We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Drift Lodge(Island Park)
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Angler's Lodge(Island Park)(Great Value!)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
27
13
4
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
13
4
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoolscabindrivekeyutahgasfishing
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We have only left home for Christmas one other time and it was so much fun we had the opportunity to go with some extended family to Ponds Lodge. We had a great time. The Duplex we stayed in was easy to get in and out of with our trucks and 4place snowmobile trailers. The personnel in the Lodge were helpful and friendly. The snow and the view was amazing. Even watching them plow the 3' of snow from the drive was fun to watch. It was relaxing and so much fun. The duplex was so roomy and warm. The colors gave everything a relaxing feeling. The kitchen was stocked and user friendly. I can't say enough about our accomodations. I had one son that wasn't able to go with us. We will definately be going back again!!!! As I'm reading the questions below I have to say that this stay would be whatever the person chooses to make out of it. Whether it be rough and rugged, quiet and romantic, just all out fun or you could think it sucks if you so choose to make it that way.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We arrived on Christmas eve day at our duplex at Ponds. Everything was clean, warm and very inviting. Decor was tastefully done, but not overdone. Kitchen was clean and well stocked.

That night it snowed 3 ft of the most beautiful light powder that Idaho has ever seen! Perfect conditions for a stay centered around snowmobiling. Epic powder, bluebird skies, and a warm comfortable place to stay. It was the best family vacation that I have ever been on. I would highly recomend this place to stay to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsled660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We took our small children on a trip to Yellowstone and surrounding areas. Ponds lodge was perfect for families. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and has choices that my kids enjoyed and a great selection for my wife and me. The kids played in the Buffalo River which was a few steps from our cabin. It is a shallow, slow moving river that was perfect for kids to wade in and explore.

The staff was helpful and the service was great.

There are several Yellowstone quality wonders to visit within just a couple of miles of Ponds Lodge including Upper and Lower Mesa Falls and Big Springs. The kids loved feeding the fish in the crystal clear pools of Big Springs. Bring plenty of quarters to buy fish food!

The trip was truly relaxing, which is not at all common when traveling with kids. We loved waking up in the morning with the cabin windows open and listening to all of the bird calls in the morning stillness. We can't wait to go back again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boisefamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The cabin we stayed in was brand new, modern, and clean. We were there for a snowmobile trip and enjoyed Pond's Lodge and our accomodations thoroughly. We expected cabins to be like the ones the other reviewers complained about. Our group is not yuppies so we didn't care, we were there to recreate, and the accomodations are secondary, so we were very pleasantly surprised to stay in a new log home with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, and a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MT_SnoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Worst place I have ever stayed. Cabins were being demolished but they were renting them out until right before bulldoozing them down. When I complained they refused to make it right. There were safety hazards and black mold in the shower. Even though they are building new cabins, I suggest never doing business with people who would let someone stay in such a place and then actually charge money for it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shirgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PondsOwner, owner at Ponds Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2009

None of these cabins are being rented anymore because they have all been sold. This particular review was written by a woman who had the option to stay in a new cabin and chose not too because of the price difference. Since her stay we have added more brand new cabins, a smoker in the restaurant and a day spa. The lodge itself is 86 years old and is a historic landmark in this part of Idaho. Every year we are updating and upgrading as necessary. The Lodge has a timeless feel to it and we try to keep it in its original form as much as possible. Our website is also being updated to include pictures of the new cabins and ammenities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews