We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor experience - would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Delle Palme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Delle Palme
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very poor experience - would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

For those that may not wish to read this report in full, here is a brief summary:
This hotel has serious issues with guest security - there are NO staff in residence during late evening and night-time and there is free access to the hotel at all times by ANYONE off the street. Sometimes there are NO available staff during the day.
The rooms and public areas do not live up to the pictures on the web-site and give a false impression of spaciousness.
Anyone who could be deemed overweight WILL struggle to use the showers.
The beds are pretty much rock-hard.

First of all, do not be fooled by the photos on the hotel web-site which suggest that this hotel has spacious areas, the rooms absolutely do not live up to expectations.
The reception area is small with only room for 2 two seater chaise longues and the dining room is pokey with only 7 very small tables in close proximity. There is only enough room to access the breakfast food area for 2-3 people at a time and even then, you have to do a bit of a dance.
The look-out tower only has a few, dirty, worn out plastic chairs on it and certainly does not invite guests to linger.
As for the bedrooms; I booked months in advance and paid extra for a Superior room. There was nothing superior about it and when I checked the fire escape plan on the back of the door, it was actually one of the smallest on the first floor. I was able to peek into some of the slightly bigger rooms and they were not a lot bigger so I would hate to stay in a standard as for me, they would rate as substandard.
There has been mention on the forum about the tiny showers. Well here is a warning for you - tiny is no exaggeration. I am an average sized six footer and could cope with the cubicle once inside. However, they open from the corners and the gap is sooo small I could only just squeeze through, so any one that could be considered overweight WILL have a problem. (There was an emergency pull cord in the shower and my partner joked that it was for people who squeezed in and could not get out again)!
Now here is my biggest complaint and a warning to anyone who wants accommodation that is secure and gives peace of mind - Ville Delle Palme does not deliver at all on this score.
First of all, they only have one member of staff in the building during the day and NONE at all from late evening to early morning. So if you need assistance during this time - you are on your own. Worse still, they do not secure the entrance at any time, which means that during this period, anyone off the street is free to enter and roam the hotel at leisure, including the reception area where confidential details and other access may be found.
Worse still, during my stay, the solitary member of staff in the building would periodically disappear for hours at a time: One afternoon, no fewer than 3 separate guests required assistance for various reasons, including one couple not being able to access their room and he could not be found anywhere. It is bad enough having no staff during the night but any hotel that has no available or visible staff during the day is seriously lacking in service levels.
When we asked to leave our cases for a couple of hours on our last day, they were left in the open area beside reception. Guess what, when we returned later, no sign of any staff. Our cases (along with that of another guests) were in full view and available to anyone who could have walked in off the street with opportunistic criminal intentions.
Having been to Venice central on more than one previous occasion, we have had better hotels for less money, so in Lido, you should have no problem finding even better still. Do your homework better than I did (my only excuse - being fooled by the photos) and you will find better value for money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 28 appeared to be the biggest room and has a large balcony. If you cannot guarantee this room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purrfecttune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    87
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
43
106
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemsing, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect. The water buses are just round the corner that take you into Venice and it's situated on a quiet little street. The staff were lovey, friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was brilliant too, just perfect to set you up for the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here and loved it. It is a short distance from the water bus station. The breakfast is nice and the rooms are lovely. They are very clean and tidy. However the showers are a bit small and you have to pay extra for the wireless.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzz P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Don't usually bother with "reviewing" hotels in trip advisor but felt like I should on this occasion.
The hotel was great, very clean and Gorgeous rooms.
The self service breakfas was very nice, has all the things you would expect but the quality was amazing.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Will be staying here again when I visit Venice next.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveegg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, België
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Nicely furnished and very clean rooms, with all amenities and good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money.
Located on the island of Lido. The hotel is situated some 350m from the main boat stop of the island. By vaporetto you reach Venice in under 15 minutes.
We stayed already several times in this hotel and can highly recommend it !

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Villa Delle Palme is conveniently located near the Lido vaporetto stop (#1 directly from the train station via the Canal Grande; ca 60min). The Villa is situated in a quiet residential area, a few minutes aware from the main street, where you find most restaurants, shops and a supermarket (Billa). We stayed in a lovely room with balcony. Great for sitting outside in the morning or evening relaxing after a day sight-seeing. The bed was very comfortable, perfect for a good rest. The guys at reception are very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was nice. On our last day we were a bit early for breakfast (as we need to get back to the airport) but they were happy to accommodate us.
If you have time, walk up to the viewing platform. The view over Venice is wonderful! Going up there at 7.30am, we were not only able to see the sun rise, but also watched two enormous cruise ships making their way through Venice. An incredible sight.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank criparius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We booked this hotel after deciding not to stay in our original choice due to the horrendously bad reviews it had recently received and the dismissive attitude of its manager towards its guests. I can only say, I am so pleased we did. It is situated in a quiet back street and while it is only a few minutes walk from the Vaporetto station it is a world away from the noise and bustle. The staff are fantastic and really friendly, especially Cristiano and the other gentleman on reception. They were always happy to help and Cristiano must have the whole Vaporetto schedule in his head. The rooms are immaculate and really quiet. We stayed in a superior double on the first floor and couldn't fault it. There was a good choice of food for breakfast, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, croissants (sweet) and pastries and most importantly to my husband the coffee was good. The view from the top of the hotel across the Lido and water over to main Venice is not to be missed. All in all, a wonderful place and we wouldn't hesitate to go back and one day most probably will. Thanks guys for helping to make our holiday special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#16 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#12 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Delle Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Delle Palme

Property: Villa Delle Palme
Address: Lido Via Enrico Dandolo Lido 12/A, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Delle Palme 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Delle Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Delle Palme Hotel Venice
Hotel Delle Palme
Delle Palme Hotel
Villa Delle Palme Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing