We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
Review of Russo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Russo Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Russo Palace for 3 nights at the start of Feb 06. It is situated in Lido which can be reached by a 50 minute water bus ride from Marco Polo Airport. It is then a five minute walk from the water bus stop in Lido to the hotel.
The first thing that struck me about this hotel was how clean everything was. It is a fairly new hotel and all the decor still looks brand new and everywhere is spotless.
Our room was a little on the small side, as was the bathroom but it was functional enough and the bed was nice and comfortable.
Breakfast was good if a little uninspired - cereal, bread, ham, boiled eggs, fruit juices and coffee. The view from the breakfast room towards St. Marks square is great.
It takes about 10 mins by waterbus to reach St. Marks square from the Lido and costs 5 Euros each way which I thought was quite reasonable. Venice is lovely, but it was quite nice to return to Lido at the end of the day which is a lot quieter than Venice itself at this time of year.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    120
    34
    17
    9
See reviews for
62
182
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2005

Just spent 3 nights (8-11 October 2005) at this lovely hotel. Went with 2 friends who paid the extra €30 per night for the balcony view over the lagoon to Venice. We had side/back views of lagoon/canal which were perfectly fine. Excellent aroma of breakfast first thing every morning - worth getting up for as food was lovely. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel offer complimentary water taxi to Murano Island and the glass factory. This is a must! Ordinary water bus from Lido to Venice was regular service and good fun. 24 hour ticket is only €10.50 each and good value. View from hotel is superb as you can easily see the Doge's Palace and the Campanile Tower. In our view, Lido is super place to stay as you see Venice from across the water. Would recommend this hotel every time. We got the water bus from the airport (50 mins) to Lido at €10 each but chose to leave in style on a water taxi costing €90 for the 4 of us. The water taxi took only 15 minutes from the Hotel's private jetty and we felt like James Bond!! Worth saving some money for!

Helpful?
6 Thank AlisonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside. England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2005

Billed as a 4* hotel the Russo Palace didnt come up to expectations. The hotel was clean but the rooms very small with no tea or coffee facilities in the room. We paid extra for a balcony with a view which believe me is necessary. The only meal available was breakfast and in a 4* we would have expected to have been able to get an evening meal. If staying in Venice it was way out (at least an hour on the water bus which stopped at every stop along the way!!). All in all the hotel was ok for a 3 night stay but anything more you would want one with more facilities on offer.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irisheyes145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 April 2005

My wife and I booked for a 12-14 Apr 2005 stay at this hotel thru hotels. Before we started our trip, we knew that we will be arriving very late into Venice since we took a late flight from London. So, I decided to contact the hotel to advise them of our late check-in. After getting their contact info from hotels, I emailed the hotel ASAP. The next day, I already got a response from them, assuring us that our room will be available when we arrive. The email even included their guide on how to get to the hotel thru different means with the suggested price to pay. Not contented with the email, I called the hotel just as we were leaving from the London airport, again advising them that we were on our way and we were arriving very late. Again, I was assured that our room was ready and waiting. Using the guide that they sent us, we arrived at the hotel without much trouble using the public water bus. By the time we stepped up to the front-desk, the guy just gave us the key to the room. He already knew who we were! :)

We were waken-up that morning, and every morning after that, by their heavenly and sweet-smelling buffet breakfast. We did not really need to setup the alarm in the room nor arrange for a wake-up call ever. The morning breakfast was enough to wake us up!

The location is in Lido, which is a few minutes away from the Venizia island by water bus. We did not care. The short walk from the water bus station to the hotel was not a big deal to us either. Everytime we take that walk, it was very romantic, even the times we had to drag our luggages with us.

We will definitely stay in this hotel again, if we ever get another chance to go back to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Mabapa
Hotel Villa Mabapa
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#7 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russo Palace Hotel

Property: Russo Palace Hotel
Address: Riviera San Nicolo' 11/A, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Russo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably situated on the beautiful island of Lido, The Russo Palace Hotel is easily reached via a range of transport options. These include, the frequent waterbus direct from Marco Polo airport, the public water taxi service (ACTV) from Santa Lucia railway station or the opportunity to arrive directly in a private water taxi and berth at our private jetty. The Hotel can also be accessed by car using a ferry boat service. Cars may be left in the nearby Hotel’s private car park. The Russo Palace Hotel is located just 15 minutes from Piazza San Marco and 5 minutes from the beach with a central position that is extremely quiet and peaceful surrounded by trees and the blue of the Venice lagoon.The 25 rooms are perfectly furnished in Cherry wood born from skilled hands of Venetian craftsmen that have made every piece a work of art. Each room is equipped with shower or bath, WC, air conditioning, central heating, safe, mini bar, Satellite TV, radio and telephone with optional internet connection. All rooms have large windows some with a balcony providing stunning wiews of the Venice lagoon. Ground floor rooms have been adapted for disabled access. A further distinguishing feature of the Russo Palace Hotel is that we invite our guests not to smoke in the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russo Palace Venice
Hotel Russo Palace
Russo Palace Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing