We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Delightful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trail Creek Cabin

Trail Creek Cabin
Reserve with OpenTable
Trail Creek Cabin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 79 Restaurants in Ketchum
Price range: US$16 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sun Valley Road
Description: A romantic hideaway since 1937, Trail Creek Cabin is a must Sun Valley dining adventure. Sleighs depart for the restaurant from the village near the Sun Valley Inn during the ski season, and you may also drive. The seasonal menu has a western flare with items including locally raised beef, Idaho Trout, baby back ribs and the Hemingway meat loaf. All complimented by a great wine list and a full bar.
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“So Delightful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

First of all, we rode a horse-drawn wagon from Sun Valley Inn to Trail Creek Cabin - how delightful! It was a beautiful, crisp evening and they provided warm blankets for us. It was about a 35 min. ride under twinkling stars. When we arrived, they were very quick to seat us! There was a fire crackling in the fireplace and a comfortable table. Our server came to our table almost immediately to offer us drinks and answer questions about the menu. She was spot on the whole evening! We enjoyed bread, and wonderful warm soup. I ordered the Steelhead Trout - out of this world delicious!! My husband enjoyed his roast beef just as much. Desserts were "to die for" yummy!! The whole experience was just delightful! We even had an accordion player to play for us and carolers to serenade the whole room of diners. So delightful!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wagon ride instead of sleigh ride, bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were planning to visit Sun Valley during New Years week. The Sun Valley Lodge website gave the impression that we must book the popular sleigh ride to Trail Creek Cabin in advance, so I paid for the non-refundable ride in November. When we arrived, there was not enough snow, so we went on a wagon ride instead. Although the ride was pleasant, it was definitely disappointing. The staff at the restaurant was very good, and the accordion player was entertaining, but the food was really bad. My wife and two kids found the food barely edible. Worst of all, the combined cost of the "sleigh ride" and dinner for 4 was almost $400, which seemed ridiculously high.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nyoperafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvalleyresort, Manager at Trail Creek Cabin, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your wagon ride and dining experience at Trail Creek Cabin. We are so sorry that it was a disappointing experience for you, but do appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve our service and offerings and gets us closer to our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. The quality of the food is something we are working on, and we are making an effort to improve communication with our guests when we have to use wagons in place of the traditional sleighs due to insufficient snow conditions. It is pretty unusual this time of year that sleighs cannot be used, but it has been a dry winter with unpredictable snow conditions, and this unfortunately forces us to substitute with wagons instead. We have offered our Trail Creek Cabin guests gift cards to compensate for the disappointment they may have experienced, and are sorry if we did not reach out to you in this instance. I would appreciate it if you could contact me Jennifer Uhrig 208.622.2248, so that we can make amends to you directly. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sun Valley, and are confident that your next experience here will be a satisfying one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not go to Trail Creek Cabin on a Sun Valley wagon or sleigh ride. Drive there yourself.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Trail Creek Cabin food and service is excellent. However best to bypass the SV wagon or sleigh transportation. The Sun Valley Wagon/Sleigh service staff are inexperienced and inept and you can find yourself being rushed through dinner to stay on their timetable. Very unrelaxing and not a fun experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HikerSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pretty but that's about it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I'll make this short:
Pros: Beautiful scenery if you sit by the window, nice atmosphere, we had a good waitress.
Cons: food is ok - for the prices I'd expect the food to be at least good. We arrived and there were no other guests at the restaurant - we didn't have a reservation and the host still made us feel like he was doing us a huge favor by giving us a table.
Overall - we don't think we will be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good, but make reservations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited there midweek just after Labor Day, knowing the area not to be crowded, and even though the place was almost empty, they still expected reservations. When we said we did not have one, they seemed very put out by our misstep, which ended up making us feel unwelcome. They "found us a table" on the patio by the door, and our waitress was very welcoming and nice, but the host fellow needs to learn how to not be so stuffy to his customers. The food was delicious, we were not very hungry due to a late lunch, but my roasted beet salad was a perfect sized serving, and delicious with fresh and local red and yellow beets. My husband ordered the sliders, and was pleasantly surprised by the size and taste as this was meant to only be an appetizer. We had a wonderful time once we made it past the initial check-station treatment. Next time, we will make the reservations and avoid the icy reception.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IdahoTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trail Creek Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Trail Creek Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing