We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Laguna - a quiet respite from the tourist madness in Venice”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Villa Laguna - a quiet respite from the tourist madness in Venice”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We chose the Villa Laguna as we were looking for water views and a bit more value - very difficult in Venice! However, very happy with our choice. The Lido is the 'real' Venice, filled with Italians and not with hordes of tourists. Plus, it is only a short 10 minute vaporetto ride from Piazza San Marco and the vaporettos run very frequently, until quite late at night.

The hotel itself is very traditionally decorated in Venitian style - not our tastes exactly, but it all added to the experience. We were in Room 2 I believe on the ground floor, with doors opening into our own private bit of grass right on the lagoon with a little table and chairs. The room itself has four very small rooms - a very small living space with couch and TV, a small bedroom, bathroom and kitchen area (which we didn't touch). I think they could probably make a better use of the space by knocking through the wall and having one big bedroom, but still nice. The bed wasn't the most comfortable (the usual two twin beds pushed together Euro-style affair) but passable.

Hotel breakfast was ample with standard continental offerings - cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs and breads. There seemed to be an outdoor area for drinks in the evening that wasn't open whilst we were there because the weather was pretty terrible (rain everyday). The Lido had a great selection of places to eat in the evenings, some very busy! Recommend the Roxy, which had a set menu offering that was very good and reasonably priced.

After a couple days battling the tourists on the main island, we spent a day just exploring the Lido by bike, which is recommended. As it was May, the beaches were still closed but got to see the Hotel des Bains (under construction), Excelsior plus miles of lovely coastline before heading back to Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta for some ice cream.

Overall, I am really happy with our decision to stay at Villa Laguna and on the Lido. After a day amongst the crowds in Venice, it was a welcome calm and gave us some real insight into the local people and culture. Recommend having an appertivo drink with the locals at one the bars in the evening - the prosecco was lovely!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmacginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    169
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
160
274
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Average hotel, but a great location on Lido. Stunning view of Venice. Staff was helpful and the rooms were comfortable although a bit too small!
Breakfast options needs to be improved!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Absolutely brilliant! Good value for money, away from the Venice crowds, but only 15min into Venice by water bus from the waterbus stop 50m away. Great views from our lagoon-facing suite and excellent service. Magda and Desiree looked after us very well, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
My only suggestion would be for the restaurant to serve Italian/Venetian food at reasonable prices - with such views from the restaurant, offering pizza/pasta at sensible prices would fill the restaurant. Instead, most guests while we were there ate at the local restaurants and used the hotel facility for an (expensive) evening drink or two. So hotel brilliant, restaurant could do better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Our stay at Villa Laguna from 6/6-6/9/10 was everything I expected and more. This is a charming property and we had a spacious suite for 4 people. We had an additional room for 2 other people in our group. Their room was on the bottom floor, while we were just one floor up. Would have preferred rooms next to each other, but as this is a small property is wasn't really an issue. Both rooms were very clean and kept clean throughout our stay. The living room portion of out suite had a small balcony outside with chairs and a pullout sofa where my 2 teenage boys slept. Also a small table and chairs and a large sofa type chair were in this room. There is a kitchenette also, if you ask for the key to open it up there is an additional charge. We did not use it. We loved the spacious accomodations and appreciated having separate sleeping rooms for the 4 of us in our suite. The room for 2 had it's own little private sitting area that faced the lagoon...very nice.
There is an adequate breakfast spread...cereals, fruits, pastries, meats, cheese, etc. And the hotel serves dinner in their restaurant. We did eat there one night just for the convenience of it. It was a very good meal, but it a little pricey. They have a bar outside in the evenings, though we did not utilize it.
The location is great...right on the lagoon and a very quick walk from the vaporetto. The vaporetto ran regularly, but it could take some time to get across to St. Marks Square...depending upon how many stops there were. We enjoyed the Lido very much as it was nice and quite, but we did spend some time getting back and forth from Venice. This would be the only drawback of staying here. That being said, I would stay here again, as it was a very nice property with friendly staff. We did purchase the 72 hour vaporetto pass, and this came in quite handy for the trips back and forth as well to go to Murano and Burano. Also to just hop on in Venice to get around when we were tired.
My only negative comment about our rooms would be the TV's...we had 2 in oiur suite...we couldn't get one to work at all. And the other worked but didn't get many stations. I don't think the TV in our room for 2 worked. This wasn't really a problem, as we were not there to watch Italian TV...just turned it on while winding down in the evening. But we also had the same issue at our hotel in Rome later on this trip.
Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend this property. Also...I had emailed the hotel a couple of times before our arrival with questions...both times received very prompt and friendly responses. This was comforting to me, knowing we were staying somewhere that apparently cared about their guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funsandybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I have been to Venice before and stayed at premium hotels but this island of Lido was the best.
The hotel had great and friendly staff including Tiziana, Fabio, and Carlo. Thank you to all of you especially Tiziana who was awesome! We had a medical issue and she dealt with it quickly and professionally and with a smile.
Location was cool and away from the main Plaza activities. We also had a great beach on the island which will use more the next trip.
Food was great, rooms are small, but this is Italy! We had two teenagers and survived in our suite and I would recommend this with bigger children. Beds were a little stiff but some people like that. I slept fine without any problem.
The views were amazing and we had a great 3 days.
Breakfast was complimentary and very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atcSd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Booked this hotel as part of a suprise for my other half....and he loved it! The location was fantastic. Hotel was only a 2 minute walk away from the Lido water stop, and the beach 5-10 minutes away. Our double suite was spacious and from our room we could see San Marco skyline. As if this wasn't enough, the outdoor bar was the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset over Venice....magic! Will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Stayed here for 10 days and it was lovely, relaxing and the staff were very polite and helpful. Room was on the side of the hotel by the road but with window closed could hear nothing. Air condition was very effiecient (even had a fight with new husband as I was too cold and he was fine). Staff were helpful with booking taxis and got us a table for dinner even though we hadn't reserved. Breakfast had a good selection of fresh food and fruit. So glad we stayed on the Lido as couldn't have coped with the hustle of Venice constantly. Hotel is really well situated - easy for Venice, beach, shops and restaurants.
Rooms were cleaned every day and towels replaced every second day (can be changed everyday but not needed). Even our cleaner was polite and friendly.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_lass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Property: Villa Laguna
Address: Via Sandro Gallo, 6, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Hotel Venice
Laguna Hotel Venice
Villa Laguna Venice
Villa Laguna Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing