We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

What's that terrible smell? It smells like smoke in the room, eventhough the hotel is non smoking. It's a really disgusting smell, which makes you wanna leave every moment.
There was a dog in the swimming pool.
This hotel is really a waste of money! STAY OUT!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeschP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Captain_obvious69,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. The hotel is in the process of upgrading and deep cleaning areas of the hotel. As the new General Manager of Shilo Inn Idaho Falls these issues are being addressed and I appreciate your feedback.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    80
    67
    38
    34
See reviews for
108
71
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Clearly lost his momentum with time. 1970 look. Price on the upperside of his class, but has a beautiful location/view, when you have a lake/river room. + walking distance from the very good restaurant Jakers (also open on Sunday).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Erwin H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do have a great location on the Snake River and a convenient access to the river walk as well as many good local restaurants. We are currently working on upgrading some areas of the hotel and would love to have you back to see the changes we are making.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

It's true that the Shilo Inn is not for you if you're looking for something Ritzy however the location is great, the rooms are big, and there are some breathtaking views! I stay at the Shilo whenever I make a trip to Idaho Falls for a couple of reasons: the front desk staff has always been friendly, the pool is open 24/7--2:00am swims are the best!, their breakfast is tasty, and the location couldn't be better--you're not in the busy hustle and bustle but you are close enough to where it's not a hassle to go out and do things.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessier1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear jessier1994,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Idaho Falls location and were able to take advantage of our 24 hour pool as well as our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I read all of the reviews and thought that " it can't be THAT bad", well it absolutely is. First, there were used feminine products left in the bathroom trash can. I thought that I could overlook that because after all, people make mistakes. Then there was the hall way, an empty disposable coffee cup that was still there in the morning. The resturant serves a quality of food that I would throw out at home. I got to the resturant at about 9 pm, horrible, again I thought " well, it's late in the evening and they are getting ready to close" wrong again. I went to the 6 am breakfast at around 6:20 and it was if they had cooked it the night before. My room only had decaf coffee as well as the shower that I hadn't been in yet had black hair in it as well as the bathroom floor. When I checked out one day after my scheduled 6 night stay, they tried to charge me for two nights...oops they said. After telling this to the front desk I was told by the desk help " I will have a strong word with the cleaning staff" , wow thanks that makes me feel much better. It was obvious that the staff could not care less. Later this week I will get the same heartfelt apology from someone that everyone else has gotten. It is time for the shilo in Idaho falls to put up or shut up or better yet, clean up or close up. I stay in towns all over the place as a pilot and this ranks number one for the worst hotel experience EVER.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Paul L,

I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay at our Idaho Falls location. Unfortunately, I was not yet here when you stayed with us and if I was, these matters would have been addressed immediately. As the new General Manager of Shilo Inn Idaho Falls I take customer service very seriously and am working with the entire staff to better the property in all aspects. I appreciate your feedback and will be informing the staff of these concerns during our meetings and training.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Idaho Falls hotels

Horsham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I would not recommend this hotel because of the appalling service and attitude of the staff on reception and in the dining room. We only stayed one night here, but never again. We arrived about 9.50 pm to check in which I know is late, there was only one woman on reception, there was a long queue for checking in. It was Saturday night and the night club next to reception was booming out music which thankfully our room was not near to it. It took us 50 minutes to check in, they couldn't find the booking. Eventually she put us in a disabled room with two queen beds. The shower and toilet were filthy, the water was either freezing or scolding hot. In the morning we just wanted to leave as quickly as possible. The young waitress in the breakfast room was miserable and unhelpful, she was wearing a hoody and leggings and looked as though she had been in the nightclub all night. We asked for tea and toast and 15 minutes later were given one slice of toast each. I spoke to the staff on the desk ( now 3 in total). I asked what their complaint procedure was, they were clueless, just handed me a feedback postcard. Avoid this hotel if you can.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Denise W,

Please accept my apologies regarding your stay at our Idaho Falls location. I assure you that your concerns are being addressed at the property. Please know this is not the norm for Shilo Inns and we take customer satisfaction very seriously. As the new General Manager of Shilo Inn Idaho Falls I am actively working on improving many aspects of the hotel. If you would like to speak about any further concerns I would love to speak with you and get you taken care of. I can be contacted at the property, 208-523-0088.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

It was a nice size room a little pricey even if it was by the river. Room was clean and had all it said it would. Pool was useable but tiles were falling off hot tub. Breakfast was more choices and food was good except maybe eggs. Might try a different motel for same price next time.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Momthom,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our Idaho Falls property. The hotel does have a great location lining the Snake River, and understand that some areas of the hotel need some renovation, which we are currently working on. As the new General Manager of the Shilo Inn Idaho Falls, I appreciate your feedback to better our property.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night ..soo glad it was one night only! Pics online showed a nice seemingly updated room but looks can be deceiving! The bed was at least comfortable and clean...but our room was old and tired and had seen better days! Counters were old and corners were cracked and rough. Soaps and towels were cheap and thin. Shower was not real clean. Had a sink bar area in room but did not have dishes or kitchen towels or dish detergent to rinse out glasses. Coffee pot was missing the basket for the coffee and no sugar or creamer either. Serve a breakfast but it was pitiful! Tasteless eggs, shriveled and chewy sausage links..only allow one coffee or juice..
. Hallway was smelly and only one ice machine was working on three floors..not ours..had to go up a floor. Security was not good.. someone kept propping the door to the rooms open and anyone could walkin. Outside parking area is dirty and grounds not well kept..shoulda been our first clue... It is a hotel that a lot of construction people stay at in transit...nicer places just next door..Hampton Inn, Hyatt. Etc. Don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: There are none!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear JanGeorgia,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our Idaho Falls location. We would like you to know that we are working on upgrading certain areas of our property. As the new General Manager of the Shilo Inn Idaho Falls I appreciate your feedback to better our property and I will be sharing your concerns with the rest of our staff.

Regards,

Rebecca Andersson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
#5 of 23 in Idaho Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 23 in Idaho Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 23 in Idaho Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls
Address: 780 Lindsay Blvd, Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When your plans take you to the breathtakingly beautiful Idaho Falls, be sure to stay at the full service Shilo Inns Suites Hotel. Some of the 161 spacious guestrooms and suites overlook the picturesque Snake River. Guests of the hotel are within easy walking distance to the falls and downtown. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Idaho Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Idaho Falls
Shilo Inn Idaho Falls
Idaho Falls Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing