We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Pizza & Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponds Lodge

Ponds Lodge
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Island Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific Pizza & Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

On our trip to Yellowstone, we stayed in Island Park and made a few trips to Pond's Lodge. The Pond's Lodge bar is fun & upbeat. There is also a restaurant and convenience store, but we were only patrons of the bar. One can arrive early for breakfast and coffee while using the WiFi to get some work done, or stop in later in the day for beer, pizza, and a game on one of the many TVs.

When I stopped by in the morning to use the WiFi, the staff served me excellent coffee and I was able to just sit at the bar and work in quiet. For supper, it seems to be a popular place. The staff knew quite a few patrons by name. The food was GREAT! The waitress told my nephew they had bomb pizza, and she was right! I also love that there are several beers on tap.

The Pond's Lodge is a hybrid of upscale food and environment, yet casual atmosphere and staff. That is not easy to do successfully, but they have done it quite well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent chef, good menu”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The ham fisted "renovation" of this once beautiful lodge has eradicated its history and tradition, but the restaurant on the premises serves very good food, prepared by a talented chef. Even the old menu standbys are very good. Too bad about the Lodge; the chef deserves better.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day After X-Mas Supper”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Food was OK. Very overpriced. Service was slow and we did not receive much attention from the server. They are very proud of their service because they tack a 20% tip to the meal regardless how poor the service is. I won't be eating at this place again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tstock0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigby, Idaho
2 reviews
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The meal was excellent. I had Pork Tenderloin. It was a fantastic meal. The dessert - carrot cake was wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Pond's Lodge for a family gathering. It was the best time we've had in ages. All families had their own luxurious cabin/home. (granite countertops, plenty of towels, bedding, different thermostats in each room, well supplied kitchen, etc.) The setting was phenomenal: our cabin looked out on the Buffalo River; we sat on the patio (or sat in the hot tub), enjoying the view both nights. We hiked, fished, dined, and explored West Yellowstone (less than 1/2 hr drive). The restaurant was also great. We had two dinners and two breakfasts there, using the Lodge Restaurant, the pizza place, and the bar. The food was "very good" to "excellent." The staff was friendly and efficient and very patient with children. I cannot say enough good things about this place. We're already talking about when we can go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwb6306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponds Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Ponds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing