We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Island park is all about”
Review of Island Park Lodge - CLOSED

Island Park Lodge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Island Park Lodge is "CLOSED!"
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What Island park is all about”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

When you come out west there's things you want to see. It's not the golden arches large hotel chains or strip malls. You can find these things at home. Your looking for a family run business where the owners are their everyday doing their best to help people enjoy their vacation have a good time and leave with good memories. Island park isn't about corporate , it's about small mom and pop places. I have ate at island park lodge twice and enjoyed it both times. The waitresses were friendly and fast even though they were very busy and the owners were taking part of the day to day runnings. If your looking for McDonald's there's one over the hill. If your looking for a good place to sit for a while and enjoy a real meal swing in to IPL and experience a piece of the real west.

Helpful?
Thank dryridgeoutfitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandparklodge, Owner at Island Park Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Dry Ridge Outfitters for your kindness. We are so very fortunate to live and work in "God's Country." We take great pride in the service, quality and consistency of each meal. I look forward to sharing your review with our crew. It is important that they know that their employment is appreciated not only from me, but our customers as well.
I hope your Summer continues to be one of your most successful on record.
Best Regards,
Connie Funkhouser
Owner for over 25 years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
272 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not 'Institutionalized!'”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Former Marie Callander owners keep up quality standards while serving the best cornbread and baby back ribs. The cobb salad and B.L.T.A. on toasted sour dough is a lot to eat and very tasty. And, $2.50 for a draft beer - unheard of! Unfortunately, smoking is allowed in the bar where we enjoy sitting and watching the locals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetAddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We decided to try this restaurant after looking at Tripadvisor ratings we found the food to be excellent and more than ample. A tuna sandwich got cranked up a notch with tomato, pickles and lettuce in a toasted sourdough serving. The homemade potato salad was superb. My wife had the chili and pronounced it excellent as well as the corn bread. Service was fast and friendly and the prices were very reasonable. I saw that several critical reviews dealt with the refusal to split tickets. There is a sign right as you walk in that says they don't split tickets. This is a small restaurant so when I saw a complaint about not getting prime rib cooked different ways, I had to shake my head. This is not the kind of setting where they would have multiple prime rib selections. If you want that better head for Idaho Falls. This is a place we would certainly recommend. People need to know where they are and temper their expectations realistically.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandparklodge, Owner at Island Park Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your kindness and understanding our Guest Check Policy and cooking preferences with our Prime Rib. Refreshing to hear that others appreciate small town establishments.
Wishing you the Best and continue to travel safe.
~ Happy Trails ~
Connie Funkhouser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
2 reviews
“Great Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good service, good coffee, eggs done to perfection. Portions were generous without being wasteful. We left satisfied, not stuffed. Especially good hash browns. Server was new to the profession, and brought a very sunny, humorous attitude. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Park, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Down home cooking at its best.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is great Idaho down-home cooking and it is wonderful. Try the ribeye steak…you will not believe how good it is. The salad, homemade cornbread and baked Idaho potato make this a feast fit for a king…or queen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Park Lodge also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing