We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little playhouse”

Mack's Inn Playhouse
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Island Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mack's Inn Playhouse is a summer stock dinner theatre located in Island Park, Idaho. In 2008, Andrew & Julie Durrant, began a lease on the building and changed the name from Mack's Inn Dinner Theater. The couple launched the theater into a new, fresh direction. The Playhouse offers family friendly musical spoofs. All food is cooked on site and meals offered include Prime Rib or Chicken. Past shows include: "Less Miserable;A Whole Lot LESS Miserable", "Butch Cassidy and the SUN Burnt Kid", "Phantom of the Grand Ole Opry", and "HOME School Musical". In 2012, the Durrant's packed up and moved to St. George Utah and started a year round dinner theatre called "Rattlin' D Playhouse". In May 2013, Lisa and Jeff Carter from West Yellowstone relocated the Pinecone Playhouse to occupy the space. Pinecone Playhouse at Mack's Inn continues to offer the very best in family friendly entertainment. Join us for live music and lots of laughs!
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
425 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice little playhouse”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a fun place to take the family and the play we went to was well done. The food served if you get that option is OK...but not the best. All in all it is a fun night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island Park, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disaapointing”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was so disappointing. The food was marginal; the acting borderline; but the real disappointment came when they "passed the hat" for tips! We paid a significant amount of money to bring all of our children and grandchildren to this performance and the "tip hat" took the cake. We will not return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew D, Owner at Mack's Inn Playhouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2016
Maureen,
I am sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience with the Playhouse in 2013. My wife and I owned the Playhouse from 2008 to 2012. We then left to start a theater in Southern Utah. During the 2013 and 2014 season another group occupied the space. In the summer of 2015 we returned and took over the space and business once again.

We would love for you to come see the difference! Please contact me for some complimentary dinner and show tickets to any of our productions during this upcoming 2016 summer season. drew@macksinnplayhouse.com

God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrock, Wyoming
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Change is not always good”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have been to one or both shows at this playhouse every year for the past decade or more. This is not the playhouse of recent years!

Passing a TIP hat around the audience before the show? How presumptuous.

Their website proclaims that they are taking the playhouse to the next level and beyond, yet the show we attended didn't appear to even attain the same level as recent years.

It wasn't a bad show, it just wasn't what we have come to expect.

Prices are up, food has gone backward and the comedy and interactions with the audience that made this playhouse what it was are sadly missing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank What-I-think-about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowstonemapco, Owner at Mack's Inn Playhouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Change is Hard! Everyone who ever saw Drew Durrant onstage here at Mack's Inn, misses his antics. But opportunity knocked and he took it. We will keep trying to win you over, what- I - think- about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Miss You Guys!!!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Mack's Inn is just not the same without the Durrants at the Playhouse! We miss you guys! We've had some great laughs with you over the years. Sad to see you guys go. It was the best little playhouse around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaNelson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth planning for!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

If you find yourself planning to visit Yellowstone, make an effort to spend an evening at Mack's Inn Playhouse and enjoy dinner and live entertainment! Great family atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank uglytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mack's Inn Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mack's Inn Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing