We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent service! Tamarack Lodge is our favorite place to stay in Ketchum. Within walking distance of shops, stores, eating, and entertainment. Very quiet, very clean, very comfortable. We won't stay anywhere else. Would like to thank both Robbie and Tom on our recent stay!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the suites and also the Queen rooms. Both are excellent, very roomy, clean and qu...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Cindals,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of the Tamarack and want to ensure that all of our guests have the best stay possible. I especially like that you would not stay anywhere else. That says it all. I will be sure to share your kind words with Robbie and Tom.
Cheers,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Tamarack Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Apart from a good location, my husband and I thought this hotel was very average. In fact, from the outside, the hotel looks like a barn. I can't understand why when a hotel is nearly empty, management want to put you in a room that is pretty ordinary. Why not put your guests in an upgraded room - just for the experience? From the moment we walked it, the room smelled and even though it was meant to be a refurbished room, it looked old and tired.

There was a cute little balcony, but it abutted the roof which was pretty strange as it felt like we were sitting on the roof.

I loved the town of Ketchum, and I'm sure there are other hotels that are better than this one. Wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you pay for it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eniloracusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Caroline,
I apologize that you were put in an average room. It is our policy to upgrade our guests whenever possible.
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is older property but my room was updated with new paint, fixtures, and a new TV. I think that most of the other stuff in the room (like the bed and pillows, etc) were also new. The room felt fresh.
The cleanliness was very good, especially for a hotel that is pet friendly in a town with very few pet-friendly hotels.

The location is in central Ketchum - it is very affordable considering the location.

The staff was friendly and helpful - I was having trouble with my TV and the staff came to my room promptly and fixed the problem.

Thanks Tara.

Room Tip: The bottom floor rooms are great if you have a dog - there is a very nice courtyard that you can use...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

David,
Thank you for the great descriptive review of the Tamarack Lodge. We continue to make upgrades to the rooms and appreciate your feedback.
Thanks, Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thank you for making us feel welcome. Tom, was very polite, and helpful. The room smelled a little of smoke, but was clean. The bed was comfortable, and was impressed with the white linen.. The balcony was a perk!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Elisha999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Elisha999,
We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Tamarack Lodge. We will look into the smoke smell as we are 100% smoke free property.
Thanks, Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great and comfortable stay here. Hotel is located right in the center of town, great location and walking distance from a lot of restaraunt and activities. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Staff was very helpful and nice, especially Tom at the front desk. Would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alexandria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Alexandria,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you sharing your experience at the tamarack Lodge.
Sincerely,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Right in town. Low key vibe. Super friendly service. Thanks Tom! Rooms are decently updated. Can't say enough how great the location is!!! Pool and hot tub were clean and ready to use. Parking could be a little better. Other than that, no complaints!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsgbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dsgbiker,
Thank you for your review of the Tamarack Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Next time please let us know about the parking situation and we will recommend additional spots that you can conveniently part at. We have a large lot in the back of the property that sometimes gets over looked. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I thought $119 was high for the off season but, Tom said he would make a deal with me and give me the room for
$ 99 if I gave the hotel a five star rating and mentioned his name.

I may have given that rating if I had been treated fairly with out the bribe.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DanF32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodriverinn, Owner at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

DanF32,
I am sorry for the confusion about the discount. I am sorry for the confusion on the rate. In talking to Tom I believe his intension was to adjust your rate so that you had a 5 star stay with us. We do strive for a 5 star stays with all our guests. Again, sorry for the confusion and I hope you will consider staying at the Tamarack during your next business travel to Sun Valley.
Sincerely,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
88 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 291 N. Walnut Ave., Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: £87 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarack Lodge looks forward to your visit to the Sun Valley area welcoming you with beautiful spacious rooms, comfort, unmatched hospitality, combined with unparalleled location all yours in the heart of downtown Ketchum, with all the comforts of home. The property also has a beautifully landscaped courtyard, a wonderfully relaxing outdoor hot tub with a great mountain view and a year-round indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Lodge Ketchum, Idaho
Tamarack Hotel Ketchum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing