We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, discreet and friendly service, great holiday location.”
Review of Hotel Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Petit Palais
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good room, discreet and friendly service, great holiday location.”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with business style rooms. Building is not very promising but the entrance already shows owners were trying to create something modern and simple. We got a famous 306 room and I can't complain, but it was on the small side and very simple so it makes me think what less 'luxurious' rooms are like. I agree with other travellers that view is not that great but I believe it is because of the season. I saw the works on the beach and huts look not the best from the top (sand?) but I always think that if it was sunny and I could actually spend some time on the beach, I would be in heaven. I think it is very good idea to stay there when going to Venice because transport is ridiculously simple yet being away from very touristy town and enjoying the village feel of the area is a bless. We went for four days so only 2 of them we spent in Venice. One day we rented bicycles and went to both ends of lido stopping for refreshments in the local trattorias. It was really relaxing and fun. Everything is very close, there are 2 bus stops around hotel from where you can get to the main mall and the vaporetto stop. We tried 4 restaurants and they were all very good. If there was one thing I would change I would probably buy a pass for 10 trips instead of buying a 3 day travel card - I think it was unnecessary. Once you go to Venice you can walk everywhere so the ticket is just to take you to the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends but only those who need a reasonably priced room and great service, not the ones looking to be surprised and amazed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    115
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
180
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

The room is nice with a balcony and is modern. Location is good can walk or catch bus. The only downfall was the beach was a construction site and could not sit on beach but we still walked on the shore. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thuhela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel has been very nicely presented on the internet. With new fresh looking rooms and a general air of being a friendly, attractive place. The reality is very different. The owners of the hotel sit at the front desk often, due to lack of staff, and are absolutely the most rude people you could hope to imagine. The rooms of the hotel, except probably the one or two of the most expensive rooms advertised on their site, are dirty. This hotel does not function through the year due to lack of occupancy and when we visited it, it had only recently re opened for the season. The rooms were musty with a strange smell, and very very cold. The heating works well only in a few rooms(if anywhere). For the rest you have make sure you sleep with a couple of layers of woollen on. The breakfast is strictly average. Everything is canned and so tastes synthetic. There are no warm dishes. The wi fi is charged. And the connection is not always stable. Also the location is wonderful, being right on the beach (the only thing working in favor of this hotel), but it is very far away from Venice itself. If your intended destination is Venice and not Lido, then this is definitely not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms are a mess. Don't even consider accepting those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfiniteOceanFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel was just OK. We went during carnivale, so our hotel choices were limited. This hotel is definitely a SUMMER hotel -- not a winter!! It is right on the beach. We could see all of the cabanas temporarily set up next to the hotel. Would be nice during the summer to go for a swim!
The location is alright. From the main island, this location is easily 30 minutes away. You have to take a water bus from the train station to Lido. This bus takes 40 minutes. (By the way, if you have large luggage, this is quite a journey with the amount of people on the tiny water bus) Also, consider buying the water bus passes to save yourself some money! From Lido's stop, you can either pay 2.50 one way for a bus to take you to the hotel, or you can walk 20 minutes to the hotel.The walk isn't horrible. Lido is a nice area, but there is nothing to do there. It is mostly residential. But again, if you are there in the Summer or Spring, it would be ideal because the beach is right there!
The hotel staff were indifferent. They made no additional effort to ensure that our stay was ideal. We had to leave our key with the front desk every time we left. When we return they would merely give us our key without saying anything.
We were lucky to book online because wi-fi is not free with this hotel. If you book on their website, you get free wi-fi in the room -- which is normall 6 euro an hour!
The breakfast was fine. They give you a free latte, coffee, tea or whatever drink you want which was nice. Nice selection of cheeses, breads and cereal.
Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because the location was such a drag! It would be a commitment to go to the main island because you knew it would be 30 - 40 minute commute just to get to where you want to go. The staff was nothing special. The rooms were perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torid112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It is not easy to write a negative review but the Hotel Petit Palais leaves one with no choice. It is absolutely the worst hotel we could have chosen. The rooms are small and dirty (we have photographs of the room we stayed in with stains on the carpets and walls and dirty dirty bathrooms). The heating in the room does not work at all. We were forced to sleep with 5 blankets and our woolens despite the heater in the room functioning at it full strength. The breakfast is horrible. The bread is just reheated and served every morning. All the fruits are canned and taste incredibly synthetic and artificial. And the cheese is just of one sort every morning and that too very ordinary and tasteless - in Italy, the land of the greatest cheeses at that. The juice is also from some can and totally inedible because of how sour it is - honestly we have never tasted such a horrible breakfast anywhere in Europe. The staff is unfriendly and unreasonable. When we asked for our room to be changed because of how dirty the room given to us was, one of the directors of the hotel, who also sits at the front desk (due to shortage of manpower at the hotel apparently), showed little interest in helping us out. He kept staring at his computer and showed no inclination to sort out our problem at all. Their attitude, on top of the horrible state of their rooms and the hotel makes us certain never to return here. The hotel does not operate through the year, we were told, and only opens during peak season. We were there during the Carnevale and the rooms all had a stale, musty smell (we checked 5 rooms before finally taking ours). Maybe due to the fact that they have very low occupancy, they do not bother to take care of their hotel in the manner they should. Also, wifi is not free. And, please do not trust the photographs of the hotel you see on their website. They have obviously been taken by a very talented photographer. This is an old hotel with just some very surface level changes attempting to pass off as a very modern, boutique hotel. All in all, it was a very sad experience, every one of the 5 days we stayed here. And to think, we were on our honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnimalLover111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Venice Is a Place that one should make a point to visit as the buildings and history behind it all is very interesting.

Because Of this there are so many visitors and this naturally drives up demand n prices. So......Lido, one of the other islands close to Venice is a good option.

Petit palais is a 5minute bus ride from terminal at Lido. Not the greatest location, but it beats paying 300-400 a night in Venice for a mid range hotel similar to it.

If visiting in summer it would be a good option for sure. Right next to beach.

Good breakfast, attentive staff. But no free wireless. Got first hour free only. After it was 7 euros for 5 hours. Most hotels now provide it free. Seemed a bit cheesy to charge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Great location with easy access by bus! Really yummy breakfast included with stay that included bacon, eggs and delicious Greek yogurt with fruit! We were two of the three people staying in the hotel at the time and were given a huge upgrade to an amazing room with panoramic views! Cannot say anything about the beach as we went when it was colder out, but the water views are so peaceful! The man at the front desk was super helpful too, giving us information on places to eat etc. Would love to be back there now! Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mircam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido di Venezia hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ville del Lido
Residence Le Ville del Lido
#1 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#11 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pannonia
Hotel Villa Pannonia
#4 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
Venezia 2000 Hotel & Residence
#6 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russo Palace Hotel
Russo Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Lido di Venezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petit Palais

Property: Hotel Petit Palais
Address: Lungomare Guglielmo Marconi 54, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palais Hotel Petit Palais rises from a modern-looking building with facades made of travertine marble. It's situated in Venetian Lido, the island which divides the Sea (on which the Hotel overlooks) from the Lagoon. Beyond this, it's only 15 minutes by boat far from Piazza San Marco, the Center of Venice and 1 minute by walk far from the 'Mostra Internazionale del Cinema di Venezia'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palais Hotel
Hotel Petit Palais Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing