We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Essentiale

Essentiale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a setting”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lovely afternoon spent looking over the ocean for this restaurant on Lido Island. food was delicious, service was impeccable and the day was pretty well perfect. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    85
    23
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Night to remember”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

TA took us here when we found it was just over the road from our hotel!!!.Although very busy this evening with a birthday party we were treated like visiting royalty-we sat looking at the view with a cocktail before being shown,after a few minutes only,to our table on a balcony over the sea-amazing! Service and food choices were amazing with every dish being superbly presented and wonderful to taste. A wonderful find-shame we hadn't found it earlier!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice bonus”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you're staying on the Lido this is the place to eat. Kitchen's open late and the upscale menu is delicious. Everything we ordered was wonderful--except the disappointing bread. Wait staff is helpful, know their wines and are happy to make appropriate recommendations.And the view is breathtaking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanNeubauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice view good ambience”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have been there twice. Once with the taxi boat from San Marco to Lido (only 10 Minutes). From lido only 100m walk on the right hand side. The second time we have been there with our own rent motor boat (Villa Laguna has a pier). The view is great. The prices are not cheap. Therefore 4 stars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NiHaoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Agree with all the good reviews. Plus it's very close to the water bus station on the Lido so extremely from St Marks Square (Piazza San Marco). Great for watching a sunset from.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH29_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Essentiale also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to Essentiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing