We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in Idaho Falls”

Jalisco's Mexican Restaurant No. 1
Ranked #13 of 224 Restaurants in Idaho Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jalisco's Mexican Restaurant is a locally owned and operated business in Idaho Falls. Our mission is to provide a little piece of our Mexican culture with our food, service, and atmosphere to Idaho Falls and its visitors. What began as a tiny family restaurant has expanded to two stores. We have been voted Best Mexican Restaurant by Idaho Falls Magazine several years. We elevate "Authentic" to a whole different level by providing authentic decorations brought from Mexico and the best authentic Mexican food on this side of the border. Serving you in 2 locations Featuring a wide variety of Seafood - Fajitas - Enchiladas - Burritos All of your favorite Mexican dishes! Delivery Services available through Cafe Courier.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Idaho Falls”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I along with a niece went to Jalisco's for lunch last Saturday while on a visit to Idaho Falls. Being from Salt Lake City, I'm used to the incredible food at RED IGUANA restaurants. However, this was just as good! Best fish tacos I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    52
    27
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Go there on a regular basis, always good service and good food. would highly recommend it for your nite out on the town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Jalisco-style Mexican Cooking”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I grew up along the Southwest border. My all-time favorite is Chihuhuan cooking followed closely by Jaliscan. Jalisco's represents some of the best Jaliscan I've had away from the border...period! The chili relleño was delicious. They use the proper white cheese. The frijoles were also tasty. Their standard salsa is really mild -- you can ask for a more picante (hotter) salsa which was good.with the tortilla chips. The prices were reasonable and the service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Llebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“There are better choices!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

WOW, this is rated #3 out of 175 restaurants. What is going on here? The only redeeming factor was the staff and the trout. They seemed to care and the trout was tasty. The rest of the food we had was just filler. My wife had the ala cart chile relleno and the vegetable enchilada. They were terrible. The chile relleno had no flavor and was overly salty. The enchilada was just not worth eating. The beans were laden with lard. The high fat content gave me a stomach ache. The rice had no flavor.
I would never have eaten here except that it was super bowl Sunday and nothing else was open. There are better choices!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Town”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The carne asada was great as was the chilles relano. This is the best Mexican you will find in IF since Mama Inez closed. One of the best chilles relanos I have had in a long time. I will definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalisco's Mexican Restaurant No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to Jalisco's Mexican Restaurant No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing