We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views form this hotel”
Review of Russo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Russo Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb views form this hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A great little hotel with fabulous views over the lagoon to Venice. Worth paying extra for the superior rooms with balcony and lagoon views. Great to see all the cruise ships coming in and going out every day. A nice stroll from the vaporetto station to hotel or a few miutes journey by bus (about every 15 mins or so). The Lido has a nice relaxed fell about it and is the ideal place to stay away from the husdtle and bustle of Venice. It is a short journey on the boat over to the main part of Venice and the boats are every few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjd171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    120
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
62
182
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

I decided to take my girlfriend to venice for her birthday just my luck realising after I had booked the flights that the Americas cup was taking place and thus all the hotels prices seemed to have increased dramatically I looked around and stumbled across this hotel the reviews all seemed good and as we only a needed somewhere to put our heads down at night and only ten mins across the water this seemed perfect.

We arrived in Venice from Treviso at about half eleven and bought our seventy two hour pass for the water bus we had done our research and knew the number 1 service went all the way down the canal to lido so was a great way too see the city properly after an hour or so we arrived on the island of lido

Our check in was not until 2 but after the ten minute walk from the bus stop we arrived about one and our room was all ready so were allowed to check in early which was great as Venice was not built for suitcases.

Check in was quick and efficient and we hired a safe for a 5 euro deposit, once we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised with the size after reading reviews we were expecting a small room but when we got in it was a nice size and had a balcony over looking Venice too which was nice

When we got home from out first days expedition of venice we decided to eat on the lido and found a lovely little restaurant on the main strip by the water bus stop and afterwards we took a walk back to the hotel. Our room was very hot and stuffy as had been in the twenties all day outside so we turned out a/c on and then stupidly fell asleep we woke up in the middle of the night and were so thirsty because if this and had no drinks with us so we would have to the dreaded act of drinking from the mini bar. But to our surprise the mini bar prices were extremely reasonable, coke was 2,50 and water a little less.

The first morning we went down for breakfast and there was a selection of breads, pastries,fruit and cooked breakfast along with fresh juice and hot drinks this was perfectly adequate for giving you that good start for the day, the only thing I will say is the cooked breakfast was not fantastic on both morning the egg I had was cold and rubbery but other than that the rest was perfectly fine.

Originally on the second night we were
going to go for something to eat on the grand canal in a nice restaurant but after being ripped off on marks square (40 euros for a glass of wine and a piña colada) and 80 euros for a half hour gondola ride we decided to sve our money and eat on lido we asked the receptionist for any tips and she recomnded one on the other Side of the island called caribe which was a fantastic recommendation, it had an amazing view with a lovely friendly staff running it would highly recommend the mussels

Overall this hotel was perfect for what we needed it for and would definitely recommend it to anyone if you are looking for a quiet hotel outside the hustle and bustle itself then I would definitely recommend this with friendly staff, reasonable prices and a nice location what is there else you would want

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were placed in room 302. The hotel lobby and hallways were absolutely beautiful with marble floors. The rooms on the other hand were in need of renovation. They were clean but had several little issues. EG The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor- dangerous for myself with a broken thumb. However, the view was astounding! I actually think we were paying for the view. The room was also lovely and warm, it was October and typical rainy October weather but we didn't need sheets, which was also good as the sheets were of poor quality. A very good thing was the mini bar which was really cheap! it was only 3 euros for a beer. However the walls were rather thin. We could hear everything going on next door- mainly a lot of showering!

The breakfast was O.K. there was choice and variety.

We bought spa passes from the hotel before we went. The spa isn't actually in the hotel but in another hotel which is 20 mins walk away. It is a lovely spa but the hotel would benefit from having this in house rather than in a separate hotel.

Staff were friendly and bilingual which was very useful. Also the location of Lido is great as the water buses are regular and not too far from the hotel.

Overall a good trip. A nice hotel but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini_me1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were looking for a clean, value for money, hotel in easy reach of the main islands of Venice, but away from the hustle and bustle.
The Russo Palace Hotel did not disappoint.
We were greeted with a friendly smile and useful information on the area. Our room was on the ground floor so was very easy to access. The price was extremely reasonable so we weren't expecting to have a view over the main lagoon; our room looked out onto a small canal at the back of the hotel, which made it quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice of hot and cold food. The restaurant had a small area outside for the warmer mornings which looked out across the lagoon.
Dinner isn't served at the hotel, but there are plenty of places to eat on the Lido. Prices vary, so look at the menus outside before venturing in.
The hotel is a short walk from the AliLaguna (or other) waterbus terminal. These take you across the water to the main islands of Venice quickly, but make sure you're on the right one. Ask before getting aboard as there are several different routes.
We are looking to return to the Russo Palace Hotel next year as we so enjoyed the area and would like another chance to discover more.

Room Tip: If you would like a view over the lagoon, request a room at the front of the hotel on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Excellent staff, very helpful and very nice. Very patient with tourists. Located in the perfect place in Venice. It is on Lido island which is slower and more relaxed than the main islands. The beach is on Lido island. It is a 10 minute ferry to San Marco Piazza. The bus service on Lido is excellent. Nice night life and restaurants on Lido. The rooms are very clean but I felt claustrophobic. The bathroom was as big as the room. As long as you aren't going to spend your days in the hotel, I would stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel is quite well located in Lido island. Lido island is peacefull island just outside the centrum of Venice. It was nice to go back to this peacefull island after spending a day in the rush of Venice. The boat trip takes 5-10 minutes, but it was nice. Didn't bother us at least.

The staff was very friendly and the room was "ok". Maybe not a 4 star hotel, but better than most of the 3 stars hotels.

We were very satisfied about this hotel and can be recommended,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blasimon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is very nice. Short, 10 min walk to ferry on Lido Island and beautiful views of Venice. The top floor, however, is unacceptable!! You can not stand up in the room, you cant shower because the ceiling is so slanted and it is very hot with the sun scorching through the roof directly into the room. The air conditioner can not even keep up with the heat. We couldn't understand how they could charge the same rate for that room as for a beautiful room on the ground floor. With that said, we loved our stay on Lido and would go back as long as we didn't stay on the top floor. Also, while in Venice get the rolling venice pass for the ferry rides. You will be taking the ferry many times a day and its well worth it in savings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsjfnjufds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russo Palace Hotel

Property: Russo Palace Hotel
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 11/A, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Russo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably situated on the beautiful island of Lido, The Russo Palace Hotel is easily reached via a range of transport options. These include, the frequent waterbus direct from Marco Polo airport, the public water taxi service (ACTV) from Santa Lucia railway station or the opportunity to arrive directly in a private water taxi and berth at our private jetty. The Hotel can also be accessed by car using a ferry boat service. Cars may be left in the nearby Hotel’s private car park. The Russo Palace Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Piazza San Marco and 5 minutes from the beach with a central position that is extremely quiet and peaceful surrounded by trees and the blue of the Venice lagoon.The 25 rooms are perfectly furnished in Cherry wood born from skilled hands of Venetian craftsmen that have made every piece a work of art. Each room is equipped with shower or bath, WC, air conditioning, central heating, safe, mini bar, Satellite TV, radio and telephone with optional internet connection. All rooms have large windows some with a balcony providing stunning wiews of the Venice lagoon. Ground floor rooms have been adapted for disabled access. A further distinguishing feature of the Russo Palace Hotel is that we invite our guests not to smoke in the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russo Palace Venice
Hotel Russo Palace
Russo Palace Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing