We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet out of the way apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camari Garden Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We booked week away last minute for hubby, myself and two young adult children (20/22). Didn't know what to expect but place grew on us. We felt mis-sold the holiday as not delivered what promised but staff made up for what was missing. We were promised weekly entertainment programme - there wasn't one - we flew 31st August. It claims to be self-catering - we had a fridge and two electric hot plates !!! Food at the restaurant was lovely and the local village up the hill had two brilliant little tavernas plus two good supermarkets. We would go again and recommend but don't expect to self cater. Local beach not brilliant - get taxi into Rethyminon for 10Euro. Brill library of paperbacks to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

Just returned from a 2 week stay in the Camari Garden and I would highly recommend it to anybody that's considering it. We stayed in a studio apartment but it was so spacious it was wonderful. The place is spotlessly clean and freshly painted throughout and the family are so helpful and friendly. It is in a remote position and I would recommend hiring a car for a few days if you want to get further afield but everything you need for a totally relaxing holiday is on site or in the nearby village just a 10 minute walk away. I've always been amused by people who stay at the same hotel every year but I can honestly say, that if I ever end up that way inclined, the Camari Garden would be the place I'd go. I actually met quite a few people who already do so including a nice couple who have been staying for 17 years.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed for a week at this hotel and had a great time (family of five - two adults, three kids ages 12 to 18). Probably the best thing about the hotel is the staff - they were all really friendly and very helpful. It wasn't too crowded, even in August, so getting a sunbed or space in the pool was never a problem for us.

The hotel has a restaurant, which was perfectly decent but don't expect gourmet quality. However, they were happy to rustle up some food for us despite arriving very late (after 11.00pm) on the first night. The restaurant provides breakfast if you go for the B&B option, but it's fairly basic and you can pay as you go if you don't pre-book breakfast (the price is the same). On reflection, we wished we'd not prebooked breakfast so that we could have had more flexibility. Vegetarian options on the menu are sparse, but that was a bit of a problem on the whole island.

Top tips:
* we had a hire car, which is very useful as the hotel is a few miles outside of the nearest city Rethymnon. Finding the hotel in the dark on the first night was a bit of a problem as it's not signposted from the main E75 road. Get good directions before you go.

* take lots of cash or be prepared to find ATM's - many places in Crete, including the hotel, have stopped taking credit/debit cards. This caught us out a bit. The nearest ATM to the hotel is in Rethymnon

* try the scuba diving day at Paradise Dive Centre. 79 EUR per person for the day, but you get excellent instruction, a snokelling swim, training in the pool and a scuba dive in the sea. Plus they collect you from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ephemerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The place is clean, has two nice pools. the appartments are good size. Their are lovely places you can visit but you need a car to get around from these apartments with chidren as the walk to what they call a rocky cove to be very poor. I would off thought when you stay here as it self catering to provide a kettle and a toaster but they dont. The beds are very hard fine if thats what you like

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank archer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

A lovely setting
Nice people
Surrounding areas are beautiful
Spotless clean and spacious apartments
However,
There are no notice boards, no information about the beaches, how to get around, things to do and so forth, you have to find it for yourselves.
Air con is so noisy that it keeps you awake all night (choice, the heat or the noise?)
Expensive to get about unless you take the bus (limited times to Rethymnon)
A bit too remote for an evening - nothing happening at all - I mean, nothing
A very long transfer (sort it yourselves and fly from Chania as it is only 1hr)

I would have loved this place if only it was close to other amenities - shops, bars, anything really and within walking distance of a beach.
For those who do not need any of this,then its fine.
The transfers are a drag, watch out! ours took 2 hours 40 minutes (you can be in Spain in less time!!!!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyChop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

May be I was unlucky with the selection of the room which they gave me, was on the ground floor looking the garden but when I saw the towel which had a hole and the air-condition was not working (luckily the air was nice and cool) then I decided that I was not unlucky but the service was poor. If you want to stay without paying much around €30-40 per night, then is fine but do not expect much. There are 2 swimming pools and most of the time full of people. I do not understand why people would travel all the way to Crete to stay by the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

A most helpful attentive family hotel. Situated a little out of the way which is why we went. Within 500yards of a typical Greek village with a number of descent eating places. Stayed for a month and used it as a base. Will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony02345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
55.6 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
260 reviews
41.3 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,846 reviews
58.5 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
28.8 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
439 reviews
53.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camari Garden Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camari Garden Hotel Apartments

Address: Gerani, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range: £14 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camari Garden Hotel Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this idyllic spot of Crete, just 6km west of Rethymnon, you will find the family owned Camari Garden Hotel. A modern complex of apartments with Greek, neo-classic elements in its architecture, overlooking the Cretan sea. This peaceful, village-like hotel, with its 60 apartments and studios, the comfortable and relaxing environment offers an ideal destination for families and couples. A cozy escape from the problems and worries of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camari Garden Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Gerani
Camari Garden Apartments Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Crete
Camari Garden Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing