We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and neat but little else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean and neat but little else”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I spent 3 nights here before returning to work in Florence. The hotel is modern and a bit sterile. That said, my room was clean and the bed firm. The internet had problems throughout my stay and only one person at the desk seemed interested in making it right with any speed. The room was otherwise unremarkable with the exception of a desk chair jammed so close to the bed it was impossible to sit straight ahead. The windows were high off the floor, giving me the feeling of being in a basement when i was on the second floor. I did not have breakfast in the hotel (12E), so i cannot comment on that. The staff is uneven but the helpful ladies are the best. The only man I encountered at the desk was unhelpful and abrupt. The area off the main street is lovely and the place was really quiet. Bicycle rental was close by and Trattoria Andri was terrific. Skip the swank Excelsior for a drink. What a lousy bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    124
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
60
173
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Hotel Villa Pannonia is in the ideal location for a trip to Venice. It's on the picturesque and peaceful island of Lido, just a short walking distance to the local beach and the ACTV Water bus which goes into San Marco and other islands of Venice. The staff were very knowledgeable and spoke excellent english and they will bend over backwards to make their guests happy. The room was very spacious with air conditioning and free wi-fi and included a mini bar, which we used to just take the belongings out and fill with our own things from the local shop.

Will definatly be staying at Hotel Villa Pannonia on my next trip to Venice!

Room Tip: I would say to spend a little more and get a 'superior room' for the extra room that you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerteacher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was the only hotel we stayed at during a 2 week tour of Europe, the rest had been hostels, so this place felt like luxury in comparison.

It was very hot in Venice while we were there so the air conditioning in the room was a god send. It had a nice size en suite bathroom, a television, a safe, a minibar, plenty of storage, and two large windows.

The breakfast was great, especially after staying in hostels earlier on the trip and having to go seeking a café that wasn't too expensive in the mornings. Its was nice to be able to eat as much as I wanted without worrying about the price of each item. The selection was very good including cold meat, pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, nuts and cake.

The hotel was within walking distance of the beach and very close to the main street which has many nice restaurants and absolutely loads of gelato shops. Very close to the vaporetto stop as well.

This was my first time to Venice so I've never stayed on the main island before, but it seems Lido is a lot more quiet and chilled out than the main island. It was a bit of an overload then to get off the vaporetto at San Marco and just hit swarming mass of people. It made the main island a little hard to take in, but Lido just has a nice relaxed feel you'd expect from a Mediterranean town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for four nights in a suite which consisted of a bedroom, lounge, and bathroom. The rooms were all generously proportioned with plenty of space for all our belongings. The bedroom had a very comfortable double bed, flat-screen TV, and a mini bar/fridge. In the lounge there was a sofa bed, desk, and large wardrobe which included a safe. The bathroom is a good size, but only contains a shower - no bath, which was a bit of a disappointment.

The hotel is located on a quiet street that runs parallel to the main street from the vaporetto stop. It's mainly a residential area with very little traffic (yes, there are cars on the lido), so the hotel is very peaceful, and offers welcome relief from the daily hustle and bustle of Venice. The lido is about a 10 minute vaporetto ride from Venice, but it really does offer great value for money, not only in terms of the hotel, but also the bars, restaurants, and souvenir shops. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from two supermarkets, a range of restaurants, plenty of gelatarias, and less than 10 minutes from the beach.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the staff at breakfast, and all staff spoke very good English. We paid extra for breakfast, which was continental - cereals, meat, cheese, croissants, yoghurt, toast, fruit etc. Coffee is from a machine, but you can ask for a 'proper' one! Breakfast is fine with plenty of choice. The room was very clean when we arrived, but the cleaning on a daily basis was a little cursory - sometimes we returned to the room and the toilet roll had not been replaced and glasses had not been cleaned. The only other drawback was the lack of view - although the suite was dual aspect we looked over the car park on one side, and residential apartments on the other.

We would definitely recommend staying on the Lido and the Villa Pannonia. We slept well, ate well, and most of all we relaxed!

Room Tip: The suite is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsandpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked this hotel for 3 nights after doing much research and chose Villa Pannonia after reading all the positive revies. And we were not dissapointed. It was very easy to get to once you had arrived on Lido - a short walk down the main street even with all our luggage. The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull and spoken English really well. They advised on restaurants in the area. The rooms were very clean and modern and so were the bathrooms. Lovely clean white linen and fresh towels. The breakfast was lovely - we sat outside on the wooden deck surrounded by plants and trees - very quiet and calm. And the selection was great. The cuppacinos from the machine at the bar were really really good, and they are very happy to make them for you if you ask. All round I would highly recommend this hotel for location (getting away from the crazy tourist buzz of Venice), but still being easy enough to get to Venice when you want to, the lovely restaurants in the area (we were there for 3 nights and tried Villa Laguna which was our favourite, Trattoria Andrie and Trattoria Africa) which were all within a 5 min walk. Go there - you will not be sorry!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A modern and hip hotel that was slightly cheaper than anything we found in Venice. The room was actually a little bigger than I thought it would be so that was nice. The shower was tiny. The beds were comfortable. We had just come from both Florence and Rome where the hotel staff were extremely attentive and I guess we expected similar treatment here. It was a similar experience to spending a couple of nights in a hotel in NYC. Accommodations were good, service was just average. I'd recommend it though if you're looking to stay outside Venice, but just know that even though the boats are a short walk away, the action in Venice about a half hour via waterbus. A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel.

It was lovely to get away from the crowds of Venice, which was very nice for a short time but coming back to the Lido at the end of day was perfect.

Hotel was great, very clean and rooms a good size. We had an attic room which was little restrictive for my husband (he kept knocking his head until he got used it!) but decor and cleanliness was spot on. The bathrooms were a good size as well.

Breakfast was more than adequate cereals, croissants, ham, eggs etc and all nicely presented in a modern, clean area.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

A quiet location which was just what we wanted. Good restaurants in the local area though we did go to Alla Botta (I think it was) across the main road and would not recommend eating there (very poor food - our risotto looked like and tasted nothing like any risotto I have every had) but other than that the food on the Lido was excellent with friendly staff.

If we go back to Venice would certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are restrictive towards the gables but you soon learn to duck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Laguna
Villa Laguna
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Pannonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Pannonia

Property: Hotel Villa Pannonia
Address: Via Doge Domenico Michiel 48, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Pannonia 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditions and modernity harmonise in Hotel Villa Pannonia, Venice Lido Italy; the classic setting enhances the innovation and design which abounds in the avant-garde atmosphere, furniture and objects have been created by famous designers.Within the hotel, a continuous and stimulating art exhibition has been dedicated to contemporary artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Pannonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pannonia Hotel Venice
Hotel Villa Pannonia Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing