We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential But.......”
Review of Angler's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angler's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This lodge has great potential but really lacks attention to detail. Upon arrival at the property you are greeted by a red pickup truck loaded with garbage parked in front of the dining area. Seagulls dine on the garbage piled up in the truck. I must say that the staff is extremely friendly
and are certainly a high point of the visit, especially in the dining area. Our stay was in Room 11. Our TV didn't work correctly (owner said he would replace it but never did), we only had hot water some of the time, the room above apparently had an in-room Jacuzzi which was extremely noisy in our room when the water jets were turned on, we had an ice bucket but no glasses to drink from, a pillow disappeared from our room on the second day we were there and was never replaced, the walls are paper thin and the floor creaks when people walk in the room above. This lodge is located very close to the Henry's Fork River for those who wish to fish.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. We asked for a room and the end of the building so we would only have nois...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naginalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Angler's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was an anglers paradise! Stayed here for two nights on our way back from Yellowstone. The lodge is awesome! They had the best food we had the whole trip. The Trout and Fettuccini Alfredo were delicious. The front desk, waitress/bartender, & chef were really friendly and fun to talk to. The fishing was good and literally right in front of my room. The owners were very friendly and willing to give fishing suggestions. Would recommend the lodge as a destination vacation or if you are just passing through.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Djrize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We set out from West Yellowstone in search of some good trout. We originally dismissed the Angler's Lodge because there were no cars (turns out summer season hasn't really started yet). After checking out two other restaurants, we ended up back here. Best spontaneous meal ever. As soon as we walked in, we all got the cabin vacation feels. The interior lobby and restaurant/bar are all fresh lacquered wood panel with giant lodge pole pine supports. The entire face of the building is covered in large windows that overlook the Snake River flowing some twenty feet away.
I want to preamble the food review with the fact that we had been on vacation for 10 days by this point and had probably ate at about five different high end restaurants (including Jackson Lake Lodge ~$200 meal for three and a good deal of Yellowstone resort dining areas). This was our most enjoyable dining experience
The restaurant area/bar were very clean. Our waitress was extremely kind and very accommodating. We ordered two trouts, a crab cake, a beef/vegetable stew, and a chocolate lava cake. Trout first: the surf lover said it was one of the best prepared trouts they had had and the turf lover said they were now a surf convert. The beef/vegetable stew was clearly homemade and had tender roast beef comparable to my mom's delicious recipe. I believe even the noodles in the stew were homemade spatzel (German dumpling). The crab cake was large and more meaty than most crab cakes I've had (I don't like my CRAB cakes to be mostly filler). Our waitress suggested adding a berry preserve/filler over top the lava cake. Thank you! The three of us split the dessert and it was so big we almost couldn't finish it. The homemade rolls were good too. Not only was all the food delicious but the presentation beat every meal we had so far.
We loved this place so much we asked to see a room before leaving and are seriously considering coming back just to stay here. We drove from Indiana, now that's saying something.
The room looked very clean and had a beautiful balcony view over looking the river and mountain ranges. The bathroom was well up to date with a slight cabin-spa feel.
I hardly ever leave reviews; something has to blow me away to make me spend the time. But I want this lovely place to get business. They're a little of the beaten path unless your a fisherman. As for the bad reviews: they seem fairly old and I'm not sure they're describing the correct place; there aren't any cabins?
Definitely worth the drive from Yellowstone.

Room Tip: All rooms have the river view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to take a drive out of West Yellowstone into Idaho and found Anglers Lodge by accident while looking for a trout dinner. What a wonderful dinner. The best meal of our trip to Yellowstone. The view from dining room was right on the river. Staff was so friendly and showed us a room . Would stay here next time .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoEllen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Angler's Lodge this month, May 14 thru the 22. It was a wonderful experience, right on the water. The hosts, Dave and DeDe Eby were so friendly and helpful. The restaurant wasn't open yet, as the season did not start till May 23, but the bar was open. Dave and DeDe gave us lots of advice on seeing the wonderful sights around Island Park. Yellowstone Park is just about 30 minutes away to the West Entrance, but due to the Eby's we saw so much more. Our room was great, a moose stayed on land right across from our room, an American Bald eagle swooped down into the lake and caught a fish, right in front of our eyes. Thanks to the Eby's we did not miss a local attraction, Mesa Falls, which was truly beautiful..I highly recommend their Lodge. They also have cabins available during the season.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stopped at the lodge for lunch and a break from driving on our family vacation. The service was excellent, the views and environment were very relaxing. I would recommend this for a meal or a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyguy_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I did not stay at the lodge, but we did stop in for coffee and breakfast. The food and coffee were great. the views were outstanding and the gal behind the counter was amazing. EXCELLENT experience I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
24.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
716 reviews
24.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
787 reviews
24.8 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
186 reviews
11.2 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
24.9 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angler's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's Lodge

Address: 3363 Old Highway 191, Island Park, ID 83429-5125
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range: £102 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angler's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the amenities of a luxury vacation home built on an outcropping facing the Henry's Fork and Angler's Lodge in Island Park, Idaho. World famous fly-fishing is only a short walk from the cabin, along with ATV riding trails, snowmobiling in the winter, mountain biking, hiking and many other nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Angler's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angler`s Hotel Island Park
Anglers Hotel Island Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing