We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Venice & surrounding areas”
Review of Russo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russo Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Venice & surrounding areas”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this small but well appointed hotel on Lido.
Ok so it is definately not the Ritz - 4 stars, maybe, maybe not (depending on personal standards I suppose) but if a clean functional room, clean bed linen, smart & clean bathroom, close to the vaporetta stop (approx 750m) is what you want then look no further. We had a nice view of the lagoon & St Marks from our window on the 2nd floor.
It suited all our needs and we found the breakfast to be very generous with scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheese, fruit, cereals, yogurts plus the usual croissants & tasty pastries, fruit jiuce and coffee - all self service.
Island itself is quaint and a very relaxing place to escape the crowds on the main island with lots of small bars & restaurants.
Staff very friendly & helpful - we took advantage by asking the reception to book a water taxi for our return trip to the airport which we picked up directly outside the hotel - yes it is a more expensive option but worth it as it gets you there in approx 25-30 mins & saves all the stops on the vaporetta - if you are there with another couple/s then this is better as you can obviously share the cost which is what we did - otherwise a very expensive option for one family or one couple.
Safes are available in the rooms for a 5 Euro deposit which is returned when you hand in the key at the end of your stay.
Overall all of our party of four were pleased with their experience of this hotel and would recommend to others if you just want something clean, functional and close enough to all the hustle & bustle but not right on top of it all - there is too much of Venice & surrounding islands to explore - why would you want to spend all day in your hotel anyway!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahjk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    122
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
62
187
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, 10 min walk from water taxi stop. Located on Lido, a 15 min water taxi ride from San Marco, the main city center of Venice. Staff was very good, as was the free breakfast. Stayed in the basic rooms on 1st floor. Clean and comfortable. Small, but who spends time in their room while in Venice? Could use a coat of paint in the room though. Ice machine didn't work, so afternoon cocktails were a challenge. Great price. Much less $$ than staying in the main area of Venice. Quiet respite after touring the city. Aegean Sea is 10 min walk from hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheoutdoors061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights in august 2013. Quite expensive (and supposedly 4 stars) yet the room was minimalistic and the walls were patched up with unpainted plaster. Breakfast was fine and generous, even. Wifi free but very slow. Staff nice and pleasant. Quiet neighborhood 10-15 minutes from the Lido "action". All in all not a bad place but in no way a 4 star and not worth the price paid for, even by Venice/Lido standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location to relax and get away after the heat and crowds of Venice centre.
Small, clean, friendly hotel. Well located just a short walk from water buses, beach and smart, Lido, cafe life. Balcony room directly overlooking water was peaceful and more than adequate.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It was the most expensive, but worst quality hotel out of the 6 different hotels we stayed in throughout this Italy holiday. We paid 73 GBP (81 Euros) per night plus another 18GBP (20 euros) for a 3 night stay.

BAD POINTS (room 204 I think)
The cost - the hotel was overpriced and the 4 stars were a joke.
The toilet continually dripped causing the noisy water pipes to fill the cistern every 10 minutes throughout the day and night. This was reported to reception but nothing was done.
The curtains were partially hanging off because some hooks were broken.
The windows leaked water into the room when it rained (heavily). This had clearly happened many times before as shown by the stains running down the wall under the window. This was also reported for information, but we mopped up the water ourselves.)
Their directions state that the hotel is 500m from the Santa Maria Elisabetta waterbus port. It is closer to 750m according to google maps.

GOOD POINTS
Decent air con.
Comfortable bed.
Good shower.
Sky TV
Clean (apart from the wall water stains mentioned above)
Staff were helpful (apart from not fixing the problem above)
Breakfast was good (although the orange juice was poor)
Lido was a nice place to stay with very regular water bus. 10 minutes walk (750m) to the water bus port (although it would be better to be closer)

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms have a front facing balcony. I would recommend another hotel on Lido, but closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Glasgow_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just came came from 4 nights. Room on the 4th floor. That means "MIND YOUR HEAD" just about every instant BUT, nice view of Venice from the room velux, nice view of Lido form the bathroom velux. Taking a shower is a bit challenging and elevator only goes up to 3rd floor.
Breakfast is good but not exceptional. Place is fairly clean.
Quick 10 minute walk to water bus (then 10 minutes to Venice, San Marco).
Beach is 10 minutes walk on the other side of the island.
Nice center street with restaurants in between.
Very friendly staff. Internet worked just fine for us.

We took the few oddities in stride, kept the velux open at night and covered during the day to control temperature a bit and had just a wonderful time in Venice!

Room Tip: Say no to 4th floor (unless you're 4 feet tall or less).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel as we had enjoyed our previous stay last July. We had booked two rooms – one for my sister and the other for my husband and me. We had upgraded our room for one on the front with a balcony and were in the same room as we had stayed in last year, which was a nice touch. Unfortunately, the price of the upgrade has risen very steeply since last year and may well mean that we will not return to the Russo Palace again if we visit Venice in future. Shame but for those prices we may well be better staying in Venice itself, though we do love the Lido.

The standard room booked for my sister was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel with a window overlooking the canal and was perfectly adequate, immaculately clean as the rest of the hotel and quite cool as it was shaded. My sister mentioned that there was a bit of noise in the mornings as the maids readied themselves for the housekeeping of rooms. It seems that they have a room near where she was staying where they keep the cleaning materials etc.
Breakfast was plentiful and there was lots of choice of hot and cold foods. My sister is coeliac and thought she might struggle but found plenty of foods she could eat. A really nice touch from the hotel was that she was given some gluten-free plum cake which she said was very nice and was touched that they had gone to the trouble.

The staff on reception deserve a mention as they were all really friendly and helpful with their suggestions when we asked for advice about gluten-free restaurants and how to get to Murano and Burano from the Lido.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rum_coolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russo Palace Hotel

Property: Russo Palace Hotel
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 11/A, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Russo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably situated on the beautiful island of Lido, The Russo Palace Hotel is easily reached via a range of transport options. These include, the frequent waterbus direct from Marco Polo airport, the public water taxi service (ACTV) from Santa Lucia railway station or the opportunity to arrive directly in a private water taxi and berth at our private jetty. The Hotel can also be accessed by car using a ferry boat service. Cars may be left in the nearby Hotel’s private car park. The Russo Palace Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Piazza San Marco and 5 minutes from the beach with a central position that is extremely quiet and peaceful surrounded by trees and the blue of the Venice lagoon.The 25 rooms are perfectly furnished in Cherry wood born from skilled hands of Venetian craftsmen that have made every piece a work of art. Each room is equipped with shower or bath, WC, air conditioning, central heating, safe, mini bar, Satellite TV, radio and telephone with optional internet connection. All rooms have large windows some with a balcony providing stunning wiews of the Venice lagoon. Ground floor rooms have been adapted for disabled access. A further distinguishing feature of the Russo Palace Hotel is that we invite our guests not to smoke in the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Russo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russo Palace Venice
Hotel Russo Palace
Russo Palace Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing