We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camari Garden Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here in September and what a fantastic two weeks we had. Accommodation is to a good standard and very clean. Two pools and could always get a sun bed round the pool no matter what time you arrived. Food in the hotel is great value for money and all the staff and family who work in the complex can not do enough for you and made our stay most enjoyable . Already looking to go back as it was the most relaxing break we have ever had

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Camari Garden Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second year here and we were not disappointed yet again, the family can't do enough for you. It was so peaceful and relaxing just what the doctor ordered. Spotless and they looked after us well. Someone said to us it was like Groundhog Day, all the faces we seen last year it's great. Met some more new faces this year and they all made our holiday. See you next year x

Room Tip: Hire a car if you want to tour.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ail43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My partner and i stayed here back in July and it was amazing!!

The hotel staff (all one big family) are all so lovely. Any questions you have they are happy to help. Free raki was given to us from the guys behind the bar most nights we were there.

We're not usually the kinda people to sit in the hotel bar but with a view like that, cheap beers and food (which was delish!!) and a generally nice atmosphere we found ourselves in there quite a lot.

The only downside was the location.. Well, not really the location, but the lack of transportation from local bus firms.. You would do well to hire a car if you're staying here. We didn't but still had an amazing stay.

Cant fault it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faerycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned today and found owners really lovely and pleasant , no complaints re cleanliness/ facilities in the spacious apartment etc - loved the tavern at the bottom of the hill and the village up the hill. Great to be so near to Rethymnon and had no problems with the local buses . Was very pleased that our room was at the back of the complex as felt a bit quieter and bit more authentic as, like another reviewer , prefer hearing cockerel noise to the bar !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was my first time in Crete or anything greek at all. So I was expecting basic, which is ok for me as long as it's clean. I leave it up to you to judge if holes in the showercurtain, towels and bedding are clean or not. To me, the appartement was ok, but it's all a bit outdated.
The beds were very hard and we got an airbed from the pool one night, just to have a good sleep. Our balcony was near the pool, which was good to have a swim first thing in the morning to loosen up our backs. Not sure, if it's local regulations, but we only had one exit, which was the front door. The hotel information mentiones a start pack (washing up liquid, ...), which we couldn't find, but after asking about it, they were not available anymore. The bar and restaurant is in a great location and very cosy and like it is mentioned in many reviews, the pools and all around is very clean and wel maintained. The village is a few minutes walk from the hotel with a lovely restaurant, which is called Staras, absolutly beautiful! I would recommend hiring a scooter in Rethymnon for 20euro a day (full tank is 8euro) insurance and helmets included. It's a great way to go around. On our routes, we discovered a fresh water lake, lovely villages, a place with natural springs, ... Crete is lovely and the people are very friendly. The day before we left, we had post from the hotel, with information about Crete, things to see and days out, which was a bit late for us as we discovered it our way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svanbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Spent a week at the Camari Gdns and my only regret was that it should have been 2 weeks. The apartment wasn't the best furnished or elegantly decorated, but it was spacious and clean. The staff dealt with any complaints promptly and really couldn't do enough to ensure comfort. It was the most friendly resort I've stayed in and several of the guests knew each other, having stayed there on many occasions - one couple had been holidaying there for 20 years! The location is so interesting, with a quaint village uphill where there was a great bakery and a couple of really good restaurants. There was a unique Taverna downhill which has a small beach and serves great fish.
Hiring a car would help but local buses are within easy reach and the main town is only 15 mins away.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: "Sea view"/higher floor rooms had a better view and would feel safer when windows are open...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug061949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Yep, its best if you do stay here to hire a car- but several people who I spoke to when staying here didn't bother. There is a regular bus service to get you into the city and back. 15 minutes into the city either by car/taxi- or bus.
It is about 3 miles out of Rethimnon.- (an hours drive from Chania airport- 2 hours from Heraklion airport). The Hotel sits on one side of a ravine, in the village of Gerani, a small village- quaint sums up its location. As its away from the National Road (Cretes equivalent of the M1) the road is just visible, but no traffic noise. It makes Camari Gardens easy to get to and from.
The rooms are spacious, clean, well equipped-small cooking rings, fridge-with small ice box.Bedrooms are well cared for- the paint work is immaculate. Each bedroom has a balcony- most have a sea view.-
24hr reception- and the owners know their clients- many having been staying three for their holidays for years. (alot of people re book whilst staying at the Camari for next year!!!)
The staff speak English, and their is a feel of "being looked after,- not just a number".
The hotel does have its own shop- there are all essentials sold, from milk, eggs, fresh bread, meats/fish, fruit, veg. canned foods--beans, peas....etc. (most prices compare well with the bigger out lets
The restaurant is open from early A.M to late....same with the bar. Either eat at the Camari, or have walk "up to the village"...the tavernas nearby are small and friendly.
Two swimming pools- and a shallow "toddler pool?".Loads of sun beds, and a large pool deck. Plenty of space, and good views.
The hotel ,when my wife and I have stayed here (just returned from our fifth stay) does not attract any specific "type" of holiday maker....couples, singles, families', older folk, and younger people mingle. There are no "hotel events" and no particular need to dress up. Its a place to feel comfortable , relax, and just enjoy.
Even so, the days go by quickly- as I write, am making plans to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a "sea view"
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
4.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
636 reviews
8.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
54.4 mi away
Paradise Island Villas
Paradise Island Villas
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
559 reviews
4.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
557 reviews
28.8 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camari Garden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camari Garden Apartments

Address: Gerani, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range: £15 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camari Garden Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this idyllic spot of Crete, just 6km west of Rethymnon, you will find the family owned Camari Garden Hotel. A modern complex of apartments with Greek, neo-classic elements in its architecture, overlooking the Cretan sea. This peaceful, village-like hotel, with its 66 apartments and studios, the comfortable and relaxing environment offers an ideal destination for families and couples. A cozy escape from the problems and worries of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camari Garden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Gerani
Camari Garden Apartments Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing