We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always eat, where the cars are parked.”

Boondocks Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are now closed until the summer season! Thanks for the winter business and hope to see you soon!
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always eat, where the cars are parked.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When we go to a new town and have to decide where to eat- we always look at how many cars are parked out front. The locals know where the eating is good, and there are very few times when their parking lot isn't full. In Island Park, if the eating isn't good, the place will be out of business fast. Boondock's has been around for quite a few years now, and continues to be excellent. We have a cabin nearby and were able to ski to and from the restaurant- how cool is that!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mtwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    27
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yanchep, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heavenly, divine and all that is good in the world!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I flew from Perth Western Australia just for ribs and prime rib. The Doyle family always exceed my expectations. This was by far the best prime rib on the planet. A must for anyone's bucket list! Truly a gem of the mountains. All the menu items are great. Bring an appetite. For first timers, try Pat's ribs with onion rings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, Idaho
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who are writing these reviews?”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Went there based on the excellent reviews, and will definitely not be going back. The owner spent the first 15 minutes socializing with the only other table there and barely got us some menus and waters. The food was average at best. We had the nachos with jalapenos. They were simply some shredded cheese microwaved with canned jalapenos. Our dinner was trout and halibut. The halibut was watery and fishy. The trout had rubbery shrimp with a sauce poured over the top. The twice baked potato was good. The mashed potatoes were alright but the gravy was a simple milk gravy with little flavor. The atmosphere was the best part; quaint but not spectacular. Overall, although the staff was friendly, it was not worth the trip or price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackfrito, Owner at Boondocks Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Woah, Jason! I must apologize for such a horrendous visit to BOONDOCKS. We are always ready to fix any problems. Please try us again and let me know if you are dissatisfied! Thanks for trying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelocta, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is where the locals go”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A great place to get a feel for the locals. The restaurant was packed so we waited. And everyone there seemed to know everyone else and included us even though we were just passing through the town. The food was delicious and the cheesecake with huckleberry sauce is out of this world!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scoutingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't blink or you will miss this good little restaurant.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We like going to Boondocks in Island Park to eat. It is a little place that you could easily miss. The food is worth it though so keep your eyes open. It has a small dining area and a few outdoor picnic tables. This is home style cooked food. They have a large menu. They offer a daily special also. Their cinnamon rolls alone make it worth visiting. They are huge. We have had good meals every time we have been there. Boondocks is closed during the off season between summer and winter. So call before you go during that time to see if they are open. During the winter you could ride your snow mobile to it. It is located on the Yale Kilgore road a ways past McRaes bridge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boondocks Restaurant also viewed

Island Park, ID
 

Been to Boondocks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing