We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fresh Mexican Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desperado's

Desperado's
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted "Valleys Best Mexican" again in 2013! "We create authentic, delicious Mexican dishes that respect your desires for a healthy meal without compromising flavor. Offering fresh ingredients (locally sourced when available), high quality, regionally sourced meats, daily specials, vegetarian selections, and 3 kinds of salsa made daily. We use non-hydrogenated oil with a dedicated chip fryer. Owner/Manager Jim Funk started Despo's in 1983. Specials every day, Wednesdays you can count on Texas Tacos. Celebrate Meatless Margarita Monday every week with 20% off all Veggie menu items and 20% off Margaritas!
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

If you like Mexican food you will love eating here. All of the dishes are fresh and taste great. The homemade salsa is very good as well. One of the best parts of eating here is the owner who personally makes sure that everyone has a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Idahojoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Desperado's, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Can't thank you enough for taking time to post such nice stuff! Your satisfaction is important to us, so muchas gracias. We look forward to serving you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    67
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never mind”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We are from New Mexico and were told this was where the locals eat for good Mexican fare. Not do much. Service was great and staff very friendly, say food not fabulous and we tried many menu items. Skip this one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A-Good-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Desperado's, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am happy your service was good, but very concerned with your issues regarding our food. We work very hard to assure quality meals, working with natural and only the freshest ingredients. We are constantly tasting and asking for customer feedback in order to assure a good customer experience. I would love to talk with you in person - if I don't know what was wrong, I can't fix it and I certainly would like to!! Please give me a call at Despo's - 208 726-3068. I am there every day from about 6am until around 3pm. I look forward to making this right. Jim Funk - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deliciously fresh burritos!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch with a craving for Mexican food and were so thrilled! The burritos were delicious with so many choices. They also have delicous salsa!! We were very pleased.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msidemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Desperado's, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We are thrilled you came to Despo's! Thanks so much for taking time to post your great review. We can't wait to serve you again (and again, and again!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I went here for the first time a few weeks ago and I'm going back soon just because it's one of the very best and freshest Mexican food joints I've ever been to. Wow!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Idahojoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Desperado's, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Wow back!! Thanks so much for taking time to post such an awesome review and we can't wait for the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“glad we went there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were waffling about eating there, standing on the sidewalk, discussing the place for a few minutes. It gets mixed reviews. Ours is not mixed. We very much enjoyed our food, iced tea, waitress and patio. We will certainly go again when we can. Our food was very tasty but still light for Mexican.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank auh2o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Desperado's, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are glad you came to Despo's too! Thank you so much for coming and for writing this review! We sincerely care about out customers experience and are thrilled you enjoyed yours. We look forward to seeing you again (and again!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desperado's also viewed

 

Been to Desperado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing