We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; close but away from the crowds !!!!”
Review of Villa Laguna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Laguna
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Trip Advisor comments were great a right on. This is a cozy (not many rooms), but great place. It is just minutes away from St Mark's Square and the rest of Venice. Lido is a nice get away, quiet!
It is just 100 yards from where you get off the ACTV boat (which runs to Venice about every 5 minutes).
First-timers to Venice (!!!): Use the ACTV boats to/from Venice, but the Alilaguna line boats go to/from the airport; 2 different companies!!!
An advisor comment lead us to request the Double Suite which was huge (especially by European standards); would also highly recommend.
One other note: Get your reservations early; many of these great finds are small and do not have alot of rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave-Deb-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

The hotel has a beautiful panoramic view of Venice. Our room had a small living room attached to the bedroom. The room was spacious but the mattress was very hard. However, the view and service offset the bed shortcomings.
We left at 4am to get to the airport and the night manager came out oft her office to wish us a good trip and make sure we did not need anything else before we left.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapnkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

What a lovely hotel. The Villa laguna is located on the Lido in Venice and has amazing viers of st marks Square. The breakfast/ dining room faces the lagoon so mealtimes are an amazing experience. The location is great- 2 minutes from the waterbus stop. Buses take about 10 minutes and bus 1 will tae you right up the Grand canal- Great for sightseeing. Service at the hotel is great. On arrival we were shown to our room, talked through local amenities etc. Rooms are reasonably roomy for a city. The bed was 2 singles made up as a double so plently of room. The usual extras too- tv satelite mini bar, free safe etc. breakfast was traditionally european so if you are looking for a full english you'll be disapointed. overall a really warm and friendly hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The service from the front desk staff was excellent, providing a map and suggesting routes on the waterways and how to access these easily.
The room was clean and quite large, although the bed wasn't the most comfortable thing I've ever slept on...but breakfast made up for this and was amazing, sitting in the sun bathed dining room looking out over the water.
Villa Laguna was easy to find with a water bus stop only about 50-100m away and a short ride to the Grand canal, and was far enough away to feel like you were on a small island in the middle of the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaStook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We had heard mixed reviews about even visiting Venice, so this place seemed like a great fit. Only a 10-15 minute boat ride from St. Marks where we could spend as much time as we wanted in the city, but we could also leave the crowds behind and not have to worry about noise or possible smells and there is a beach on this narrow island as well. Our room was on the water's edge with a grassy area that was ours and it had a great view of St. Mark's. The room was spacious with a bedroom and even had a kitchette. Breakfast was included and a free cruise to Murano Island on a beautiful boat was included to see glass blowing and tour/purchase amazing glass blown creations. Breakfast was a wonderful spread too. They also had a bar and restaurant there for the evenings. It was a boutique hotel and we liked the size and the service. We had two rooms since we are a family of six, but they were willing to accomodate us with our rooms across the hall from each other. Lots of restaurants on Lido, but we easily went into Venice proper for meals as desired. It is very close to the Vaporetto stop. Buy the 3 day pass for public transportation--you won't regret having the freedom to get on and off and have to keep buying tickets. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel Villa Laguna is a lovely hotel with the cleanest rooms I have ever seen in a hotel. The staff are fluent in many languages and make you feel very welcome. We actually got married during our stay and found Lido a peaceful getaway from the hussle and bussle in Venice, I think, judging by our room size we got better value for money too. Although the crossing over to Venice can be expensive (a travel card works out to be much cheaper if you by one online before you go) it is worth it for the room size and qualtiy of service. Our room was a very good size with a seperate sleeping and living area. There was even a dining table and kitchen if required.
The food in the restaurant, although expensive, was by far the best in Venice. The views across to the mainland from the restaurant is a bonus too.
We can highly recommend The Hotel Villa Laguna, they made our honeymoon perfect and we would certainly stay there again if we return to Venice in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsFRichmond_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We chose the Villa Laguna as we were looking for water views and a bit more value - very difficult in Venice! However, very happy with our choice. The Lido is the 'real' Venice, filled with Italians and not with hordes of tourists. Plus, it is only a short 10 minute vaporetto ride from Piazza San Marco and the vaporettos run very frequently, until quite late at night.

The hotel itself is very traditionally decorated in Venitian style - not our tastes exactly, but it all added to the experience. We were in Room 2 I believe on the ground floor, with doors opening into our own private bit of grass right on the lagoon with a little table and chairs. The room itself has four very small rooms - a very small living space with couch and TV, a small bedroom, bathroom and kitchen area (which we didn't touch). I think they could probably make a better use of the space by knocking through the wall and having one big bedroom, but still nice. The bed wasn't the most comfortable (the usual two twin beds pushed together Euro-style affair) but passable.

Hotel breakfast was ample with standard continental offerings - cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs and breads. There seemed to be an outdoor area for drinks in the evening that wasn't open whilst we were there because the weather was pretty terrible (rain everyday). The Lido had a great selection of places to eat in the evenings, some very busy! Recommend the Roxy, which had a set menu offering that was very good and reasonably priced.

After a couple days battling the tourists on the main island, we spent a day just exploring the Lido by bike, which is recommended. As it was May, the beaches were still closed but got to see the Hotel des Bains (under construction), Excelsior plus miles of lovely coastline before heading back to Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta for some ice cream.

Overall, I am really happy with our decision to stay at Villa Laguna and on the Lido. After a day amongst the crowds in Venice, it was a welcome calm and gave us some real insight into the local people and culture. Recommend having an appertivo drink with the locals at one the bars in the evening - the prosecco was lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmacginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Boulevard Hotel
Le Boulevard Hotel
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laguna

Address: Via Sandro Gallo 6, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £72 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laguna Hotel Venice
Laguna Hotel Venice
Villa Laguna Venice
Villa Laguna Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing