly had our money's worth.

Overall, for our first visit to Venice, this was a good choice of hotel and we would stay on this side of the water again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Property: Villa Laguna
Address: Via Sandro Gallo, 6, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Hotel Venice
Laguna Hotel Venice
Villa Laguna Venice
Villa Laguna Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing