We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but cabins need deep cleaning”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kooskia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Rivers Resort
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our first impression of our Riverside Cabin was not great - room was dimly lit, looked like it hadn't had a deep cleaning in a while, and beds looked uncomfortable. Bathroom and shower were very small. It was late, which certainly didn't help! We went to bed with the option open to leave in the morning, forfeiting our second night.

We were pleasantly surprised at how well we slept. We decided to explore the area and stayed. We went hiking that day, then came back and grilled our dinner riverside.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Travelers beware!! We were looking for an overnight stay during our RV trip through Washington, Montana and Idaho. We booked 3 Rivers resort after having read through the comments here briefly. The location itself is set nicely due to the surrounding nature. But just when we drove onto the premaces we got a chilling first impression: old trashed cars & busses on the site, a motel sign that reminded of the Bates Motel from Psycho and several longterm trailer site renters that seemed to be on the run from the police judging by appearance. The checkin was ok, the owners very friendly and polite, but things just didn't seem right... The A-frames and cabins looked run down, the playground had seen its best days and the pool... Well, the pool water looked as if it was a boot camp for germs. We still planned on staying the one night, although we were sure we would lock the doors. While looking for our fire site, trash cardboard boxes blew across the once nice lawn which had turned brown and was in need of water. Once I discovered our fire site and grill, to which the metal grid was missing, I looked in the grill and discovered old leftovers that had gone moldy and other undefinable trash and dirt. That's when we decided to leave as fast as we could. The place gives you the creeps, is not well kept and is missing basic sanitary cleaning. The 3 rivers resorts layout is great and it has great cabins and A-frames. It must've been spectacular back in the day but it just is not being kept in a good condition by the management. Probably a vicious cycle out of less and less visitors due to the bad condition, resulting in less revenue and ultimately no money to maintain the site. A real shame, because location and layout have high potential. At the end of the day it was like visiting the Firefly family estate in the movie "Devils rejects" and Captain Spaulding will knock on your door at night... Such a disappointment!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We rented cabin 5 with our young daughter. I wanted a shower after a full day of picking sticky berries and this was the most reasonable on the river. The people who work here are so super friendly and welcoming that it makes the downfalls a lot softer. The cabins are spacious, we had a 2 room cabin with 4 double beds. The sheets are clean but not the bed themselves are not the most comfortable. The linens and blankets are very old and worn. The furniture is every bit disposed of, but, it works. The bathroom has a fairly clean shower with good water pressure, however, it's very small and the toilet sits in front of the shower entrance so you basicly have to brush against the toilet getting in and out of the shower. The hot water is directly beside you in the shower, and there are a lot of spider webs and lifting that made me nervous as to what would fall out on me. The toilet sat on the floor and rocked around a lot, it was aweful. The sink was pulling away from the wall and the lighting was horrible. BUT, it had a shower and running water! The carpet was filthy, the layers of dust in the corners testified that these are not vacuumed. When I layed down In the back room I looked up at spider webs on the walls with flies hanging down. This is great for that rustic hunting trip, but if you are a city person who expects a comfortable bed, clean room and wifi, you will be disappointed. Put on your deep woods hat and get ready to get down and dirty, have a fire outside your door and enjoy the bats flying over head.

Room Tip: The cabins are very rustic, but the people are so sweet you don't mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searching4utopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My daughter and I joined a dozen of her classmates and parents for a four-day rafting trip hosted by Three Rivers. I can't say enough about how wonderful the experience was. Aside from the fact that the Three Rivers area of Idaho is stunning in it's beauty and worth the trip alone, the family-run resort offered just the right amount of balance between "roughing it" and "pampering" to make the trip one of those vacations that actually leave you feeling refreshed instead of exhausted. The Smith family, owners of the resort, and the guides they employ (I hesitate to use the word "employ" since these people seem like they LOVE their work so much that they would do it for nothing rather than miss a weekend on the river) are some of the most friendly I have met. They are professional, intelligent and expert, all while being down-to-earth and respectful of each and every visitor. The food was terrific and the lemon bars to die for!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Lower Salmon is wild and beautiful, flanked by steep cliffs and towering peaks. Scattered along its length are pristine white sand beaches that make for top-notch camps. The whitewater is challenging, fun, and keeps on coming. Three Rivers Rafting of Lowell, Idaho, adds incredible guides, great food, and just the right equipment for a memorable foray into the wilderness. Liam and Allison provided mountains of knowledge and expertise on the river, from their whitewater skills, to fluency with historical and natural history. They amazed all of us with their culinary skill, serving up mountains of fabulous food. Camps were created to facilitate space for those who chose quiet solitude as well as those wanting more active and communal pursuits. Although I've participated in a number of extended river trips, this was my first on the Lower Salmon. The river provides an incomparable setting, Three Rivers Rafting makes it a truly sublime experience. I'll be back!

Room Tip: The beaches on the Lower Salmon are incomparable and the night sky will lull you into a fabulous nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Cross another item off my bucket list. After procrastinating for 44 years, I finally white water rafted. The experience was unbelieveable. Spectacular surroundings, experienced & friendly guides (thanks, Mike, Ryan & Steve) and the food was delicious. Camping under the stars, white water rafting with my daughter in one of the most beautiful places on earth. It doesn't get any better. Would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Not sure how anyone, in good conscience, can click anything less than 5 stars for this place. My girlfriend and I flew in to Missoula and made the drive on Rte 12 to Lowell and Three Rivers Resort. What an incredibly beautiful drive and destination! Three Rivers -- Great place to stay, go rafting, sit by the most beautiful river(s) you could ask for, have a campfire, drive up to Selway Falls and watch the salmon climb the rapids, hike up to the Fire Lookout and down to some mountain lakes, and go to the bar and grill and have a few Grim Reapers (thanks, Carly!) and a perfectly cooked burger (thanks, Lawrence!). The one thing we didn't fit in was grabbing some inner tubes and floating down the river. That's what the next trip is for! We took aa day trip and rafted down the Lochsa with a talented and entertaining guide -- we had a blast! Next time, we'll do a multi-day trip on the river!! Back at the resort, the Smith family (as several reviewers have noted) are the nicest, friendliest people, and they (along with their staff) do everything they can to make your stay as perfect as it can be. Go!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin on the river, with the sound of the river singing us to sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Three Rivers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Resort

Address: 115 Selway Rd, Kooskia, ID 83539-5026
Region: United States > Idaho > Kooskia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kooskia
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing