We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay for the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay for the right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had problems finding an economical option close to Yellowstone and happened on the Sawtelle not far from West Yellowstone. Nothing fancy but clean and fit my wife's and my needs just fine for 3 days. About 19 miles drive to the West entrance of the park so not a big deal. Staff was nice and helpful and I didn't mind making coffee in the Main Lobby one morning when they were busy. They do have free Wifi but our room was out of range so I went down to the spacious lobby to log in in mornings.

All in all a nice senic place to stay without alot frills.... we didnt need anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyrob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    44
    27
    19
    27
See reviews for
51
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed here for four nights for a funeral. Staff was very accomodating. Condo was very nice and new. Very spacious. We used our rooms personal hot tub every day. The beds are very comfortable, I even pulled back the sheets to see the brand of bed so I could look into purchasing one later. Check in and check out is very easy. Great location close to golf course and West yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcoasttravrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Clean rooms, friendly staff and good location. It was nice to be able to stay so close to Yellowstone (20-25 minutes drive) without the prices of staying in West Yellowstone. Stopped through Island Park earlier in the year and knew it was close enough to stay and travel back and forth. Found the listing online and the prices were excellent for it still being the "In Season" time at Yellowstone.
The rooms are nice and clean. Nothing too spacious but has enough space for 4 people and our dog. The spa was not working but it is ok because we didn't spend much time at the hotel anyway.
EASY access to Highway 20 and plenty of parking space. Great for traveling with an RV or trailer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We are mid-way through our 6 day stay and have found nothing wrong with the place. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful. Room is basic but very clean. Beds are comfy. Cleaned well every day. Free wi-fi, coffee making and microwave. Only thing missing out of the room was a table, but this wasn't a problem. Convenient, 25-30mins from Yellowstone. Good value for money, would stay here again.
Ps) best to ask at reception on how lock your door when leaving your room, it's easy when you know how!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crescenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
247 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Our Sawtelle condo for 6 people was new and spacious--but also had long black hairs on two of the three beds, and on the glasses in the cupboard. I mentioned it to the desk clerk who wasn't impressed or apologetic. Also, be warned that the address on the confirmation email is incorrect, we were initially several miles off due to google mapping 4133 Lodge Pole from the email and not Quakie Ln. Also need to bring more blankets--a thin comforter doesn't do it for cold Yellowstone nights, and there's no one around to answer questions in the evening. No mattress pads on beds either, which was odd. Heater was so loud it disturbed our sleep. Chlorine in the hot tub so strong kids were crying. But nice proximity to Yellowstone and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Island Park hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have been here three times.
Rooms are limited space.
Air conditioner was broke. Three fans to cool us were not sufficient.
The sink was a foot from the bed, very hard to wash your hands.
on there ad said they have pool and hot tub. Both broke!!! They kept telling us
it would b fixed the next day. Finding out pool and hot tub been broke for three months.
Hotel lady was going to charge us extra space in the camp area because she thought
are family was different that us that had lined up the camping fee.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was one of the smallest two-queen rooms we stayed in. The hanging rack couldn't be used because the table was under it, and the table couldn't be moved because there was no where else for it to go. The sink was right next to the door - you couldn't open the door to the room if someone was at the sink.

There was a strange smell - we pinpointed it to a mildew smell from the tub drain. I mentioned it three times to management but it was not taken care of.

Office hours were 8AM to 8 PM, which was inconvenient; several times we needed something after 8PM and could not reach anyone.

The pool and hottub were not working the whole time we were there. The day we wanted to check out the office person was 15 minutes late; we couldn't get checked out until 8:30 which threw off our travel plans.

On the website and on the phone they said they were 20 minutes from the west entrance of Yellowstone. They are not - they are 20 MILES from Yellowstone, which was 30-35 minutes. We will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
11.2 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
14.7 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
14.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawtelle Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Property: Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Address: 4133 Quakie Ln, Island Park, ID 83429-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawtelle Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawtelle Mountain Resort offers room to fit any size and any budget. From a Single room to large 25 person groups. We have luxury family cabins for a party of 22 fully furnished. We have a large park for reunions with an indoor swimming pool, and spa. We have rentals of canoes and mountain bikes also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawtelle Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawtelle Mountain Hotel Island Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing