We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Petit Palais
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked this hotel for my wife's 50th and went with friends. The Hotel was fine it was clean and the rooms good. Our friends changed rooms as the rooms to the rear of the hotel have some pillars in them and made them feel very small. We had room 303 and our friends had 308, which were on the top floor and had great sea views. We had a small balcony. Breakfast was very good choice and the staff very good. The hotel reception staff where very helpful, particularly Nicolas. They helped me choose a good restaurant in Venice to go to celebrate my wife's 50th called Bancogiro. The food was great but was quite pricey. Another good place to eat out on the Lido is the hotel Villa Laguna. Go and have a meal here and enjoy the best sunset of Venice you will get, again great food and staff excellent, we went here twice.
The hotel enjoys the beach right in front of it and would recommend this hotel and will go back. The Lido is a great place to stay and do day trips into Venice from and come back in the afternoon and just relaxed on the beach and plan your evening out or back into Venice.
The Excelsior hotel next door go and have cocktails there and enjoy the band on the terrace average of 65 euros for 4 cocktails but well worth it. The good bit for me was my wife had no clue about this holiday until we got to Gatwick so it was important to me it was a good hotel I had picked and it sure was. Also booked a private water Taxi from the airport to the hotel a great way to arrive.
Going around the island and to and from Venice buy a 7 day pass. This covers unlimited travel on the bus and water bus to from Venice 50 Euros, great value and there are buses about every 10min and water bus the same depending on where you are going.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bri123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

Me and my wife had been married for 30 years so we did invite our kids and their husband and wife to a trip to Venice. We did stay a week at Hotel Petit Palais.
I must say it was a very lovely hotel and the staff was very kind and friendly.
We enjoy this hotel and gives it our best recomendations

Sven and family from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ake53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The hotel is right on the beach in the Lido. It is modern and very clean. The beds are huge and the inclusive continental breakfast was full of choice. The lido is such a lovely contrast to the hustle of Venice. We alternated between days in Venice and days on the Lido. We had fabulous weather and just chilled out on the beach days. It was so peaceful. There's a gym next door to the hotel so you hear a little music from the dance studio, but it wasn't distracting for us. This hotel is highly recommended.

We got an Alilaguna water taxi directly from Marco Polo airport to the Lido and it took under an hour. We then walked to the hotel as we only had small hand luggage cases. It took us about 20 minutes. Although there is a very regular bus that goes up and down the main lido roads if you don't want to walk or can't walk too far. Or you can hire a bike for two!

The vaporetto from the Lido is regular and takes you to several islands or you can just go directly across to San Marco. A fabulously relaxing time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Hotel is situated about 5minutes by bus outside Lido centre. Bus tickets and water taxi tickets must be purchased at any news agent type shop and cost 18euros for a 24hr ticket. We took a taxi to our hotel as we did not know this information until we were told by the receptionist at the hotel. Taxi cost 10euros.
The hotel is next to the beach which was lovely and would be even more lovely if it was warm weather. It was very cold and windy whilst we were in Venice and it even snowed on our last day! so beware if you are visiting at the beginning of March.
The hotel receptionist greeted us when we arrived and he was very friendly and smiley. He was also very helpful, he gave us a map of Venice and talked us through the areas he thought would be of interest for us to visit as we told him it was our first time in Venice. He also told us which bus to get into lido centre and water taxi times, bus times etc so very helpful gentleman. Our room was a good size and everything we needed i.e extra pillows, bed covers, plenty towels, mini bar and plenty coat hangers in the wardrobe. We even had a small balcony. Only problem we had was there was only 1 plug socket in our room so we had to take it in turns to charge our mobile phones. Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and waitress was very friendly. I would deffinatley visit this hotel again prehaps in summer next time so we can take advantage of the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbydabbydoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a tour we took of Italy. The hotel was fairly clean but our room had a terrible smell coming out of the bathroom....almost like a sewer smell. IT got worse on our second night. The other issues were the power kept going out and the staff was unfriendly and it almost seemed as if it was a burden to have our group there. On the upside, we did have a nice view of the ocean. The location is on the lido and it was quiet but there was really nothing to do over there and no where to eat so once you got there you were pretty much trapped unless you wanted to walk a ways to get a meal. If we ever visited Venice again, this is NOT a place I would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriAmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Hotel Petit Palais is a good option if you can get a good deal and do not want to pay the high hotel prices on the main island. We booked a standard double room directly on the hotel's own website for 75 euros a night which compared very well with Venice hotels even taking into consideration the cost of a travel pass. The hotel is literally 20 minutes from St. Mark's Square. The vaperetto number 1 runs every 10 minutes and there is always a bus waiting at the boat station ready to board for the 5 minute bus ride to the hotel. From the bus stop there is a three minute walk.

I had been concerned to read in a previous post that the hotel has been known to bump guests to another hotel. I, therefore, emailed the hotel a week before to make sure that this would not happen to us and was assured that our room would be available. And this was the case. However, on entering the room allocated (108), I was upset to find that the full length windows were frosted over so that it was not possible to see out. On opening the full length window/door, we found it opened out onto a 12 inch drop onto the street with no balcony or parapet. This meant that to open the window to see out gave an open invitation to anyone passing by to step up into the room. With the windows completed frosted over and it not being safe to open them, this had the effect of being in a windowless room.

I immediately returned to reception to ask to change rooms, but was told that all the rooms had been allocated and it was not possible to change. However, the receptionist said that a large group would be checking out the next morning and promised to move us then. At 8.00 a.m. the next morning, we spoke to the new receptionist on duty who had already been notified by his colleague and promised to move our luggage to a room on the third floor with a balcony later that day. When we returned to the hotel late that night, this had been done. The new room was much better with proper windows and a balcony.

I mention this to first of all alert people to the fact that of the 26 rooms in the hotel, two or three at the front of the hotel on the lower floor, are rooms which do not have propery functioning windows - i.e. that you can see out of and open. However, the rest of the rooms in the hotel are good. The bedrooms have modern decor, comfortable beds and are very clean.

The common areas - reception and bar/dining room are also quite stylish and comfortable.

Breakfast is nothing to look forward to. As far as the hot food stored in a bain marie is concerned, it is better not even to open the lid. There is, however, a good supply of cereal, rolls, jam, cheese, ham, crossants and yoghurt. The butter seemed to be rancid, but there is also butter substitute. There is also plenty of coffee and tea, but the coffee was horrible and appeared to be instant (!).

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. When we had difficulty understanding how the air-conditioning worked a maintenance man was sent up to us without delay.

The locality is quite pleasant and safe. It is a quiet hotel at night. There is a good restaurant just three minutes walk away called Tiziano, but there is more choice of restaurants near to the boat station.

Unlike a previous reviewer, I did not find the beach 'way ugly'. I thought it was a pleasant beach and enjoyed walking a good way along it. The sea is a little murky, but we are Irish and used to this. In fact this part of the Adriatic reminded me of a warm version of the Irish Sea.

All in all, this hotel is good value for money if you can get the sort of price that we paid.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank irishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Six of us booked the hotel 6 months in advance and the day before arrival they send us an email that they have no rooms for us. We already paid for it. We were in transit and they could not get a hold of us. Bit of a nightmare right? Seems like the Hotel Manager never wanted to show himself and his staff had to explain to us that we had a choice of staying at their other lower grade hotel for a cheaper rate or we would have to find one that equated to a lesser quality hotel which they would cover with our money. Well, we arrived at night so not much we could do there. We spent one night at the sister rec center version hotel and another night at Hotel Petit Palais. If you are American, you chance being bumped by obviously more important guests.

General info--Hotel is about 75 yards away from Lido Public bus system just outside Tabac shop. Ride the bus to a public ferry system that circles Venice in either direction. Hotel is nice and breakfast is still very good even by American standards. Beach was way ugly and lots of trash in sea and water not even clear. Lots of clam shell waste. Beach was just opening up and Excelsior controls it. Lido is nice and can be romantic without the fuss of hotel swaps. Just call to confirm before you arrive that you still have your room!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustTheRealFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
1.0 mi away
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungari...
#3 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Venice
Hotel Excelsior Venice
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
971 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
839 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Biasutti Hotel
Biasutti Hotel
#17 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petit Palais

Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 54, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range: £77 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palais Hotel Petit Palais rises from a modern-looking building with facades made of travertine marble. It's situated in Venetian Lido, the island which divides the Sea (on which the Hotel overlooks) from the Lagoon. Beyond this, it's only 15 minutes by boat far from Piazza San Marco, the Center of Venice and 1 minute by walk far from the 'Mostra Internazionale del Cinema di Venezia'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Hotel
Hotel Petit Palais Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing