We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting”
Review of Crystal Gold Mine

Crystal Gold Mine
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Kellogg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was worth the stop. Our tour guide was excellent (I think he said his wife runs the shop). He was VERY knowledgeable and friendly. The tour is interesting, especially if you have no clue about mining gold. :-) At the end they teach you the technique how to dig your own gold in a river.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What an incredible tour, full of history, mystery, science, geology and giant fish! This was my favorite stop on northern idaho. The tour guides are friendly and knowledgeable, the mystery and romance of the mine are undeniable and the experience is one of a kind. Don't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skurj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun little tour”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Fun little tour to take. Go early in the day so you don't have too many people on the tour. The owners are very nice and extremely knowledgeable about the mines and mining industry. At the end of your tour, they show you how to pan for gold in tubs. The have other precious stones so if you don't find gold, you'll at least walk away with some pretty neat rocks (including amethyst and garnets).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambootsboops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“RV Park Review - Nice Place for One Night Camp”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a review of the Crystal Gold Mine and RV Park, specifically the RV park as that was our experience while passing through in May 2014. This was a great place to pull our RV in to spend the night. As they don't have any restrooms or showers, I don't believe I'd spend more than a night or two here, however, the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Great people and a really nice, quiet and comfortable RV campground. No TV antenna signal or cable available nor was there any WiFi available. No picnic table, but there was a fire-ring available and lots of free wood. Plenty of room between the spots and gold panning available if you'd like to try your luck! I'd stay here again while passing though the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OregonStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“To Actually See the Gold!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Yes, you actually see the gold and other minerals in the rock walls--very cool! This is not a typical gold mine in that it was "accidentally" found only about 20 years ago. I enjoyed the tour and panning experience, but mostly I liked the fact that this business is operated by one family of extremely nice and accommodating people! I would recommend this for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CDenbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Gold Mine also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing