We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hassle!”

Island Park Lodge China Grove
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Island Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chinese restaurant serving classic & contemporary dishes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the hassle!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and four children met up at this restaurant with my Brother and his wife. We began the evening with a scolding from the waitress when we combined two tables, though to her credit she didn't make us separate. I ordered the ribs and was unimpressed, they were very dry and rate well below a Famous Dave's or even TGI Fridays. My wife ordered spaghetti and the meat sauce was lacking. To conclude the evening, they wouldn't split the bill. While it notes this on the menu, the place wasn't even half full. Besides, what kind of restaurant refuses that basic service? Guess that speaks to a lack of service culture in this restaurant. I'll vote with my feet and won't return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DHR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Ranches, FL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Ribs make this a very good restaurant”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had dinner around 9 p.m. and were lucky to find this place open. Some of us ordered the soup which was great but they almost ran out one bowl short-and it was served a little cold for my taste. The ribs were delicious as was the corn bread. The pasta dishes were basically tasteless according to my Italian mother. The fish and chips I ordered for my kids was delicious too. I don't think there are a ton of options for dinner at that hour and we were lucky the meal was mostly pretty good. Our hotel had recommended another place but it was already closed for the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMONDS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good food - try the trout!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We've been here before and enjoyed the food. This season was just as good as we remembered. I had the trout and my friend had the rib/chicken combo. Big portions, nice salad and pasta as a side choice (not the best but interesting). Nice server and cute decor. One of only 2 restaurants we can recommend in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Lodge and Great Food”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our Family had dinner at the Lodge on June 28th 2013 and all were happy with their meals. We were able split some meals(especially with the children) and I even took a picture of a brother and sister sharing some "cookies and cream pie" and they could hardly get it eaten fast enough!
The service was good and friendly and helpful.
We would go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudleyduffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were en route to horseback ride and I couldn't bring myself to eat another Subway sandwich (especially being on vacay, I wanted to try local places). Glad we stumbled onto this place. It's cute from the outside, looks a little "questionable when you walk in, but the waitress was sweet and the food was excellent. The portions were huge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 143gws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Park Lodge China Grove also viewed

 
Island Park, ID
 

Been to Island Park Lodge China Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing