We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days”
Review of Knob Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knob Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great few days”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A friend who recently moved to Idaho and I got away for a few days up to Ketchum. It has been many years since I had been there - I have stayed at this property in the past. The location is on the outskirts (but this is a tiny town!) and everything is walkable. They also have a free shuttle service and will take you to restaurants etc. as well as picking you up. We stayed in one of the penthouse rooms - very large and comfortable - good bathroom with double vanity as well. I slept on the fold out couch - which, surprisingly, was great. We had a wonderful fireplace and had a fire lit on both nights - really wonderful. There is a hot tub and pool which - although small, are just fine. The staff was very friendly and relaxed - I would say casual but that might sound like they are not professional - which they are. Having a nice breakfast included in the rates is great. The bar was hopping and busy - a nice vibe. The restaurant 'The Grill' is actually the Warm Springs Ranch group - for those not familiar with Sun Valley - the Warm Springs Ranch was a great family friendly restaurant - good food, great honey butter!, and an all time favorite. I am so glad that it is back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remembertoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    21
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
177
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

While I agree with most of the good ratings, the lack of a good nights sleep seemed to overshadow everything. The staff was friendly and the service was great. The property exudes European charm even though it sits on the busiest road in town. The rooms are large and have the feel of a mountain chalet. The bathrooms where well designed and I may have been better off sleep in the jetted tub.

The staff went out of their way to get us settled.

Room Tip: The view from the Balcony is incredible but the balcony is shared so privacy will be an issue for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Wa.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

from the walking tour of the hotel upon check-in to the truffles and bottled water at check-out, the service was PERFECT. one more we missed breakfast, and the front desk gave us the number to a favorite local breakfast joint to order and pay for our food and then they picked it up and delivered to our room! will go back again and again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile


I have stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions and both times have left there thinking that this is a great place to stay. All of the rooms are oversized and have beautiful large showers and tubs. The atmosphere is quiet and the lobby is comfortable and warm. The hallways of the hotel have some room for improvement but the rooms themselves are great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Idahojoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnobHillInn, Operations Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Knob Hill Inn on your recent visit to Ketchum. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is the first time we had stayed in Ketchum, and this hotel was phenomenal. From the moment we got out of the car, the staff was on the spot. Our luggage was taken from us and delivered to our room, while another staff member gave us a tour of the place. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and extremely comfortable. The big fireplace in the entry added extra warmth to the place, and the turn down service with the chocolates in the evening was a special added touch. Will definitely be back to stay at the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnobHillInn, Operations Manager at Knob Hill Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review of Knob Hill Inn. I am so pleased to hear our staff took great care of you and that you enjoyed the amenities and services we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Knob Hill Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, WA
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel had everything we hoped for and more! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Kyle (front desk), Ursula (restaurant) and others. The rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious and inviting. Love the "L'Occitane" bath products too, and the wood burning fireplace (not available in all rooms), turn down service with chocolates, complimentary water bottles,bath salts, luxury robes, and so many other nice touches. Fresh cookies in the evening were a nice treat after a day of skiing, etc. The bar area was quite popular while we were there for après ski, and definitely has a great, "local" and cozy feeling with the couch area, fireplace, and bar. If you plan to eat dinner there, make a reservation. Lots of nice choices on the menu to please all types of diners. The hotel feels like a boutique Euro hotel, and the manzanita branches clustered on the ceiling, the airy atmosphere, etc. are all great. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast which came with the room and included fresh granola, fruit, egg dishes, thick bacon and 2 choices of sausage. Pool/Hot Tub are in adjacent bldg. across patio with large windows that are open if the weather is cooperating. We are looking forward to a return trip to this beautiful property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The service at the Knob Hill Inn is unparalleled. We experienced the kind of service you would expect at a top of the line luxury inn with room rates starting at $1,000 per night. To a fault, each employee bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We didn't need a rental car because the Inn provided transportation anywhere anytime. On a moment's notice, they had someone ready to drive us to the theater and pick us up, or any restaurant, or the ski area. We had no waits and they were always delighted to assist. The front desk made reservations and arrangements for anything we wanted to do. Even though the inn was quite full, we often felt like the only guests- it seemed like there was a team ready to wait on us and only us at all times- I have had this complete type of pampered experience only at places that charge 5 times what we paid at the Inn at Knob Hill.

Since my husband was injured on the first day of our ski trip, he spent quite a lot of the time at the inn and commented that if we had rented a condo or townhouse (which we had considered doing), the trip would have been miserable- he would have been stuck at the house because he was on crutches. Having an elevator in the inn turned out to be a great thing. With the friendly hotel staff willing to drive him anywhere, he was able to go the nearby fantastic YMCA and use the pool and hot tub every day - a great thing for a guy who likes to keep in shape. He felt like he had a whole team of support - while the rest of us were out skiing, the staff helped him go anywhere or do anything he wanted to do.

Similarly, the kitchen staff at breakfast bent over backwards to accommodate us- with two gluten free people in our party of four, they happily filled our request to provide steel cut oatmeal for breakfast and almond milk. We had to teach the chefs how to make the oatmeal, but it just provided us with another friendly encounter with staff who were all too eager to please.

There are many positives about the Inn - rooms are beautiful and fabulously comfortable. It's a lovely well- appointed inn. Breakfast was good. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and hot tub. Great for apres ski and soothing sore muscles. The staff handles ski equipment so you don't have to schlep it around- they load it in the vehicle, unload it, and store boots and skis in a locker room with boot warmers. Having the staff do all the schlepping made us feel so pampered.

The inn is very close to town- which is nice. We loved the fact that it is next to a world class YMCA and the hotel provided free passes that we used every day. The Y has great workout facilities and a rock climbing gym, as well as a child care facility. It's so close to the hotel that it really is like the hotel has a world class athletic facility attached to it.

The only negative things I can say about the Knob Hill Inn are the following:

The restaurant for dinner was mediocre. Ketcham has many wonderful restaurants and we recommend you try them- eat elsewhere.

The hotel has no real comfortable lounge to hang out in -the options are the loud noisy bar downstairs or your room. It would have been nice to have some big comfy seating and tables for playing cards, having a drink, and socializing. But we made do in the bar and in our exceptionally large room.

Finally, the setting isn't very scenic. The hotel is really in the commercial / industrial side of Ketcham- but it's lovely inside and many rooms have a nice view of Knob Hill. Everything else about the Inn is so wonderful, that we really didn't mind the setting so much. With the YMCA and town so close by, the location has its advantages.

This was our first time in Sun Valley, but not the last- we loved the ski area and the Inn and can't wait to return. Our friends who have been to Sun Valley many times but never stayed at the Inn until this trip said that the Inn at Knob Hill was far better than the Lodge, way more service oriented and intimate, and that they would certainly opt for the Inn again next time. We are all planning to go back next winter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfginSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.9 mi away
Sun Valley Lodge
Sun Valley Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sun Valley
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
176 reviews
11.4 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Inn

Property: Knob Hill Inn
Address: 960 North Main Street, PO Box 1327, Ketchum, ID 83340
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knob Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience personalized service, and a warm and inviting European charm at the Knob Hill Inn, Sun Valley's premier boutique hotel. Generously sized guestrooms offer spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. And guests have preferred seating at The Grill at Knob Hill, Sun Valley's popular hot spot with ample seating for dining and socializing. Every stay includes: - Complimentary signature continental breakfast daily - 42" flat screen high-definition televisions in every room - Complimentary WiFi - Complimentary in-town shuttle serviceWithin walking distance to downtown Ketchum and close to all the amenities Sun Valley resort has to offer, the Knob Hill Inn is located in a peaceful setting with views of world-famous Bald Mountain, the majestic Smokey and Boulder Mountain ranges. You can also take advantage of our indoor heated pool, hot tub and sauna. Whether you're looking to discover memorable summer fun for your Sun Valley, Idaho vacation, or experience our winter wonderland at America's first destination ski resort, the Knob Hill Inn Sun Valley is your choice for the perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Knob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knob Hill Hotel Ketchum
Knob Hill Inn Ketchum, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing