We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel on the Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel on the Falls
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Idaho Falls
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
“a good visit”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We enjoyed Hotel on the Falls because the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was warm and good and even included our daughter's favorite breakfast sausages. The desk worker was friendly, we encountered no problems with the hotel, and the hot tub and sauna were perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the falls and the beautiful Idaho Temple, ask for a room overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. Hearing your hotel room was clean is one of the major goals in our industry. This is what the guests should get when checking into a hotel. Your breakfast experience is always a good one when the children are excited!! I am happy we were able to surprise your daughter with one of her favorite items. Our indoor sauna and hot tub can be paired with our outdoor pool opening in June to fullfill this part of your stay in a more complete manner. Please travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    83
    48
    48
    56
See reviews for
106
77
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Mt
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Our room was very quiet.

The room's temp was easy to keep just right.

There were some good restaurants nearby; and, a Walmart was located within easy walking distance.

Parking was easy and free.

The free wi-fi worked very well.

The room (two queens) was quite large (due to the hotel's circular layout).

The view from the balcony was really cool.

The pillows were so-so.

The room decor felt a bit dated.

Breakfast was subpar, as they had a small construction project taking place.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Of course, you want a view of the river and falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Your review has touched base on several amenities and products we have available for our guests which I greatly appreciate. Our rooms are spacious which makes the temperture a challenge at times to keep the room comfortable, however have found our system works quite well. We are replacing our pillows next month as well as opening our newly renovated restaurant in less than two weeks. With the restaurant opening, the breakfast buffet will be bountiful and offer a wide variety of items for our guests to start their day. The balconies offer spectacular views of Idaho Falls, the Snake River and the Teton Mountain range.....always a guest favorite! Thank you for offering your opinion of your experience with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

On 04 -April 6 2013 we had a major breakdown of our vehilce enroute to Yuma Arizona to Regina Sask Canada. Broadway Ford in Idaho Falls assisted us in obtaining excellent accommodations at the Hotel on the Falls.

A very stressful day was greatly improved by Jason Eggertsen at Broadway Ford assisting us in getting accommodations at the hotel.

The welcome and consideration of Hotel staff was likewise as impressive. Instead of a stop in Hades, Our stay in Idaho Falls will be remembered as a good place to return to on our next trip south.

We have travelled on all continents of the world. The hospitality, sense of service, concern for the vistors and cosumers was most impressive.
Our Visit to Idaho Falls wil be remembered as the friendly City.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the falls... Good value for price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAD552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
I am glad you had a chance to experience our hotel and exceptional service; not only at our hotel but throughout your experiences here in Idaho Falls. It is unfortunate your vehicle broke down while it was a good thing Broadway Ford was able to take care of the problem quickly and get you on your way. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate it and look forward to visiting with you on your next trip through Idaho Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FARMINGTON
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel On The Falls about 15 times over several weeks on Business. They were great. Staff is pleasant, professional, and all about service. They were able to place me on the scenic side of the hotel on every stay, and even switched me once for a minor room maintenance item. On several occasions I needed to check in early and they worked around my arrival schedule to accommodate me. The location is off the beaten path just enough not to be overrun by outside traffic noises, but easily accessible to downtown. There are many good places for lunch and dinner just walking distance from the Hotel. Again, great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the East Side for a great view of the Falls, and even the Tetons in the distance on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
I appreciate the time you have taken to offer a review of our Hotel. The views from our balconies are tremendous. The Teton Mountain range is an incredible sight to see! We are lucky to live in such a beautiful area. The staff works hard trying to accommodate our guests requests and am happy to hear your experience was handled with grace and professionalism. Our location does offer multiple restaurants and shopping within walking distance, however, we hope when you return you can experience our newly renovated restaurant or rewind in our lounge over looking the Snake River. Please travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the staff and services at Hotel on the Falls. I'm well traveled and am rarely impressed anymore! I hold a Chairman frequent flyer status and Platinum at most major chains - needless to say, I'm always in a hotel. I would agree with many of the reveiws regarding the decor being somewhat outdated. I'm glad to see the owners are investing in this hotel. I've seen old before however even though it's outdated, I found the hotel to be clean. The staff was remarkably friendly too. The leadership must really have it together there because it wasn't just good service from the desk clerks (Which you expect) it was from everyone I encountered. The housekeeper in the hallway, the lady in the lobby, the restaurant servers and operators. As I said before, I'm rarely impressed but the service and cleanliness were really terrific. I'll be on business in IF over the next 8 to 12 months and will definately make this my choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthparkConsutling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your kind opinion of our hotel and the staff. The customer service our guests receive is a priority to us in every department. I am glad to read your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. We do have plans to move forward with updates involving the food and beverage areas of the hotel. It seems you travel frequently with ample opportunities to review hotels and am glad your travels brought you to our hotel concluding your tirp as a pleasant experience. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I stopped for a night at the Hotel on the Falls on a trip from southern California to Billings, Montana. It is a beautiful location with the thunder of the falls and a lovely park and benches directly across the street along the river. Our King bedroom was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in a serene setting. We would recommend the Hotel on the Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We are glad you made the stop in Idaho Falls on your way to Billings, Montana. Hotel on the Falls is definately lucky to be a business within such a beautiful setting. The greenbelt that wraps around the Snake River can offer our guests more then five miles of beauty to escape to. The fact that our rooms are over 450 square feet does allow our guests more room to stretch out and truly relax during their visit. I am pleased your visit was a pleasant one and appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel last night and were very satisfied. Front desk employee was very friendly, room was very spacious and clean with a wonderful view of the falls and the restaurant...how to say...blast from the past (it hasn't been changed since the 80s) but it was a good blast. Food was decent, breakfast delicious, servers friendly. We will definitely stay there again. Oh..one thing...the bed was a bit too soft for our liking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelonthefalls, General Manager at Hotel on the Falls, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We sincerely are grateful for your honest opinion. Yes, while we still remain focused on serving exceptional food and providing the guests with outstanding customer service, our decor in the restaurant does take you back a bit. The 80's was a good era, however, will agree with you the renovation should begin. The 21st century will be with us before you know it. I apologize for the mattress being too soft for your liking. In the future, please let us know if you are uncomfortable. We are able to increase the firmness of the mattresses if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Idaho Falls hotels
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Idaho Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Idaho Falls
#5 of 23 in Idaho Falls
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Idaho Falls
Residence Inn Idaho Falls
#8 of 23 in Idaho Falls
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Idaho Falls/Airport
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Idaho Falls
0.8 mi away
Motel West
Motel West
#13 of 23 in Idaho Falls
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Falls

Property: Hotel on the Falls
Address: 475 River Pkwy, Idaho Falls, ID 83402-3314
Region: United States > Idaho > Idaho Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Idaho Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Snake River, the Hotel on the Falls is minutes from the Museum of Idaho, Eagle Rock Art Guild, Tauphaus Park Zoo, University Place at Idaho Falls, Idaho Falls Regional Airport, Downtown Idaho Falls, is an hour's drive from Craters of the Moon National Monument and 2 hour's away from Yellowstone National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers first class amenities including, hot tub, fitness facilities, free wireless internet access, and pets are welcome at a minimal fee. ADA services are also available. All rooms feature free wireless internet access, cable TV, Closed Caption available, air conditioning, alarm clock / radio, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and iron and board. Stay in our Premium Tower Rooms and enjoy our view of the Snake River and Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel on the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idaho Falls Red Lion
Red Lion Idaho Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing