We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhhhh.....keep this lake secret”
Review of Lake Pend Oreille

Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Hope
Attraction details
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shhhhhh.....keep this lake secret”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Gorgeous lake.....but you should try other lakes first (so we can have this to ourselves!). Warm, huge, clean and beautiful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WannaTravelNeedMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“amazing Lake!! Narrow access roads”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Clean warm lake that is really underused and excellent for boating and swimming! I was shocked to see how few boats were on the water on a Saturday afternoon.
The road around the lake from sandpoint to the vacation houses is very narrow and tight so we were glad we scoped out the road in just our vehicle before towing the boats all the way down the road only to learn the road was too tight to get the boat down! We launched at Sanpoint public launch and boated into the vacation rental.
There's also great day docks in Sandpoint for tying up to when shopping or grabbing a coffee at Starbucks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This Beauty Runs Deep”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Lake Pend Oreille (locally pronounced pon-da-ray) is one of the largest and most scenic inland lakes in the Northwest and reaches some 1,200 feet deep. Great recreation area for all types of watersports. The town of Sandpoint rests upon its shores and offers great dining, is a artists community, and for women interested in casual fashion, it is the home to Coldwater Creek clothiers. As a historical note, the lake was a naval training station during World War II, and where the US Navy prepared crews for nuclear submarine service. Another winter's landmark is nearby Schwitzer Mountain Ski Resort. In this area one can ski almost yearround.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d' Alene Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The lake is amazing, so big and beautiful the drive around the lake is a lot of fun and seeing the different sides of the lake is awesome..It is just a really amazing lake and love the towns surrounding it, lots of fun and lots to do outdoors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Massive Lake”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Come see for your self the grandure of this lake. A little annoying that there are "No Tresspassing " signs hanging everywhere, but I guess some folks wander onto other folks property and bother them. Sandpoint is the Town on the lake and is just as charming as can be. Bring your bicycle!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mauisron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Pend Oreille also viewed

 

Been to Lake Pend Oreille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing