We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in the rough, what a gem!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jared's Wild Rose Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“diamond in the rough, what a gem!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

its never to late to make a good impression! we pulled in late at night, the place was kinda so-so, but we received our key and found our "xs" cabin and boy were we pleasantly suprised! comfy cozy cabin to enjoy for our honeymoon! whirlpool tub next to the bed took a bit of getting used to but at the end of a long day it didnt even matter! the true beauty was seen when waking up and heading outside where i yelled to my husband "we can see the lake and mountains,look!" and he said "did you look the other way?" rolling sweeping mountains were the backdrop! within 20 minutes of yellowstones west entrance and great food and attractions near yellowstone!
comfortable sleeping weather, bed not so comfy. that is the only improvement i can see for this fishing lodge!

Room Tip: a cabin for two is what i recommend romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeydoll272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    14
    23
    26
See reviews for
36
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My family has been coming here for over 30 years. The big advantage to the place is you can camp right next to the lake and walk to your boat in the slip and start fishing. But, the other reviews are pretty much accurate. The whole management of this place is rather amateurish. The owners/managers are really nice and very accommodating. But they are very penurious. They don't spend any more than they need to just keep this place going. For the prices they charge, things should be quite a bit nicer. The mattresses are just passable. TVs are still the old CRTs and they only get about 6 channels---not that I care; we aren't there to watch TV anyway. We wanted to plug in an electric knife at the fish cleaning station--the power was off, and they turned it only on demand. The camp sites are sub par compared to other campgrounds just miles away. The grass is weedy and not really a lawn at all. The pull through sites are okay, but decent camp sites have nice, level sites that are easier to use.

In short, this place is great for fisherman and snowmobilers. Convenient and a little rustic. But if you are expecting great service and accommodations, this is not the place. Nevertheless, we continue to go there every year out of tradition and proximity to the lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We wished to stay on Henry's Lake for opening weekend of fishing season and needed a boat slip and ramp. After meeting that one requirement, it was pretty much downhill. The docks and slip area was dangerous at best and falling apart. The roads and walking areas were very muddy and needed gravel. The room was tiny (about the same size as a 5th wheel trailer) and we had to take our luggage out to the car in order to have room to walk around the bed. Our room was only $109 a night and the boat slip was $20. The walls were so thin you could hear everything from the hall (I felt like we had no privacy). No ammenities; a 4 cup coffee maker, but no cups, no coffee, no filters. The room has a tiny microwave and fridge, and nice cabinets. The closet for your clothes was the same size as my camper. No dresser, but there were 5 small shelves. No rug for the cold bathroom (closet sized) bathroom. Thin and smelly towels... don't these guys use hot water or bleach? Plaid flannel sheets, another concern for cleanliness, so we asked for regular sheets (the young woman who brought them was very nice and helpful). One of the pillow cases was stained and looking dirty though. But the real mistake for this resort was the availability for dining. Get this... they do not open their restaurant until 9am. Helloooooo. Fishermen start at 6am. Coffee is $4 a cup! (Not nice since they tempt you with a coffeemaker in the room with no cups.) And for one of the most popular holiday weekends of the year for Henry's Lake, they were closed on Sunday. Wow. The service was friendly if you were lucky enough to talk to the owner, but poor otherwise. I asked for ice for use for drinks in our room and was told to buy a bag. It is surprising that the owner keeps that guy as his attitude is very poor and he has no social skills. There is potential; great location, one of the only marinas with accommodations nearby, and a large choice of types of rooms and cabins. The idea of having a restaurant is great, but the execution of it all is where the problems are. They have vending machines, so why not vend coffee packets? Why not provide a coffee cup? They have a freezer for selling ice cream in the store, so why not sell frozen breakfast sandwiches? Why not use white towels that can be bleached? Why not open the restaurant when their customers need it? I have not felt this unwelcome in a hotel in a long time as the larger chains have raised the bar on customer service and comfort. (Maybe Jared needs to travel a bit and see what people are expecting.) I realize that I did not pay alot of the room and you get what you pay for. But instead of me feeling that I need to get a larger room and return there, I feel that a larger room will not solve the reasons I probably won't return. We are not alone as we heard many others complaining about these same issues.

Room Tip: Ask for the square footage and if they have windows. Many rooms in the "Plex" area are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Island Park hotels

Casper, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Poor management, very unprofessional staff in appearance, behavior, customer service attitude. Our check-in...in a shabby room that looked like a unkempt bait shop--interrupted two staff member's tv watching. They seemed put-out by our arrival. One went outside and started shooting hoops. His unleashed pit bull dog rushed at us when we left after registering, and sniffed my wife. There was a push mower abandoned on the lawn next to the office entrance for three days during our stay. There was no parking near our building. The room had no place for luggage, no cups for water in the bathroom, no coffee or cups for the coffee maker, no kleenex, no housekeeping service--no beds made, no new towels during our two-night stay. The boat dock was an unsafe makeshift collection of planks. Bird poop covered the grassy area at the lake. There is no attempt to keep the property clean. We travel a lot and stay in hotels all over the country...and this is the very worst place for customer service I have ever seen! It is a beautiful location, but the poor management makes it not worth the money!!! We attempted to check out after the first night and management refused to amend the credit card bill to reduce the payment from two nights to one night. I was tempted to just write off the second night as a loss and leave...but we were spending the whole day hiking in the Bechler area , and not at the hotel much anyway. We wouldn't even consider eating at the restaurant here due to the shabby way the rest of the place is maintained. We will definitely not stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose one at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

West Yellowstone was full and a hotelier sent us here, about 20 minutes west. Nice place. It's remote, but right on Henry's Lake. They were understaffed in the restaurant but none of guests minded - we were all there to relax. The guy in charge was super, as was everybody there. There are some minor maintenance issues, but it appears that they're making progress.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwkChehalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I pretty much agree with the other reviews..here are the pros and cons of our stay here:

Pros: Beautiful scenery and location, close to entrance of West Yellowstone, good price, very clean.
Cons: horrible bed (I can sleep anywhere and I had trouble sleeping on this bed) and flat as a pancake pillows, awful threadbare/thin towels, no shampoo, the walls were paper thin and we could hear EVERYTHING, the showerhead had bad pressure and sprayed everywhere.

Overall, this place was fine for us looking for a cheap place to stay and as I mentioned, it was very clean which is most important to me. The location and scenery outside was gorgeous but I would not recommend it and I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superwoman_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We, a family of 4 stayed in #15 for two nights. Beware, you drive up to this property and think - OH MY ! We have made a HUGE mistake. Jared must do a lot of fishing, because he has not mowed the lawns - gone to the dump - remove broken down travel trailers or painted a sign since he bought the property 15 years ago. He has managed to build some decent accomodations. Sleeping area was clean and kitchen/prep area was very clean. Room accomodated 4 people - 3 chairs at the table?

Suggestion for room: NEW sheets and covers - thread bare, Fabric softener for towles would go a long way. Felt as we were using 10 year old walmart towels.

Thinking this location is for "guy weekends" going on fishing adventures. It really is a diamond in the ruff. Taking a year off of fishing and overhauling the grounds would reward the owners. Jared are you listening ???

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby98270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
10.7 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
158 reviews
20.7 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
94 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
14.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
14.7 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jared's Wild Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jared's Wild Rose Resort

Property: Jared's Wild Rose Resort
Address: 3778 Highway 87, Island Park, ID 83429-5164
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jared's Wild Rose Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jared's Wild Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing