We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AdrenaZen in the most wonderful place on earth”
Review of River Dance Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Dance Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AdrenaZen in the most wonderful place on earth”
Reviewed 1 August 2009

An adventure beyond your wildest dreams in one of the last wilderness areas in America, and the largest. Yes, you will have to drive but every mile of breathless and stark beauty is worth it. Idaho means something like "sun rising over the mountains" in Nez Perce. You will trade this wonder for your cell phone (signal is only 20 miles away if you're that desparate). We joke that the Idaho tourism slogan should be "welcome to Idaho, you're on your own"...and you really can be if you want, but Jody the lodge manager and the ROW staff will take care of your every need and then some.

The food in the cafe is not what you expect in north central Idaho. (if you want that drive 6 miles up river to Ryan's Wilderness Inn). It's a range of mediterranean to clean healthy northwest fare. The wine list is not exhaustive, but is satisfying and includes unusual and tasty items like Townshend Cellars Huckleberry Blush. The breakfasts are late on the weekdays, so plan to bring your own and eat in your cabin before your raft trip. You will be well sated the rest of the day whether you want the beers on tap, an interesting salad, or just the huckleberry pie and a nice cuppa brew.

The cabins come with a grill and a hot tub. You can fish for your supper and cook it right up. Or get some of the great range fed beef in Stites (a nearby community) and grill that up. When you slip into bed, let the mountain air in and you will sleep better than you have in your whole life.

Fitness center? Who needs it. You have the earth gym at your disposal.

Take full advantage of the whitewater. The guides are skilled and helpful. If you don't see what you want, ask. They are very adaptive and accomodating. If you're feeling frisky, there is time to do the water and the land every day.

There are many opportunities for hiking, horseback riding and of course river fun on some of the most continuous whitewater in America. Remember, it's not a walk through central park. The uninitiated may want a guide. You will see wildlife and you may need to know how to respect it in close quarters, but where else can you be trully alone in the mountains and return to a nice soak in a clean hot tub?. We saw timberwolves, cougar tracks, a bear on a near ridge, a badger, deer, elk, osprey carring trout, eagles, hawks, margranders, meadowlarks, mountain bluebirds, hummingbirds, magpies, grouse, quail, pheasants, turkeys running wild, turkey vultures, chipmunks, and a myriad of others.

There are waterfalls to explore: from the many spring sprouts that cascade down the steep granite and gneiss faces of the near vertical hills to the mystical snowshoe falls to the mighty Selway falls surging in tight quarters around house sized boulders.

There are goat trails to hike up rock bluffs where you see nothing but mountain upon mountain to what seems the end of the earth. Here in the most rugged country in America, the hiking and whitewater are some of the most challenging anywhere. But also some of the most peaceful. Hike until the spot is right, and then sit and get your zen on.

For us, it is coming home when we go to the RiverDance Lodge. the perfect combination of adrenalin sport and stillness, all in the lap of luxury. And the bonus is, your work can't reach you and by the second day you'll even forget what a blackberry is.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJetchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    22
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
60
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Lisa Young
PO Box 579,
Coeur d'Alene, ID 83816

Dear Ms. Young:

On June 30 and July 1 of 2009, my son and I had the pleasure of being guests at River Dance Lodge, Syringa, ID. We are both from the east coast and I had simply made time in my schedule to drive across the northern US to see places and sights I had only read about. Upon realizing that I would be in Idaho in late June, white water rafting became one of our goals. Our experience rafting the Lochsa River with ROW Adventures was in every way exciting, refreshing and informative. The ROW staff treated us very well. They were uplifting, attentive and knowledgeable.

River Dance Lodge was a special treat, much more than I had anticipated. The cabin’s quality, cleanliness and features are unmatched. After a day on the river, I hit the hot tub (an unexpected addition to “wilderness” living) my son went on a group mountain bike ride. Our experiences were enjoyable and memorable in every way.

Yours truly

Richard D. Pinder, Ph.D.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My entire family had a blast! The location was more than perfect! The cabins were very clean and cozy. The staff was beyond helpful and the cafe's food was fresh. We could not have asked for more and will make this our permanant Family Reunion location!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoletheriverjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

What an amazing place. The scenery, accomodations, staff, restaurant. . .a full package deal. We had a group of 40, who all left ready to come back next year. Thanks for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lochsaleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My best friend and I absolutely loved the River and Soul package! We were both celebrating our birthdays. The cabins are beautiful and cozy! The private hot tubs are an awesome treat following the raft trip! All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. We especially appreciate Jodi as she made a point to assure everything was in order and was very accommodating. Every meal we ate was excellent! The massage therapist did a great job as well! We look forward to another visit to your facility very soon! Thank you all!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeJPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I had been to the Lochsa on numerous occasions over the past 6 years and in fact had rafted with ROW before. However, I had never stayed at River Dance Lodge. I usually camped at O'Hara campground. This time I had invited a high school buddy and his wife together with my wife and I so sleeping on the ground was not an option. I should have opted for a cabin stay much sooner. The accommodations were great. Particularly the hot tub, after a day on the river. The staff was very friendly and the food at the Syringa Cafe was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orem_UtahTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

The cabins are as nice when they first opened and the staff is warm and friendly.
The food was fabulous. The lamb Tava was my favorite until I tasted Everett's prime rib. Fortunately we stay two nights each trip and can have them both. The guests in the cabin next to us were fun to hang out with. The weather was warm but the cool evenings make the hot tub the perfect way to recover from a rip roaring day of rafting the big rapids on the Lochsa.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtroyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kooskia
16.9 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
24.8 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
60 reviews
12.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Dance Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Dance Lodge

Property: River Dance Lodge
Address: 7743 Highway 12, Syringa, Kooskia, ID 83539
Region: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kooskia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Clearwater River, the River Dance Lodge is Idaho's adventure hotel and resort. Enjoy rustic luxury and take advantage of guided fly-fishing, whitewater rafting, kayaking, horseback tours and hiking adventures. Each log cabin has a private hot tub and is decorated with creative and tasteful furnishings and local artwork. Mediterranean cuisine is available at an onsite restaurant, the Syringa Cafe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Dance Hotel Kooskia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing