We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome”
Review of Reflections Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reflections Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Kooskia B&B and Inns
ch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is awesome”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stumbled upon Kooskia in northern Idaho after a beautiful drive on Highway 12 from Missoula. The Reflections Inn is located between the tiny towns of Syringa and Kooskia and easily accessible from the highway, though a bit of drive from both towns themselves. But unless you're looking for a super-cheap option, there is absolutely no reason not to stay at this place, and it is worth every penny.

The owners are some of the nicest people we've met, and they made arrangements for us to be able to stay another night (a spontaneous idea on our part), even though they'd originally planned to close the inn for that day. They were also really helpful in explaining things and giving us tips and advice. Seeing as how they had put the website on hold just after we'd booked, we were the only guests, but we still got great and generous breakfast, and they even treated us to apple pie with ice cream in the afternoon.

The room was perfectly clean and had everything we needed, including a fridge (no TV, in case that matters to you). There is also a kitchen, plus a washing machine and a dryer you can use. We also tried the hot tub, which was great too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-j-777-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our family has been coming here for over 20 years and we just returned from yet another wonderful stay with Ruth and Jim at Reflections Inn. Over the years we have come with our family, our friends, and our overseas visitors. We always have a magical, peaceful stay. The remodeled rooms are lovely and Ruth provides so many thoughtful touches to enhance our stay. Her breakfasts are always wonderful and this trip we tried dinner at the Syringa Cafe at the Riverdance Lodge down the road. Their fixed price dinner was delicious. There is a great trail going up the mountain behind the inn or you can walk along the scenic Selway River road. This time we spent a special afternoon just reading in the shade along the river since it was so hot. We will definitely return....as we have so many times over the years. We can't wait for our four grandchildren to get a bit older so we can bring everyone and enjoy being together. Ruth and Jim do everything right!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKlowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The magic begins as you drive up the dirt road from the river valley road to the house and inn building set among large trees, with a forested slope above and a sweeping view of forest, valley and the blue Clearwater River below.

The setting is quiet, and enhanced by flowers, swings and sitting areas.

Rooms are simply furnished but very pleasant with fine bathroom amenities and extremely comfortable beds.

The kind and attentive hosts, Ruth and Jim, provide excellent coffee and breakfast in the morning. Ruth also sometimes offers a delicious dinner.

The woods, the view, the sounds of nature, the warm hospitality and overall comfort make a stay at Reflections Inn a joy. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Their website descriptions are accurate.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kleinber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On our first trip to Idaho, we planned to raft the Lochsa River in Kooskia. The Reflections Inn was recommended by the rafting company. From the moment we pulled up, we were very impressed with the scenery, the setting, and the hostess, Ruth. She is the best hostess you could ever ask for. She cooked a delicious, wonderful breakfast for 12 and was attentive to each person's needs. She also made dinner for me and my husband, and we grilled it ourselves. We sat around the fire pit one night catching up with friends. The rooms are all very quaint, unique, clean and comfortable, modern and yet each its own style. The scenery is breathtaking with evergreens all around the mountains and the river down below. It is so quiet and remote, but so beautiful, too. You don't even miss not having cell service or TV. I hope to get back here one day. Thank you, Ruth, for making this a memorable part of our trip.

Room Tip: No elevators, and just one set of steps, so top floors could be a problem, even though they weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Ruth and Jim are the best hosts I've yet to encounter in my years of quaint B&B's! Ruth's cooking is spectacular, even down to her uplifting conversation while she prepares breakfast. I've been there twice and will continue to go back when down their way. I look forward to the day when I can spend more than one day there as it is the perfect place to getaway and have some quiet time.

You can't go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, top floor and bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We went to Kooskia to fish the Lochsa, Selway & Clearwater Rivers. We are not very experienced in B & B's, but this one was terrific. (I wondered if this fairly remote place could possibly be as good as the reviews). The rooms are charming and the setting is lovely. Ruth takes great pride in meeting the individual needs of her guests, but in a low-key and gracious way. We recommend it to others with great enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a bit roomier. There is one room with a complete kitchen, which can be handy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haarlem
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Staying with Ruth May was a great pleasure.
The welcome warm, the rooms great, good beds thus a good night's sleep, clean, comfortable,quiet, and the stars at night the most beautiful during all our trip.
Reflections Inn belongs by far to the top 3 places we stayed at on this 3-week holiday in the US.
Also the breakfast was nice. Fritata(?) we really liked it and felt at home.
What a shame we stayed only 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kooskia
14.1 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
9.0 mi away
No photo provided
21.5 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflections Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections Inn

Property: Reflections Inn
Address: 11 miles east of Kooskia on US highway 12, between MM 84 & 85, Kooskia, ID 83539-9502
Region: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kooskia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing