We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Rivers Resort
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Recently spent 5 days rafting on the Selway with the three rivers crew. I could not have asked for anything more. I felt like family.Spent one evening at the motel, found it very clean and comtorbale. I had dinner at there restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at how good,and ample the food was. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

It's all about summertime fun, thank you for the great reviews and also for the smiles and the kisses with toasted marshmallow lips and the big slices of watermelon left over from your family reunion celebrations. Thanks for the tips on what fly you caught the big one on, and what to do first when you flip your boat, and thanks for loving us as we love you. The Smith family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

My family group had terrific rafting experiences on the Selway River and the Lochsa River through Three Rivers Resort. The resort is located at the concluence of these two rivers. We stayed at Three Rivers Resort after a spectacular 5 day rafting trip on the Selway and did a one-day trip on the Lochsa the next day. The hot shower and soft bed were really nice after 5 days on the river. We were treated like family by the rafting guides and the resort and restaurant staff. We also had a delicious home cooked meal at the restaurant at Three Rivers Resort. We could not have asked for a better vacation. Great job and thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceP0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

“Thank you” again “Three Rivers Resort” for another great time. I stayed at this resort 8 different times, one time for an extended stay, and it was hard to leave it every time. The staff at Three Rivers make you feel more then welcome and will help you any way they can. Yes it is rustic, but clean, and only adds to the experience of your mountain stay next to the Lochsa River.
The food at the restaurant is outstanding, everything I tried was great. They have dinners and burgers; I don’t know which one I like better. The service is fast and always with a smile.
The bar is a fun place to go, great drinks and a nice selection of beers. You can check out the different things found on the river that the different crews were able to sign for finding it, I got my name on two of them, a big deal to me.
Do the Lochsa or the Selway River out of “Three Rivers Resort” for an experience you’ll never forget. Top guides, great food, and safety is number one with all. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Three Rivers Resort is a well kept secret. Had our family reunion there and everyone had a great time. Cabins along the river gave a peaceful relaxing time for young and old. It is a place where you can keep busy with rafting trips or you can just sit by the river and read a good book. The restaurant has the best steaks and chicken that you will find anywhere. Thanks to the Smith family for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Any cabin on the river is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed at Three Rivers Resort earlier this week while attending a meeting held there. I had hoped to bring my family along and was so glad that they were unable to accompany me.

Nothing wrong with rustic accommodations. But this place is not just rustic, it's filthy. A giant spider web was in one corner of the bathroom. Dust and grime covered every surface.

Run, don't walk, away from Three Rivers Resort. Sleeping in the car would have been preferable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank alwaysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Please accept my apology for the spider in the bathroom corner of your log cabin on the river. In a effort to keep the ever present beasts off your front deck we must have forgotten to check for those little buggers
that seem to appear overnight. Last week we had a baby moose hanging along the Lochsa River Bank
just where you stayed, and he was harmless. But it’s only the cougar, black bear, raccoons, and beaver that come up to the fire rings and picnic tables, looking for a free hand out, maybe a leftover marshmallow, that we have to keep our eye on.
The Smith Family has provided services to the public for many years and are proud have had the chance to serve government agency’s, the traveling public and our neighbors. As small business owners we struggle to stay afloat in this economy and appreciate your business as you serve the agency you represent. We kept your room charges under the per diem rate to accommodate everyone in your group.
The Inter Agency Grizzly Committee was such a nice and complimentary group. We knew most of them from many years ago, about 40 or so, when we were in our 20’s and so were they. Now they are heads of departments all throughout the Northwest. Idaho Department of Fish and Game, National Parks Service, United States Forest Service, National Fish and Wildlife, and more. They continue to come back again and again, and we consider most of them friends. Being in business all these years the Smith Family is devastated by your word of NASTY, never been used about us before, and we are embarrassed. Most other reviews are so positive and the excitement that comes from all the family reunions and gatherings here in the beautiful wilderness of Idaho is a great feeling.
We provide services for such a diversity of people, from Wolf and Bear hunters, to honeymooners, family reunions, (we have 27 different one’s this year) and they are retuning fun loving groups who love Three Rivers.
We see by your profile that you are from Montana and have gone to some fine places in Seattle and Las Vegas and northern Idaho Resorts. We too agree that those are wonderful places, and again we apologize for not being up to your standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My partner and I flew in to Boise and rented a convertible to drive the five hour trip to Kooskia. The scenery on this trip got more beautiful the closer we got to The Three Rivers Resort. Absolutely amazing! The Mountains in Northern Idaho are a perfect backdrop for this resort.
Mind you, the accommodations here are rustic, this is not the Ritz-Carlton by any means. But at the Ritz-Carlton you can't look out your back window and see a family of deer grazing so close that you could touch them.The Nature of the mountains is all around you. Our cabin was a simple A-frame small and cozy. the selling point here was the nice porch that was great for reading a book with coffee.
The restaurant was really good! Like an earlier reviewer said, the Steaks were excellent...YUM!
We visited in the early fall after the whitewater rafting was done for the season, but the staff gladly hooked us up with a couple of kayaks to spend a day out on the river, it was really great way to see the river!
We look forward to returning someday during whitewater season for a faster paced adventure down the river!
If you want to disappear from civilization for a while we really recommend Three Rivers Resort! We recommend you leave all those electronic devises at home for the full effect!

Room Tip: Try the cabins by the river for a little more room and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CowboyCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family and I have vacationed at Three Rivers for many years. We learned about it from a friend and our first visit was to be for a week and we extended for a second week we enjoyed it so much. We have stayed in the cabins by the river which offer comfortable amenities (no phone - which is great !!) with a nice front porch to sit on and watch the water rush by. We have also stayed up on the hill in Old #1 which is very private with a beautiful view of the confluence of the rivers. The restaurant in the lodge is very good with excellent hand cut ribeye steaks. We have also taken rafting trips on the rivers and found them to be fun trips with the guides being very professional. The Smith family have operated this place for years and take much pride in providing their guests with a wonderful wilderness experience. Thanks to the Smith family and their super staff for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Cabin number eight is brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kooskia
21.2 mi away
Clearwater 12 Motel
Clearwater 12 Motel
#1 of 2 in Kamiah
60 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hearthstone Elegant Lodge
18.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Resort

Address: 115 Selway Rd, Kooskia, ID 83539-5026
Region: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kooskia
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing