We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bad stay!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was here for a one night stay after visiting Yellowstone.

At the check-in there were some young girls and young boys hanging out. I don't know if they all worked at that place, but it did not give me a welcome feeling. They looked like teenagers that were running this place.

It gave me a little bit an unsave feeling to seey young boys hanging out at the front desk with the lady that was working there.

When I went to the room, it was small, dirty and everything was old and cheap. The bed was not comfy, and it was very hot.

The Wifi was very bad and in my room there was no internet connection.

Lucky as I was, it was only a one night stay. But for the same price I could have find much much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoubeir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    51
    33
    21
    30
See reviews for
60
71
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

condo location fantastic but this place really needs a working manager. the heater next to the door didnt work, the light switch had a short in it and buzzed and sparked when used, the upsatairs mattress was so old and broken down you couldnt sleep on it and the deadbolt for the adjoining room wasnt locked making anyone able to come into our room at any time.(didnt notice this untill the 9th day we were there) the only person i was able to explain this to was a maintenace man, which nothing ever got resolved. they do have private hot tubs. if you go in the winter, make sure you plan a safe way out of the hot tub as there is no steps to get into the high hot tub and the water will freeze when you get out. very dangerous

Room Tip: if you go during busy season, try for a end unit, it would be alot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, Manager at Sawtelle Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us. To clarify, two Mangers were working at the front desk during your stay at Sawtelle Mountain Resort. It is our policy to record all complaints in our computer; however, there was never a complaint given about your cabin. If there was a complaint, we would have sent an employee over immediately to fix the problem.

You did come in and asked for a blow dryer and a manger handed you one and asked how your stay was going. Your reply was that everything was great. We are sorry if the mattresses did not fit your needs. They are actually new and not old. Since it was just you and your wife staying, I'm surprised to hear that you stayed in the loft upstairs, instead of the master bedroom downstairs. Interesting...

As for the lock there is a dead bolt on each side. If you keep your side locked, no one can enter. We would have gladly resolved these concerns during your stay if you would have let someone at the front desk know about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Island Park hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I love Sawtelle Mountain Resort! The staff is SUPER friendly! The rooms were clean. We've stayed here several times and never had a problem with them! There condos are fantastic and so worth the price!! They don't have a restruant but remember people this hotel is in the mountains! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren4oakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rigby, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at this resort January 18th-20th of 2013. We had called and made reservations over the phone. Upon arrival, and also realizing how much luggage, euipment, etc..... we had, we upgraded to a larger room without any problems at all. We arrived to our "room" with the fireplace lit, the condo at 72 degrees and the fridge turned on and cold for the goodies we had brought along, as well as the ice cubes already froze and ready use in the freezer. We "WILL" return to this resort and "HIGHLY" recommend it to anyone out there looking for a "MARVELOUS" place to stay. "THANK YOU" to the staff and management for a WARM, WONDERFUL and WELCOME place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigby_IdahoShanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, MT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed at the Sawtelle Mountain Resort late December 2012 to do some snowmobiling in the Island Park area. We stayed in a deluxe singe room with a microwave, fridge and coffee pot. We found the room to be very clean and it was a great value. The place was packed with snowmobilers most of our stay. The only downside was that the hot tub wasn't working. For about $4 you can go across the road to use the Island Park Resort's hot tubs though. There is a convenience store and gas across the highway. A Subway restaurant was next door and the Island Park Lodge across the street had a bar and a restaurant with excellent food. You can get anywhere in town on a snowmobile. All in all, we were very happy with our stay at the Sawtelle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidney
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Beware not to miss it when you're on the road. It on your right in front of a gas station when you're heading south.
It's very very quiet in september.
Just across the street you have a gas station / general store where you can find all kind of food and almost every thing else you need. You also have a good country restaurant.
It's a very good place to stop when leaving yellowstone (or heading to) close enough to the park to allow you a full day in.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
11.2 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#1 of 4 in Island Park
98 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
14.5 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
142 reviews
14.3 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawtelle Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtelle Mountain Resort

Property: Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Address: 4133 Quakie Ln, Island Park, ID 83429-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sawtelle Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawtelle Mountain Resort offers room to fit any size and any budget. From a Single room to large 25 person groups. We have luxury family cabins for a party of 22 fully furnished. We have a large park for reunions with an indoor swimming pool, and spa. We have rentals of canoes and mountain bikes also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawtelle Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawtelle Mountain Hotel Island Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing