We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Byron, Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Byron, Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed 10 nights (a family of four) in early August 12. We were pleasantly surprised by the room as we ended up with two rooms, one room with a double bed & second with twin beds, interconnecting doors. It was very hot & there is no air conditioning, however two fans were very quickly despatched to our room (without asking) and on the third day a portable air conditioning unit was set up. Very impressed by this. We were also impressed that there was a fridge in the room (albeit small) but great for chilling the wine, water & beer. One plus point is that there is a lovely courtyard and each evening you can sit in it with your own drinks purchased very cheaply from the local supermarket. Take a couple of glasses (as we did) as plastic cups in bedrooms. Great location, friendly staff & helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walkers123186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    42
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
27
64
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a standard hotel staff were polite and breakfast was ok. the hotel is in need of some modernisation but the price is reasonable compared to toehr places to stay in vecnice.
We got the water bus to the Lido which was very easy to use and cheap if you bought the 48 or 72 hour pass which allows unlimited use of water buses

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is average, a bit outdated but it's working on its improvement. Breakfast was average. Long beach is only a hundred meters away from the hotel and for those who want to be very soon at the sea it's great. The staff was polite and willing to help whenever we needed it. The hotel is located in the peaceful environment and that was very important to me because I had a good sleep and rest after exhausting walks through the Venice. The staff is the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Only stayed for one night. We had a quad room which was actually two interconnecting rooms. Perfect for the two of us and the kids. Hotel staff welcoming and friendly. Breakfast buffet fresh and included fresh warm croissants. Only gripe was rather lumpy beds and a really bad smell in the bathroom. Ready for a spruce up or refit soon I think. Also be warned there is no air con - which I knew would be the case at this price, but still made for a hot night !

Good location about 50m from the beach and a 10 min walk to the main water bus stops.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derby_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

the title really says it all. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the lido beach front, and an under 10 minute walk to the vaporetto pier that takes you into venice. The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful as well. They serve a breakfast from 7:30 - 10 and it's just so-so. no hot food. For the price, however, I highly, highly recommend this hotel. We had no problems. Just don't expect a ton of amenities and modern perfections. The bed wasn't perfect and the shower wasn't perfectly clean, but all around, our experience there exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were placed in this hotel after the one we booked had overbooked. We were not pleased as this hotel was charging the same price but had none of the facilities we had especially chosen in the original one. The room was small and with no air conditioning. The fridge was not switched on and would have had to share a plug socket with the light. Had to unplug the bedside light to charge a phone. The bathroom smelt musty and could have done with a really good scrub. The breakfast was the best part about it as it was plentiful. The staff were obliging enough and did put things right that were wrong...there was a small leak in the bathroom which did get sorted out immediately. There was no attractive area to sit if you wanted a break from sight seeing, there is a large hotel lounge but the hotel was very dark and dismal. The outside area was not very appealing either.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

A 15 minute walk to the Lido Island ferries to all points of Venice, Byron provides a pleasant base of operations in a nice neighborhood. Staff was helpful, and the simple, but generous, breakfast on the patio was nice in the mornings.
We enjoyed the walk to the ferries, and you can even walk to the beach in 15 minutes in the other direction. With luggage, you might take the... C bus? which gets you 2/3 of the way to the hotel. Hop on, then buzz to jump off just 1 1/2 minutes later. If you overpacked, it helps. Then reorient with a map. (Take an online map print-out with you, the small island is confusing at first, then makes sense after 2 days.) If you aren't sure which bus to use, simply ask which buses continues in the direction in which they are pointed when you jump on at the port. Their ultimate destination and turns is irrelevant.
Finally, take the time for an outstanding and well-priced dinner (after 7) near the beach at La Tavernetta, just across from the Excelsior hotel (also worth ducking into, as it is from the golden era and has that 30s charm.) From the street at the front door of the Excelsior, it is across and to the left, just next to a Tobacci store. A 20 minute walk from the Byron hotel, it is well worth it.
Prices are high for all hotels in Venice during tourist season (May-Sept), so it's hard to rate this as a good value, at 120 euros or so, but was probably in the normal range for this quality. Still, we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#24 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rigel
Hotel Rigel
#13 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Augustus
Atlanta Augustus
#15 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giardinetto
Hotel Giardinetto
#14 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Property: Byron Hotel
Address: Via Marcantonio Bragadin Lido 30, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Byron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Venice
Byron Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing