We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broadway in the Back Woods of Idaho!”

Mack's Inn Playhouse
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Island Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mack's Inn Playhouse is a summer stock dinner theatre located in Island Park, Idaho. In 2008, Andrew & Julie Durrant, began a lease on the building and changed the name from Mack's Inn Dinner Theater. The couple launched the theater into a new, fresh direction. The Playhouse offers family friendly musical spoofs. All food is cooked on site and meals offered include Prime Rib or Chicken. Past shows include: "Less Miserable;A Whole Lot LESS Miserable", "Butch Cassidy and the SUN Burnt Kid", "Phantom of the Grand Ole Opry", and "HOME School Musical". In 2012, the Durrant's packed up and moved to St. George Utah and started a year round dinner theatre called "Rattlin' D Playhouse". In May 2013, Lisa and Jeff Carter from West Yellowstone relocated the Pinecone Playhouse to occupy the space. Pinecone Playhouse at Mack's Inn continues to offer the very best in family friendly entertainment. Join us for live music and lots of laughs!
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Broadway in the Back Woods of Idaho!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Having gone to Island Park for the first time, we thought we'd spend an evening trying out the local yocal playhouse and didn't expect too much. Wow! Buffet dinner of prime rib or can choose chicken instead was huge and delicious. Can choose to attend play only and not pay for dinner. Family run productions with two separate plays alternating evenings make it even more diverse. This show was a take-off called " Home School Musical 2 The Gleek Club" written and directed by family leader Andrew Durrant called "Drew" who aso was the lead role as Ramona Hugginkiss. All of us laughed and enjoyed every second of this presentation and were amazed at the expertise in script, song and dance. Way beyond what we normally have seen in small town plays. Don't miss before these folks become discovered...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PuddlestheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Went back again”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We went to our first show a few years ago. Everyone with us from 3 to 76 loved it. Our kids quoted jokes from the show for months. Now we go every summer when we're in Island Park. This summer we once again enjoyed the wonderful meal and show and so we decided to come back 3 days later see the other show they were putting on. At one point, I laughed so hard I cried! I think my kids enjoy Mack's Inn Playhouse shows more than Yellowstone. They come back to California and tell their friends all about it. Actually, so do I.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happy2Go-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fun place”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

they put on plays with locals and its a great time. If you have any extra time and a play is going on i would suggest to check the playhouse out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank caleb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
“great hilarious play”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The play was so funny it kept me laughing. The meal before was great. The service was good. Would come back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarollynnUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton,ut
1 review
“Tons of Fun!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Playhouse. We laughed and laughed at the silly jokes. The actors were extremely talented with great singing voices and comedic action. The dinner was delicious. The only problem was that we were too full to try the cinnamon rolls--which looked terrific. Don't pass up an opportunity to visit this great family-friendly playhouse.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mack's Inn Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mack's Inn Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing