We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner/Operator overcharging for rooms”
Review of Hotel Ketchum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ketchum
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our slopestyle ski team stayed at this property back in early March while attending a competition, and were overcharged by $406.00USD. Several attempts have been made to get credit back on this via the staff and the owner, and it has turned on deaf ears. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone as customer service is not a priority... take your money and run mentality. We have booked hundreds of hotels over the years for all our winter sports teams in Canada (which we are from), the US, and around the world, and have never experienced total disregard for what is just and right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
6  Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This could be a great hotel. The lobby is warm, welcoming and nicely furnished. The staff is friendly and the location on Main and 6th is walking distance from bars, shops and restaurants. There's even a brewery in the building. We had spectacular views of Baldy through our enormous windows. The bed was comfy and the linens clean. BUT...the place hasn't been updated in decades. Our room--a large whirlpool suite--looked sad. No shower so we had to do a wacky tub sprayer thing. Horrible bathroom products. They have bailed from the Clarion chain. I hope someone invests some money in this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BethAnnSH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Hotel Ketchum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. Plans to upgrade parts of the hotel, and to modernize our bath products & fixtures is currently underway. We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Ketchum, and we look forward to providing you with a quality lodging experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

First let me point out that the staff here is amazing - friendly and attentive - in a genuine way. They really are fantastic but this place desperately needs a complete renovation. From the noisy wood planked walkways (floors two and three) to the old carpet covered in dirty traffic areas, the dated 80's furniture to the tiny TV's with huge cable boxes above them, its clear this place really needs work. While the staff is exceptional and my stay was quiet it simply isn't up to my personal standards and had a feel of a cheap roadside motel. Several locals told me there were other lodging options that I should have considered, and until this property updates more than just its name, I will.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EinReisenderAusCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Hotel Ketchum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are moving forward with plans to upgrade our establishment. Hope you'll give us a chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Clarion Inn feels like it is a downward spiral of neglect.

I take an annual motorcycle trip with a couple of buddies and we manage to get to Ketchum every few years. We've always stayed at the Clarion for several reasons:

First price - it is affordable

Second location - you can easily walk into town and visit great restaurants like the Ketchum Grill. There is a fantastic breakfast spot, The Bluebird Café, right next door and now there is even a brewery adjacent to the hotel.

Third - Friendly staff. The staff is really nice here and they even let us park our motorcycle under the lobby awning. Very nice bonus for riders.

Fourth - Hot tub and pool with flexible hours. As long as you are quiet you can enjoy them into the wee hours.

This year we discovered the hotel in pretty bad shape. Mildew in the showers (see photos), the switch board under repair (had to unplug the phone in our room since the message light wouldn't go out), the hotel van was out of commission (an employee gave my buddy a ride in his personal car). During our first stay we found the pool area had towels and drinking water with fresh fruit floating in the dispenser. We didn't find any sign of these nice touches this year.

Looks to me like the owners are simply being cheap and not investing in basic up keep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this Clarion in Ketchum, ID in September. It was our first Clarion ever. The hotel was very large and sprawled out over a lot of property. It had a heated pool. It did not, however, have a breakfast bar. You were given a 10% discount at the little restaurant directly next to the hotel property. We ate there all 3 days and were satisfied with the breakfasts and they were very tasty. The suite was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. The TV was old and not a flat screen. The TV channels were not as posed in the welcome book. The hotel staff was friendly. The hotel was old and needed some updates in the furniture but all in all it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inlovewithcanyonvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked a room at the Ketchum Clarion for one night on our way up to Glacier Park, Montana. After driving north from Wendover, NV we could were looking forward to a pleasant comfortable room with a view....NOT! The room The kind that still have those little airplane liquor bars in them. OLD..old..old....this place is in need of a severe makeover...if not completely torn down. Knowing the Clarion line and its age, I was not expecting a Palmer House or the like but I was not expecting a severely used Motel 6 either.!..all for $140 a night. Only saving grace for this place is that it is located in the little town of Ketchum. If you have a choice stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There are several good places to eat in Ketchum and the Ketchum Grill is right up there with the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and located in central location in Ketchum, very near ski resorts and restaurants. Room heater/air conditioning unit was actually quiet enough that you can get to sleep. This is a beautiful little town. Will likely return next year for the same conference.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11kemptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ketchum
0.6 mi away
Best Western Tyrolean Lodge
0.3 mi away
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
Limelight Hotel Ketchum
#3 of 10 in Ketchum
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kentwood Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Wood River Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchum
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knob Hill Inn
Knob Hill Inn
#1 of 10 in Ketchum
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ketchum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ketchum

Address: 600 N Main St, Ketchum, ID 83340-9402 (Formerly Bellemont Hotel Sun Valley, Clarion Inn of Sun Valley)
Region: United States > Idaho > Ketchum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchum
Price Range: £138 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ketchum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ketchum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Of Sun Valley Hotel Ketchum
Clarion Of Sun Valley
Clarion Ketchum
Ketchum Clarion
Clarion Hotel Ketchum
Hotel Ketchum Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing