We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the worst hotel.”
Review of Hotel Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Petit Palais
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely the worst hotel.”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It is not easy to write a negative review but the Hotel Petit Palais leaves one with no choice. It is absolutely the worst hotel we could have chosen. The rooms are small and dirty (we have photographs of the room we stayed in with stains on the carpets and walls and dirty dirty bathrooms). The heating in the room does not work at all. We were forced to sleep with 5 blankets and our woolens despite the heater in the room functioning at it full strength. The breakfast is horrible. The bread is just reheated and served every morning. All the fruits are canned and taste incredibly synthetic and artificial. And the cheese is just of one sort every morning and that too very ordinary and tasteless - in Italy, the land of the greatest cheeses at that. The juice is also from some can and totally inedible because of how sour it is - honestly we have never tasted such a horrible breakfast anywhere in Europe. The staff is unfriendly and unreasonable. When we asked for our room to be changed because of how dirty the room given to us was, one of the directors of the hotel, who also sits at the front desk (due to shortage of manpower at the hotel apparently), showed little interest in helping us out. He kept staring at his computer and showed no inclination to sort out our problem at all. Their attitude, on top of the horrible state of their rooms and the hotel makes us certain never to return here. The hotel does not operate through the year, we were told, and only opens during peak season. We were there during the Carnevale and the rooms all had a stale, musty smell (we checked 5 rooms before finally taking ours). Maybe due to the fact that they have very low occupancy, they do not bother to take care of their hotel in the manner they should. Also, wifi is not free. And, please do not trust the photographs of the hotel you see on their website. They have obviously been taken by a very talented photographer. This is an old hotel with just some very surface level changes attempting to pass off as a very modern, boutique hotel. All in all, it was a very sad experience, every one of the 5 days we stayed here. And to think, we were on our honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnimalLover111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    115
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
180
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Venice Is a Place that one should make a point to visit as the buildings and history behind it all is very interesting.

Because Of this there are so many visitors and this naturally drives up demand n prices. So......Lido, one of the other islands close to Venice is a good option.

Petit palais is a 5minute bus ride from terminal at Lido. Not the greatest location, but it beats paying 300-400 a night in Venice for a mid range hotel similar to it.

If visiting in summer it would be a good option for sure. Right next to beach.

Good breakfast, attentive staff. But no free wireless. Got first hour free only. After it was 7 euros for 5 hours. Most hotels now provide it free. Seemed a bit cheesy to charge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great location with easy access by bus! Really yummy breakfast included with stay that included bacon, eggs and delicious Greek yogurt with fruit! We were two of the three people staying in the hotel at the time and were given a huge upgrade to an amazing room with panoramic views! Cannot say anything about the beach as we went when it was colder out, but the water views are so peaceful! The man at the front desk was super helpful too, giving us information on places to eat etc. Would love to be back there now! Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mircam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

great hotel nice clean rooms it was just as described by people who had stayed there good breakfast with plenty of choice friendly staff that were very helpful great location easy for the local bus service for the water busses we would stay there again we had a great time

Room Tip: we had room 304 a nice view of the sea from the balcony very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me-and-errrrrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We did not choose this hotel but were transferred there by the Hotel Ca del Moro because of water problems following a storm. Our room was on the ground floor facing on to a wall and side entrance. Hence the all brown furnishings made it rather dark but it was comfortable and adequate for our requirements as we were only staying 2 days and did not spend much time in the room. Check-in was fine and the staff very friendly. The free wi-fi worked well in the room - the log-in details are printed on a docket. The bathroom was fine and the safe was efficient. The breakfast room was bright and airy and the food OK.
However we did have one complaint. When we returned to the room following our day out in Venice it was unbearably hot, stuffy and airless. The AC only issued hot air and the electric shutters had been closed tightly. We felt like prisoners and had to throw open all the windows for quite a while to get some breathable air. Reception merely responded that their clients only like hot air at that time of year (mid October and the weather was balmy). We asked that the shutters be left open for the following evening but this was ignored for a repeat performance. This was unacceptable and we would not stay there again for that reason.

Room Tip: Don't accept 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noddy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just spent two weeks at the Petit Palais. Our family were staying at the Excelsior nearby and so we were just a short walk away. The rooms are well equipped, clean and modern. Our first room felt too small to spend two weeks in so we upgraded to a superior which was much larger and had a balcony overlooking the beach. Well worth the extra 30 euros a day. The breakfast is excellent. A good cold buffet with scrambled eggs and bacon as a hot option. The very nice ladies that ran breakfast remembered our coffee order on the first day and made it for us before we asked every day after that, a really nice touch. My husband arrived with a chest problem and the reception got a doctor straight away for us when we asked. There is a bus stop just near the hotel which takes you into the town centre for 2.50 euros. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return next summer.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Petit Palais on our honeymoon in Venice.
The hotel is on the island Lido, and is situated next to the beautiful, quiet, clean and private beach. Our room on the third floor had beach view, and was nothing but perfect.
Breakfast was also great, lots of different choices, both italian and european.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petit Palais

Property: Hotel Petit Palais
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 54, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palais Hotel Petit Palais rises from a modern-looking building with facades made of travertine marble. It's situated in Venetian Lido, the island which divides the Sea (on which the Hotel overlooks) from the Lagoon. Beyond this, it's only 15 minutes by boat far from Piazza San Marco, the Center of Venice and 1 minute by walk far from the 'Mostra Internazionale del Cinema di Venezia'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Hotel
Hotel Petit Palais Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing