We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Paella!”
Review of Boca - CLOSED

Boca
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ketchum is adjacent to Sun Valley. Many tourists refer to Ketchum as Sun Valley, so it is appropriate to list this restaurant with two city names: Kechum and Sun Valley
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Staff at the hotel suggested this place and recommended the paella. We're glad they did! Food and service were great. This is a tapa place, and we really enjoyed it. We were celebrating our anniversary, and they provided a dessert. Very kind!

Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have a long history of loving tapas and are always on lookout for a new place to try.
The decor is modern, clean, somewhat chic with beautiful artwork on the walls. Tho rather small, it's comfy. Can see how it would pack up pretty quick.
Started with the Double Diamond flight of tequila (Don Julio 1492 is a favorite with it's vanilla aroma). Can't go wrong there. They paired it with the house sangaria as a palate cleanser but i wasn't too taken with it. Orange slices with cinnamon is still the best compliment i've ever had with good tequila. My wife had the El Fuego Dolce which she loved but a little too fruity for me.
Started with a salad - fresh and crisp with a tasty dressing. Then, for tapas, had the pork carnitas, the Chef's empanadas special, lamb meatballs, and the Serrano baby back ribs. The waitress was right-on - that was more than enough for two. Each of the first three were very good on their own but it was the sauces each had on the side is what put each over the top. Great compliment to the tapas.
The only drawback, and the reason I can't give Boca a better rating, was the baby back ribs. The flavor was awesome - great combo of sweet and spicy (very spicy!) - but they came overlooked, dry, chewy and warm at best. Had seen another review with the same problem but chalked it up as a one-off. Seems you have to catch it just right. There's no way that could be their standard? Finished up with some mango sorbet and flan with berries, both very good.

Fortunately, the drinks, service, atmosphere, and other items were top- notch.
Will without a doubt go back, but, avoid the ribs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Good sauces and flavors in many of the dishes. The food could be great with better execution. For example the sauce on the ribs is a great combination of spicy and sweet but the ribs were tough and overcooked. Same could be said about the pork. Other dishes that didn't involve meat I thought were well done.

All in all it's a fun spot for groups to socialize and share dishes. The place could be great with a few minor cooking changes to make this place a must stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank txtraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are sorry to hear the meats weren't cooked to the high quality we strive for. Hopefully next time you try us they will be to your liking. Thank you so much for stopping in and then taking time to share your opinion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the social aspect of Tapas style dining. We hope you will give us another chance!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This contemporary looking restaurant is divided into a bar area and more conventional seating. The menu contains many small plates, tapas, but other items as well. There were a number of specials also. The plates were beautiful, hot and very tasty. An excellent variety of foods and last evening I had the shrimp which were in a delicious but light sauce. The grilled artichoke, likewise was very tasty with or without the dipping sauce. It is a good place to share some items. The desserts were very delicious but not over bearing. The wine list is mostly spanish with reasonably priced glasses and bottles. The only complaint I had was that it was moderately noisy as so many restaurants are nowadays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fredjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback we are happy that you enjoyed your experience. It can sometimes be a little noisy with our festive atmosphere and live music on weekends. Next time you make a reservation to visit please ask for a quieter table and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a wonderful new restaurant in Ketchum. We went there for a quick drink and stayed hours. The bartender is terrific (Shawn); he recommended a drink with grapefruit, pomegranate and other goodies...it was certainly one of the most unique I have ever experienced. We had the lamb meatballs, the shrimp and an artichoke ...finished with a decadent banana split...yummy!
We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca K, Manager at Boca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your visit, and the positive feed back. We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing