We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, amazing value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorriso

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Sorriso
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were really impressed with this hotel. It was such a bargain but was so clean, the staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. The only slight critiscism is that the air con in the rooms is not very effective and even when set on maximum, doesn't do much. Lido is lovely and we had some of the best meals there. Yes, the hotel's not on the main island of Venice but connections are quick and easy, and it was nice to back to a more 'chilled' area at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    58
    20
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
60
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

All good below I would repeat, but there is no point. Simple , 1 it's quiet, 2, Air con and free wifi. Most rooms have balcony. 4 min walk to private beach, more later on this. 6 mins to free beach.
Local bars bread, fruit shop but no mini market local. Spotless rooms and really helpful English spoken at reception with a map and main needs pointed out on arrival.
There is no eggs and bacon for breakfast thank The Lord for that, lovely coffee, cereal yoghurt, cheese ham etc. Can't see why anyone can complain about this.
Shower is a real blaster recommended to get sand out of ears and hair.

Nearby 5 mins away Pizzeria 161 reviewed on TA is great value.

To find hotel bus A,B, (to Malamoco after 8pm) and circular bus from water bus stop. Buses right outside. Never waited more than 10 mins for a bus. Go over two roundabouts and when there is a garage on left ring bell get off bus walk 20 mtrs turn r and its there. 6 mins from ferry on bus exactly. (Sorry sounds nerdish)

Re beach and comments previous,there is only one public beach on Lido at bottom of main rd opp water bus terminal. All other are "private" it doesn't mean you can't use them, but if you want a bed and umbrella you will pay 20€+ a day. That's a universal charge. If you ask at hotel they will do it cheaper and give you a voucher to take to beach. We were given a free day when we arrived which helped catch up on lost sleep. Beware the beach restaurant prices, £8 pint and not very interesting food. It you take the short walk back to the hotel area, there is a short cut and get there before 1.45 can get cold beers wine pizza to take away at fraction of beach prices.
For a hassle free beach go to sea turn right walk past the umbrellas and there is endless beach, no beds no life guards, showers or loos and the sand is not hoovered, but its so close and great for a half day.

We found going over to main island after 4 and eating in St elisabeth campo, (academia stop on water bus,)wine cheap in student bars 1€ glass and takeaway pizzas 5,6€ sat and ate in square. Night out for less than €15.

Back to hotel. After a week here and a daily trip to the beautiful mayhem of the main island coming back to peace and a local trattoria with no noise and a very friendly welcome, would come again. We have been before stayed on mainland and trained in, stayed in the middle, hot, noise, no sea. Stay here at least you have choice. Swim or sights and or both. And if you want to go to Venice Film Festival the stunning film theatre is 500 mtrs along the beach.

Getting from Airport, Alilaguna waterbus direct to Lido expensive , bus to Pl d Roma (every 20) then 1(slow as hell) 2( better) 5.1 best look for lido on illuminated board, but DONT do 1 unless you want a hour being bashed and squeezed with endless stops to to to Lido. Line 6 if fastest but only goes each 20 mins.
Link to ferries if it will let me. If you don't buy a travel pass easily found at airport for no hassle jump on and off anything you need to go elsewhere... Or spend a fortune on hourly tickets

http://www.actv.it/sites/default/files/orario%20%20DAL%2025%20MAGGIO%20AL%203%20NOV%202013_del%2029%20maggio%202(1).pdf

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The location was good as it was out of the hustle of the city, and the prices, but close enough that you can be in San Marco in 30 minutes. The room was spotless and staff friendly. Breakfast is very basic and we didn't really bother with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattie_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked last minute and are very pleased with our choice.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, comfortable and in a good location. It is easy to reach via water bus and land bus with a stop just around the corner. We are here for a week so paid 50 euros to use unlimited water and land buses to go anywhere around Venice and the lido. You can pay for each journey, 24 hour or 72 hour tickets. You are best to purchase one for the duration of your stay as it works out cheaper. Remember to validate your travel tickets on every trip by swiping next to the machines or you could face a fine.

We love staying on the lido as you get the peace and beaches to relax while the hussle and bussle of Venice is 10 mins and a couple of euros away.

The hotel caters very well for disabled guests with a lift to all floors and accessible bathrooms. The bedrooms are large enough to get a wheelchair about with no problems. The raised toilet seat, shower stool, hand rails and emergency cords are all kept clean and of good quality.

The shower is amazing! Even on the third floor the pressure was fantastic. The room was large with a balcony and air con.

The staff have been very welcoming and gave us a map on arrival pointing out all the attractions, local eateries and buses to catch to each place. They even helped us with a travel adaptor when we had forgotten ours.

Breakfast is what you would expect for the continent. Whilst basic consisting of two types of cereal, croissants, bread, ham, cheese, jam, spread, chocolate spread, juice and a type of biscuit toast it is everything you need.

After reading other reviews we thought it would be bad but there was staff there to replenish and help bring out anything that wasn't there at the time. If there was anything you needed they would go and get it.

I think some travellers forget the power of communication when on holiday reading some of the reviews. We found if we asked for anything they did as much as they could to help. All the staff speak very good English and were very patient with our poor efforts of Italian.

The hotel is close to a nice restaurant which is ideal for those nights you don't want the hassle of main Venice. It overlooks the sea and is reasonably priced.

There is also a local supermarket just down the road which is ideal for collecting supplies for the day. Just make sure you weigh your fruit before going to the checkout!

I would say this is more of a 3 star hotel than two and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo79jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

i really like this hotel . the only thing it was negative for me was the location ...a bit far from everything but at the same time with very good acess by bus ....
in the end i will reccomend to anyone ...thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank fatima g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This hotel was chosen for it's location on the lido (10 minutes by waterbus from st marks square) and it's reasonable price. The rooms are, like most venice hotels, not 'plush' instead being cool and airy with minimalist fixtures and fittings. The marble floors and large windows were definitely brilliant in the high temperatures we had.Bed was comfy and the staff were accomodating. The room was big and we had a balcony. The beach and lagoon are eahc a 5 minute walk the the nearest bus stop to the water taxi stop is a minute away.
Breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard and everything was clean. The bathroom fixtures were a little dated and needed a bit of minor repair but all worked ok.
Nice quiet location and fits the bill if you want a reasonable price for Venice. (24 hour public transport tickets including vaporattos are about 20 euro so factor this in the cost!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting Venise. Prices on Lido are FAR cheaper than on mainland Venise and the seaside atmosphere of Lido is very enjoyable after a busy day out. We will definitely stay on Lido again but preferably closer to the centre and vaporettos as bus is required to reach this hotel (free if you have the bus/vapo pass). As mentioned in previous reviews, there are VERY limited smiles (if any) at the reception, and NONE from the (non Italian?) breakfast waitress we had. But we could put up with that for the price paid (90eur/room/night incl (lousy) breakfast). So, if you find hotel closer to centre for same price or cheaper, go there. If not, this is OK!
If you're looking for somewhere to eat in the evening, we HIGHLY recommend a little place close to the hotel, La Rotonda, Pizze e Cucina. We let the owner choose our dishes (we wanted to taste local specialities) and everything was de-li-cious ;P Tell him the place was recommended to you by the 'Europa group' (he nicknamed us so due to the various nationalities in our group ;0), and he may offer you a drink!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.1 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petit Palais
Hotel Petit Palais
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
Ca' del Moro Foresteria
#24 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#5 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#10 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorriso

Property: Hotel Sorriso
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo Lido 22 | Venice Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sorriso 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sorriso set on Venice Lido, is an excellent choice if you wish to combine Venetian history and art with a relaxing seaside vacation.This family-run hotel has recently been totally refurbished and offers bright and comfortable guest rooms. It has its own private beach area with umbrellas available on request, special prices are also provided for the guests at the Golf Club and Tennis Club of the island. Located in a relaxing and green area between amazing sunrises on the sea and stunning sundek on the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sorriso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sorriso Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing