We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are planning our next trip and can't wait to stay here again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
West Valley City, Utah
1 review
“We are planning our next trip and can't wait to stay here again!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is full of old world charm and has a lot of history and class. The food in the restaurant was to die for.....mmm the coconut prawns. The hotel staff were pleasant, helpful, informative and very professional. Our room was quaint, comfortable and made us feel right at home. The bed was soooo comfortable. And the best thing was the soothing, relaxing mineral waters in a private room. We were given very nice robes and towels. We both slept like babies. I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends, family and co-workers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    19
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
84
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The ambience and charm of this inn,will wow you,from the check in to check out. It is quiet,and relaxing.Time spent on patio next to river is well worth...private mineral baths were awesome,as was breakfast voucher.Will definatly stay here again for years to come.....

Room Tip: private bath is great, King suite is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This grand old dame might need a bit more upkeep but is a fantastic place to stay!! The beds (we had two rooms) are really comfy and antiques abound. The hot pools are terrific and included in the price and the continental breakfast was lavish. The personnel could not be nicer and the Portneuf Grille restaurant is fantastic!! What a wonderful getaway for a weekend worth of rejuvenation! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have made it a tradition to come to Lava each summer, and we decided this year to "splurge" a bit and stay at the Riverside Inn. It's about double what we usually pay when we stay at other in other places in Lava.

The rooms are small, but cute and clean. The furniture is very outdated though. My bed felt like it might be as old as the Inn itself! Very squeaky, could feel the springs sticking up, and at one point I considered sleeping on the floor-it was that bad.

I decided a hot shower might help work out the kinks of the bad night's sleep, but there was no hot water. In our bathroom there was no hot water at all-not in the sink or the shower. Very disappointing. We stayed on the third floor, and had 2 rooms down the hall from each other-no hot water in the other room either. I am not sure if this is a problem with the whole Inn, or just the third floor?! Felt like I was camping.

The soaking baths at the Inn are cool, but could use a little TLC. They are private and pleasant though.

We had breakfast at the Inn's restaurant. The service was great and the food was surprisingly good. That was the best part about the place.

Overall, a good trip to Lava, but not a good value at The Riverside Inn. Next year we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idaho
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend stay in this historical hotel. We stayed in the honeymoon suite. It was well furnished with antiques and had a great view of the Portnuf river. The food and service was great. Saturday night we enjoyed the best prime rib dinner that we ever tasted.They have a first class chef and the staf was wonderful. It is one of the most enjoyable places that we have visited. We will be back!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank west77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loyalton, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Riverside is the oldest hotel in town, and in some ways you can tell. It needs some paint and repairs, but my room and bed was comfortable. The outdoor hot tub on a deck in back was perfect after my long drive. The continental breakfast was typical, but there was a deck and tables outside to make it more enjoyable. The staff was old fashioned friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I don't need modern, just comfortable. This is it.

Room Tip: If you have lots of baggage, get a first floor room. If you're not sensitive, save some money an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I were amazed at the hotel. We had no expectations of the place or town. We fell in love with it all. We both arrived stressed and worn out, we left feeling relaxed and full of engery. The hotel and staff are wonderful. We stayed 2 days and didnt want to leave. The hot springs bath was perfect and we were able to regulate the temp. You are able to have privacy in the lava baths which made it more special and relaxing. I recommend a massage if you get a chance,,wow. The rooms are quaint with alot of character and history. The hotel is off the main road and right next to the river. It is peaceful and quiet. The food is great and the service is as good as the food. We are going back for December week end this year. They are pet friendly and our dog will join us. I call this tip a miricle. THANK YOU RIVERSIDE HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorinda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Hot Springs Inn
Lava Hot Springs Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
Lava Spa Motel & RV Park
#5 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
Suites of Lava Hot Springs
#4 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#7 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa

Property: Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Address: 255 East Portneuf, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lava Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa is a historic, full service adult boutique hotel, spa, restaurant & lounge located in downtown Lava Hot Springs. Featuring 18 guest rooms, onsite hot mineral springs & massage therapy, the acclaimed Portneuf Grille & Lounge which is open nightly for dinner, meeting facilities, free wifi & complimentary Continental breakfast. The Riverside features 24 hour staffing and service. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of the Foundation hot mineral soaking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing