We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best choise in Crete!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camari Garden Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best choise in Crete!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2007

We have been traveling a lot - to a lot of places, but the travel to Crete became special! Special because we came to Camari Garden! (We chose the hotel from all the recomandations on the internet, and was never dissappointed.)Never have we felt such warmth and hospitality as we did here. And this is because of the family - Angela, Alex, George, Nico, Manolis, (Angelas husband) and of cause, the rest of the staff. From the first minute we felt like we were special. There was always a family-member or others from the staff to ensure that we were ok and that all our needs were complete.
The hotel restaurant was great! We usually like to try different restaurants every night, but we ate at the hotel restaurant most nights. No wonder the food is great, we have seen the "smiling cook". He definately loves his job! And the service is personal and charming! We loved it when George sat down by our table because we couldn't decide what to eat. The Greec evening is highly recomanded! All the work that is done by the staff to make a wonderful outdoor experience by the poolside. We love dancing with sweat greecs and make the band "play one more" so we could dance even more.
We even became a part of a big family-event. The birthday of George's son. All the hotelguests were treated with birtday-cake and Greec specialities.
We also like to emphasize that this hotel is highly recomanded due to the cleanlyness of the room, pools and all other areas!
The family of Camari has definatly found the key to make the special atmosphere for their guests!
When we left Camari Garden it was like leaving family! Our Greec family!

"We'll be back!" All the way from Norway!

  • Liked — Nice & clean rooms. Nice pool- & bararea. Perfect service!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TunaFishNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    113
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
146
202
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

My family of 4 stayed at Camari Garden Apartments for 1 night in September. We arrived in Heraklion by ferry in the late afternoon, and wanted to stay somewhere midway between Heraklion and Chania. We booked the hotel on Expedia the night before.

On arrival, the "super friendly" staff mentioned in previous reviews were tired and grumpy. They demanded a "voucher", which of course Expedia does not provide, and when I mentioned this there was much disgruntled looks and more tired/exausted expression. Fortunately we had written down the booking number from online, so we were able to stay the night.

The room was horrible. Basically like staying in a camp. Essentially nothing on the walls made the room sterile and unappealing. A sad ancient hotplate rested on the counter. The apartment was located right on the road, so car and motorcycle noise was loud. The beds were the worst we experienced in 2 weeks in Greece.

Several other negative notes. As mentioned in a recent review, the noise from a construction site across the street is unbelievable, and jackhammering begins early in the morning.. Although there is airconditioning, you have to pay extra to have it turned on. How cheap does it get?

On a lone good note, the restaurant on property is excellent. Great food, great staff, and reasonable price.

Personally, I'd eat at the Carmari Garden Hotel, but definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms were horrible
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank robpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn Lancs.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

We have been going to Camari for 4 years and always find it a place to recharge the batteries of life.
As with a lot of Camari reviews the family treat you as friends, the warmth is genuine and nothing is too much trouble - that is why lots of people we have met there have been before.
Holidays are meant to be remembered and I can honestly say they are when you come here.
The beaches west of Camari are very sandy and excellent for children and they can be reached by taxi - ordered in reception if you do not have a hire car.
If you want shopping and good places to eat then Rethymnon is a short taxi ride away - 8 euros only.
Camari is a little isolated but that is what you need if you want to chill.
The apartments are cleaned everyday except Sunday and the rooms are quite spacious - it is a good idea to take a travel kettle and maybe a sandwich toaster to make lunch, but the food at Camari is good anyway.
Try the village above Camari - walking up the hill takes a few minutes, but it is a typical Cretan village and the hospitality you receive is to be remembered especially the "Raki".
The family who own Camari - Alexis, Nikos, Angela and George certainly make you feel welcome and the warmth is genuine, nothing is too much trouble.
They are going to have additional internet facilities next year so the kids and parents can MSN their friends and tell them what a perfect holiday Camari is.
We , like many other can't wait to return to Camari soon.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackburnLancs_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

While yes, the host family are very accommodating and the accommodation is quite spacious. No-one seems to mention all the building work around the place. The views have been spoilt by a nearby new housing complex which has replaced a hill view and we were woken one morning with a hell of a racket from the building there.
I was disappointed with the setting, I don't want reminding of Crete's massive property development programme.
The hotel is very popular with returning guests which feels too home like for me.
Not my idea of a get away from it all holiday. Obviously suits others though.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location/views
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

Have recently returned from Camari Gardens - our third visit and already planning our next!. From the time you arrive, there is a family member on hand to help you. We find it is the ideal place to chill out as it is a few minutes from the nearest town, but at the same time is easily accessible. The family who run it make you feel at home and are always ready to help with advice on a range of subjects. The apartments are spacious and clean and most have a lovely view of the sea.The pool areas are well maintained and clean. Although it is a bit out of town it is not expensive to travel into Rethymnon( a few minutes away ) either by taxi or bus. If you decide to hire a car there is plenty of parking available. The restaurant/bar on site is excellent and reasonably priced with either Greek or UK food available. Although the apartments are self catering we find that we just eat at the restaurant or when out. There is a 'welcome pack' of essentials in your apartment when you arrive and is not expensive. There is a shop on site, but its also good to have a leisurely walk up the hill a bit to the village of Gerani where there are another couple of shops and also tavernas.The resort is built on a hill which means lovely views but anyone with a severe mobility problem may find the site difficult. Rethymnon is an interesting and friendly town and it is easy to spend a whole day there and still not see everything! All in all we would recommend staying here if you want a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Friendliness of family owners, food and relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Long transfer by bus if holiday package.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

My partner and i were the first to arrive at the hotel for the new 2007 season. The instant we arrived it felt like we had never left. The family are so welcoming it is as if they are inviting you to stay with them on a personal level. I have never stayed in a place like this before. It is unique and we cant wait to return at the end of the year. I have recommended this hotel to everybody i know. Young and old. There really is something for everyone at Camari Gardens.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2007

I have been going to Camari Gardens for the last 9 years, and go on holiday to relax,enjoy the sun,and have good company.

At Camari you get all this plus the added luxury of fantastic ,friendly staff and the locals are so welcoming. If you need any help Angela, Alexi,George and Nicos are always please to give it.
The room are cleaned daily except Sundays. Adequate if you wish to self cater.
Restuarant provides a range of English and Greek dishes which are reasonably priced.
Going back again in August and October.Can't wait.
So yes I think you can say that I can recommend Camari Gardens if you want a relaxng , friendly , laid back holiday.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank angela041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
56.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
28.8 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
26.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camari Garden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camari Garden Apartments

Property: Camari Garden Apartments
Address: Gerani, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camari Garden Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this idyllic spot of Crete, just 6km west of Rethymnon, you will find the family owned Camari Garden Hotel. A modern complex of apartments with Greek, neo-classic elements in its architecture, overlooking the Cretan sea. This peaceful, village-like hotel, with its 66 apartments and studios, the comfortable and relaxing environment offers an ideal destination for families and couples. A cozy escape from the problems and worries of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camari Garden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Gerani
Camari Garden Apartments Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Camari Garden Apartments Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing