We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've stayed here at least six times.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pend Oreille Shores Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We've stayed here at least six times.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here as a timeshare exchange, for a week each time. It is one of our favorite places to stay. The views, sunsets, and lake access are hard to beat. They are updating rooms, but some are a bit "tired" looking. Even so, they are very nice. There are laundry facilities, a complete kitchen, and a fireplace in each condo. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful. The Floating Restaurant, which we think is very good, is just a short walk. The resort has a small market, and there is another small market, a cafe, a gas station, and Sweet Lou's Restaurant, just down the road. It is a bit of a drive into Sandpoint, but you drive along the lake and it is a beautiful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I rely heavily on Tripadvisor reviews when planning trips, and this is the first time I was disappointed in a place that had received generally positive reviews. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
The one-bedroom apartment was small but immaculately clean, with a comfortable easy chair and a well-stocked galley kitchen.

The Floating Restaurant, which is next door (and not part of the resort) was the only positive part of our stay here. It was quiet and relaxed, and the staff were friendly and great with kids. My family enjoyed the food, the beautiful lake views, and the sunsets.

Cons were pretty much everything else:

Facility:
This is not a true "resort." Other than a small, unattractive playground, there are no grounds where kids can play. The units are set right off the main road, with only a small strip of grass and bushes between each building and its parking lot. A small indoor pool, a ping-pong table, and a collection of old VHS tapes to play in the unit were all we found to do here. We had hoped to rent bikes from the office, but we couldn't find bikes that had working brakes. And the straps on the one helmet that fit my son were broken.

Setting:
This place is on the lake, but there is no beach, and so no way to enjoy the lake from the property. Our unit was supposed to have a partial view of the lake, but we could see at most a few inches of "view" between the other buildings. The only units that look as if they would have any kind of view are those that are right next to the water.

The train tracks are right across the street and freight trains ran throughout the night. Even on our first night there, when we were exhausted from a long flight, we had trouble sleeping.


Service:
When we asked the staff person whether the bikes might be fixed during our stay, she shrugged and said, "Maybe." When we asked her if she could give us information on bike rental places in Sandpoint, she told us we should use the phone book in our unit to call around. We were unimpressed with her lack of helpfulness.


We came here in search of a quiet country setting to enjoy nature, but this place was not quiet and did not give us access to nature, despite being out in the country. It needs grounds, a beach, and hiking and biking trails. If we came back to the area, we would stay in Sandpoint.

Room Tip: You will only have a view of the lake from one of the units right next to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Did a RCI exchange into the resort. Our one bedroom is a bit dated but VERY clean (first unit I've ever been in where it was obvious that the carpet had been shampooed before occupancy). The views of Lake Pend Orieille from the property are outstanding. Lots of beautiful mountain scenery to see in the area. The on site fitness facility, available to guests at no charge, is the best I've seen at a resort.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a great room overlooking the lake.
very quiet and relaxing.
I usually bring my own chef knife and cutting board, but it was not necessary as they had good quality knives and board.
Bed was a little small and firm, but it was so quiet, slept great.
Pool was clean, nice hot tubs.
We also stay at nearby Stoneridge resort in Blanchard where they have a saltwater pool, which I prefer and suprised more pools aren't saltwater.
The view and peace and quiet, fresh air are excellent.
Hope to return to Hope again, soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

These well maintained units seem to improve year after year with one exception: whoever is responsible for purchasing the couch didn't sit on it first, and if they pulled it out, they could not possibly have tried lying on it. During the week, it hurt just to look at it. My son slept on the floor more comfortably. The recliners are fantastic though, the most comfortable ever to relax, read, watch a dvd, or simply stare out the sliding glass doors to the lake beyond over a cup of coffee. I love coming here: the spiritual aura of the lake, the trees never fail me, and the gym, the indoor pool, the steam room and sauna, all balance my sedentary tendencies to read, knit, converse on the computer: Connecting is now free, and no password is needed to go online. It's close enough to Sandpoint, and Sweitzer if you must go somewhere, do something, but for me it's a great destination resort. I'd like to see a Taste of Idaho cookbook added to the kitchen which is well equipped and a great place to try a new recipe or two while playing with gadgets I don't have at home. LOL

Room Tip: I loved the sound of the train, and our back row unit was close to the Athletic Center; in week 52 D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaRoseParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This resort was a great place to stay on a rainy week in Idaho. There was lots to do to pass the time. The indoor pool and hot tubs were clean and warm. The full gym with classes, no less, kept us in shape. There were new movies to rent and Jigsaw puzzles to borrow. We even took advantage of the ping pong table. On the 2 days it didn't rain, there were maps and write ups about drives, bike rides and hikes in the area. It was close to Sand Point, a charming town with lots of wonderful restaurants and even wine bars. The Floating Restaurant, which was within walking distance, opened the day before we got there so we able to go to their Sunday Brunch (sort of sparse) and a wonderful dinner. We also had a beautiful view of the lake from our unit. Everything is a dated, but then again, so am I.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ljk/elb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very clean and spacious, great pool and gym. Lovely view, very quiet except for our grandson LOL Only problem was there are no restaurants close by in off season. Lots in summer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovetotravel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
7.5 mi away
Clark Fork Lodge
Clark Fork Lodge
#1 of 1 in Clark Fork
32 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Sandpoint
12.8 mi away
Best Western Edgewater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
Hotel Ruby Ponderay
#1 of 3 in Ponderay
159 reviews
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandpoint North
13.3 mi away
Days Inn Sandpoint
Days Inn Sandpoint
#3 of 3 in Ponderay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pend Oreille Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pend Oreille Shores Resort

Property: Pend Oreille Shores Resort
Address: 47390 Highway 200, Hope, ID 83836-9647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pend Oreille Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pend Oreille Shores Hotel Hope
Pend Oreille Shores Resort Idaho/Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing