We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Limelight Hotel Ketchum(Ketchum)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge(Ketchum)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Ketchum)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knob Hill Inn(Ketchum)
US$206
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Valley Lodge(Sun Valley)
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ketchum(Ketchum)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
189
113
24
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
113
24
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrapsrestaurant next doorwithin walking distancein townfront deskmain streetsun valleywestern decorconvenient locationindoor poolrestaurants and shoppinggas fireplaceking bedplace to stayroad tripdowntown ketchumthe staff was friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

During our cross-country car trip -- this is Day 87 -- we have had two stops where employees who happened to be staying at that hotel were plain and simply, A Menace To Society. Sadly, both times it was a Best Western. The first time, the chap in the next door room -- an employee -- played his guitar for hours on end. The second time -- here at the Kentwood Lodge -- it was a smoker. Perhaps most maddening about returning to our room and having the whole place stink of cigarette smoke -- from the employee staying in the room below ours, both of us with balconies -- was that when we checked in, we happily remarked that the front desk had warnings about the penalties for smoking in the rooms of this 100% non-smoking establishment. We were told oh yes, those who violate the policy are fined and "the room is taken out of circulation until it has been sanitized." On and on. We believed every word. So imagine our reaction when we reported back to them that after taking a walk through town, our room stunk of smoke, and I quote: "Oh, I know who that is. It's an employee." Somebody needs to walk the talk here. As for the hotel, there was a ton of chlorine in the pool (too bad, it's a nice big indoor pool)... there are chaise lounges adjacent to sun yourself outside... town center is right there, within walking distance... and other reviewers aren't kidding when they say the $5 breakfast credit you get for the restaurant next door is worthless to travelers because they don't open until 8 a.m.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

I am sorry to see there was no mention that it was during the middle of summer and we are in forest service land which many areas were on fire at the time and smoke filled our valley. Yes,rooms smelt like smoke from it for one,especially if you kept a window open,and I was only trying to do our best to take care of something that was bothering your stay. In asking someone to not smoke on the balcony,which is not in the room, helps others as well. There is walking the talk, and it was taken care of quickly,once noted. The cafe opens the same norm time that the other restaurants here in our resort town do. I am sorry to hear that you had such a disgruntled stay for the short amount of time you spent with us. Maybe for a next stay in the Sun Valley/Ketchum area you might like to choose another hotel and be more comfortable with more amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here last week. It is one the south edge of town, literally one of the first buildings you see as you enter Ketchum. As others have noted, the hotel is a bit dated, and the furnishings are "more western" than some people are used to. That said, the hotel is clean, the staff is helpful, the beds are great, and the ac works just fine thank you.

I have to laugh at some of the complaints that have been recorded. Makes you wonder if you should take any of them (including this one?) seriously. For example, if you take a second to go their web site you can see that desk hrs are 7am-11pm. How hard is that to figure out? Also, Wraps is not across the street. It is in the front of the building. You do have to go outside to get there. Not tough to do. Speaking of Wraps, it is disappointing. Coupons don't cover costs, and the food is ordinary at best.

You can walk to bars and restaurants. Sawtooth and Pioneer are the best close by. Cellar is good too, but you might want to drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mazolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised and loved our stay at this hotel. The room was very nice with a good view and balcony. The facility was very very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We also loved that we could walk to everything. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed on one side and our friends stayed on the other and both had equally great views, the back side might e a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank judyputudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us! We really appreciate the very nice review that you posted. It's spot on! and we hope future guests have as great of a stay as you did also because of your comments.Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you want to stay in town, this is one of the very options available. Thankfully, it is a good one. Though the facility is somewhat dated and the décor is mountain kitsch, the rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean. The location is great and the parking is convenient. One negative, the AC unit is noisy. Also, half of the rooms face a main street so ask for a room in the back so you can sleep with the slider open and not use the AC unit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 758Paul423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Paul, thank you for your review from your stay with us in the wonderful small resort mountain town. We have incorporated the characteristics from the area into decorating our hotel. We are in the North west and the area has many ranches,Cowboys,Indians,Miners and Farmers. We have custom log furniture in the rooms,custom local river rock work on our fireplaces,building and inside pool deck areas. There are real wool blankets,rugs and dream catchers located in the rooms and other areas of the hotel. Leather and wood are also used thru out. I am sorry to hear you were sensitive to the ac unit and I am glad to see you were able to enjoy many of our wonderful amenities.Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had not stayed in a Best Western property for many years, due to poor quality in the past. I decided to try this hotel because of the listed amenities. Upon checking in, we were given coupons for breakfast at an adjoining restaurant that did not open until 8:00am. Our schedule had us leaving before then, so not a useful amenity. The room and hallways were clean, but there was a sour smell in the closet and the towels also smelled less than fresh. The hotel is obviously old and could use a refresh. On the plus side, the desk staff is very nice and accommodating and the location is good for walking downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSKentwoodLodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Kristine,I am sorry to hear that your schedule and the cafe's did not mesh. Many of the resturants in Ketchum do not open until 8am which is a norm. So in having a small microwave and refridgerator in every room; these are nice amenities to help in this regard. There is also a grocery store just 2 doors away which is also convenient. The smell you may have smelt in the closet area is the stain that was on the newly remodeled closet wardrobe doors,which were custom made for the rooms. I am glad you noticed how clean our housekeepers keep our hotel,I will pass this on to them. They have received the Best Western the Excellence Award in Housekeeping,many years in a row now. In fact we have received the Chairman's award 7 years in a row,placing us in the top 5% of all Best Westerns. Thank you for the other compliments you noted of our staff and how we have one of the best locations in town. All our best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews