We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiley Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ketchum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smiley Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well maintained and trimmed. Backcountry airport nearby. Restaurant and gas station part of the property. Business is remote, so prices are on the high side. Well staffed. RV sites are large, grassy green and clean. Shower house is clean. In addition to motel rooms, one can stay in a yurt of one of two teepees on site. Wifi was available in the restaurant, but weak-non existant outside. Cel phones don't work here. Fishing and hiking nearby. The kids liked playing on the wood chain-saw carved bears.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffalogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the RV park with full hookups. From what we could tell all the cabins, teepees, and yurt was full each of the two nights we were onsite. Little C-store had everything we needed (except fishing worms... not their fault though), restaurant had good food at an acceptable price for the location. All staff was very friendly, the RV park was neat, clean, and the shower building clean. Outside dining deck overlooks the airstrip across the highway & sheep across the fence. Cute chainsaw carvings of woodland creatures, including a giant chess set! Our dogs growled at the bear each time we took them over to the dog rest area with their own wood carved hydrant. Only problem we had was a family group staying in two of the cabins let their young boys drive round & round the RV loop on their 4-wheeler & mini-motorbike. After the first hour it was rather annoying & the staff member I spoke with said they would look into it... it didn't stop them from continuing on for another 2 hours! Quiet time is 10 pm for the Resort but this family group wasn't included in the rules - not the resort's fault but would have been nice for them to take care of the complaints about them right away.

Room Tip: Honestly can say any of the RV spots are level and full hookups. Just beware of parking your RV too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We tent camped here July 28-30 - the absence of campgrounds with showers in this region compelled us to choose Smiley Creek. Very reasonably priced for a tent site ($15/night) given the amenities - electrical outlets were available, as well as flush toilets and sinks. My only knock is the lack of designated tent sites that have some element of seclusion - we were told simply to set up shop anywhere near the teepees and cabins. There is enough space for a few tents there, but no shade or privacy really. Nevertheless, for the cleanliness of the bathrooms, the price, and a comfortable spot in the grass, 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlammers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a Tipi at the Smiley Creek Lodge in Sawtooth City, ID. It was an experience we wanted to have and now we had it and will never do it again. At least not there. They have it posted that quiet time is 10pm. most everyone is in trailers, so 10pm stretched to 12:30am and we seemed to be the only ones bothered by this. The sheep in the pasture behind the tipis came over and made noises ALL NIGHT LONG. It seems the perfect setting, but next time, I'll just save the $45 and camp. They have ONE...that's right I said ONE TOILET in the men's and women's rooms. And if someone is showering and locked the door, you'll be waiting a while to get in. The guy at the store that doubles as front desk was just flat and unhelpful, not rude, just not helpful. The food at the lodge was mediocre, not very many choices. I could never get in the shower (there are two for the whole campground), so I am not able to comment on the quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Football_Mom422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We ate dinner there and had the most outstanding food. We chose lake trout with capers, pork chops, all served with delicious apple mashed potatoes and cooked vegetables. The children's menu included entrees that come with either french fries or veggies. Our six year old's chicken strips were delicious and since she chose vegetables, she was served with raw carrots and celery sticks. Great service! This lodge is located at the south end of the Sawtooth Valley and is the first restaurant/hotel you encounter after you go over Galena Summit from Ketchum into the Sawtooths. This lodge has a beautiful log decor and is tastefully decorated. Four star dining in the Sawtooths!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Smiley Creek Lodge, would never have ventured here except my daughter has taken a job with the Sawtooth Fish Hatchery. We needed a place to stay Memorial Day Weekend so we could visit. Smiley Creek was recommended by a friend. I expected a cabin, for the price, to be like the forest service cabins. Bunk bed and futon with a small table. Took our sleeping bags to sleep in. What we walked into was paradise in the beautiful mountains. The cabin was bigger than I ever expected. The 2 beds were amazing and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. The cabin, spotless! Adirondack chairs on the deck invited me to stay forever and read while enjoying the amazing view of the mountains and smell of the forest. They don't have bathrooms but the shower house is just a few steps away with a modern toilet and plenty of hot water! The lodge offers an amazing menu of delicious food and giant, to die for, cinnamon rolls! Only wish I could have my coffee before 8am and after 8 pm. Ha. For all of us that can't bear to not be connected, the lodge does have a wifi hotspot! On top of all this, the staff are the nicest, friendliest people I've met. Always ready to help. And, lots of hiking, kayaking and fishing available. 26 miles from Stanley on the highway to Sun Valley. About 3 hours from Boise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsVolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The food was excellent, people were friendly, location superb. Especially enjoyed the milkshakes. Great stop between Redfish lake and Ketchum.

We didn't spend a night so no idea of lodging.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falcon67pw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
26.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tyrolean Lodge
26.7 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
26.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn Motel & Restaurant
26.4 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Creek Lodge
Valley Creek Lodge
#3 of 4 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiley Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiley Creek Lodge

Property: Smiley Creek Lodge
Address: 16546 Highway 75, Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Smiley Creek Lodge Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing