We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could ever ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines at Island Park
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything we could ever ask for”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We spent 4 days in a one-bedroom cabin with our 6-year-old, and this cabin kept all of us comfortable and occupied. My daughter immediately claimed the loft, and we all enjoyed access to movies and TV. The kitchenette was perfect for breakfast foods and sandwiches, and the hot tub was clean, lovely, and so much fun on the chilly nights! We ate at the lodge for only one meal, but it was great. We arrived too late for dinner on our final night, and the proprieters offered to make us some chicken fingers although they had begun cleaning for the night. We had desert and had a lovely conversation, got directions for the next day, and felt like we parted friends! The lodge has a rustic bar with fireplace and very good service. An easy drive to West Yellowstone, too. Free wifi, but signals are difficult. Got good phone reception on the deck.

Room Tip: Each cabin comes with a loft bed, so 1 BR=2 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erika611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We actually stayed there in August 2009, but I forgot to submit a rating and I definitely want to share our experience. While the Pines isn't right outside Yellowstone, it is worth the drive. We stayed in a one bedroom with a loft (in which there is a second bed), and it was fantastic. Very clean and comfortably appointed with a lovely rustic flair. There was no stove in the kitchen, but we did just fine with the microwave - making breakfast and reheating leftovers. Loved the hot tub on the porch and the quiet surroundings. When I made reservations I asked if there were any specials and got a terrific discount (don't know if the fact that I made our reservations months in advance mattered in that regard). We weren't impressed with the restaurant, but there are plenty of places to eat at in West Yellowstone. We will definitely stay at this terrific property again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjrk1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wherever i am
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great cabins to stay in - we got a 2 bedroom with a loft and master, so really 4 beds. Big jetted tub in the master and spacious bathrooms for the other rooms. Fully stocked kitchen - ours even had a blender. Great gas fireplace, jacuzzi on our deck (so nice to have a private hot tub), large dinner table, soft leather couches. Close to West Yellowstone park- we traveled in and out two days. If you are looking for a great place to stay - THIS IS IT. I know we will be back with more family.
-only down side was we didn't get to see the two moose that had been wandering around the cabins prior to our arrival-

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaito009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This place and it's people are unparalleled. It is not only a gorgeous "cabin" (house) in the middle of the pines, it's stocked with everything you need, multiple beds for comfort choice, LARGE living and bedding areas, w/d in unit, fabulous kitchen, and SO many electrical plugs everything you carry on your trip with you can be charged easily. What's not easy? Leaving. The views from inside the cabin were beautiful. This is a place for relaxation at it's best. The proprietors were concerned for us with our late check in, wanted to make sure we got there safe and checked on us the next morning. I have a feeling they knew when we got there as well. It's a 25 mile drive, or so, from West Yellowstone and the west Yellowstone Nat'l Park entrance, and totally worth it. Highly recommend. (Internet only available at central lodge)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessInWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We traveled to Yellowstone this past week with family, parents and in-laws. We stayed for 3 nights in Pines , 2 room w/loft. The place is not a resort as you would think in a traditional way, but more of a group of cabins for rental. In fact, I believe I saw a sign in one of them about a ownership possibilities as well.

As you read with others who stayed here, the cabin is impeccable, first class, nothing to complain about. Seems all new and well maintained. I first wished the fireplace was not gas operated but actually did not mind once in, since the smell of the pine from the cabin itself is just so nice. When you check in, they come by later on to make sure all is good. Nice.

Couple things to point out:
- Wish there was internet access in the cabin, but no big deal.
- Lots of mosquito as expected, so be aware.
- Wish the resort grounds were more.. manicured. It would give a resort feel when you are there. I remember seeing even a run down house ( mayb for storage or something?) behind the main cabin which does not look good.

We all enjoyed the cabin so much, I can't think of any other place in the area that could come close to this place. Plus the price was very resonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed in a one room with loft cabin for 6 nights. My teenage kids absolutly loved this cabin and so did we. If you want to stay away from crowds this is the place to be. Beds were great it was clean and the hot tub was so awsome. Its about 25 miles from the town of west yellowstone. Its 32 miles to the west park entrance. If you dont get the full kitchen take your electric skilit to cook food but they all have gas grills outside your cabin and Hottubs also. Its better than staying in a expensive hotel because here you dont have to deal with others making noise etc. We went the last week of July and it was near 80 each day and in the upper 40`s at night . Great place to stay away from crowds

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAWS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 2 nights at this BEAUTIFUL resort and we loved it. More so, because we received an upgrade to a massive 4 bed room log mansion for absolutely free!!!! It was over and beyond what we could have hoped for. The cabins are huge, clean, and very well maintained. The look and the feel of the place is super luxurious. The hot tub was fabulous, we spent quite some time in it. And the beds --- oh my! They are the best I have ever slept in. And yes, the cabin had a full kitchen equiped with everything you can possibly think of - a range, a convection over, ice maker, huge fridge, dishwasher, plates, mats, cutlery, you name it!

We also liked the wooded setting which gives you a secluded feel. There are pines all around, beautiful, tall greenery to feast your eyes on!

But the best part was the service - Colby (or, was it Kerby?) at the desk was a great guy, very helpful and always with a smile.

I would love to go stay there again. In fact I am already planning a winter trip because they have a great winter rate going on. You can call them to ask at [--].

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prioresslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Park
5.6 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
158 reviews
5.6 mi away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
94 reviews
19.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
729 reviews
5.7 mi away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn R - West Yellowstone
Holiday Inn R - West Yellowstone
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines at Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines at Island Park

Property: The Pines at Island Park
Address: 3907 Phillips Loop Rd, Island Park, ID 82429
Region: United States > Idaho > Island Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Island Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines at Island Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pines at Island Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing